Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself a lot of time - read this book!
Over the last five months I have spent a lot of time researching the B2B e-Market Maker/ Metamediary/ B2B Exchange space. I have read Gartner Group/ Forrester/ IDC, you name it, reports. Save yourself a lot of time and read this book. My five month's research is here. I wasted a lot of my time doing the raw research, don't waste your time. These guys have done it for...
Published on February 11, 2000 by Glenn L. Cad

versus
57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Must read" for beginners
Beginners in B2B, read it now, before it is too late! This book is published at the right time - as B2B takes centre stage in the new economy (previously dominated by B2C or C2C). BUT THIS BOOK HAS A SHELF LIFE! Since the world is moving so fast. It is a good book for beginners (which explains why so many I know who bought this book are consultants and students trying...
Published on April 1, 2000 by A Tan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Must read" for beginners, April 1, 2000
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
Beginners in B2B, read it now, before it is too late! This book is published at the right time - as B2B takes centre stage in the new economy (previously dominated by B2C or C2C). BUT THIS BOOK HAS A SHELF LIFE! Since the world is moving so fast. It is a good book for beginners (which explains why so many I know who bought this book are consultants and students trying to learn about B2B exchanges): 1. Business models in B2B world outlined 2. Critical success factors 3. Formula for creating a B2B
However, for those already in this line of business, you might find this book: 1. poorly written (errors, ideas begun but not developed) 2. too focused on trading exchanges which does not handle physical goods (e.g. equities, insurance, credit)
It would be a FANTASTIC book (perhaps in 2nd edition) if the authors could delve into the difficult ares of a B2B: 1. fulfillment of goods and services 2. settlement of payments through different financial instruments (e.g for bulk trades of paper/chemicals...) 3. PROVIDE non-US examples or case studies, especially for Asia
Caution: some of the internet terms/definitions used do not seem consistent with others I have read elsewhere. Just stick to the authors definitions to get thru the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Know your exchange, don't bother about the technology, February 3, 2000
By 
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
As the title says, the book is about exchanges, i.e. neutral, many-to-many electronic marketplaces that focus on a particular industry or business area - very much like the stock markets.
It is a basic book about business concepts that does not require prior knowledge of the field. It explains the basics of B2B exchanges in terms of elements, revenue models, and success factors, but it does not provide any details about enabling technologies or about how to actually build an exchange. Instead, the reader is advised to outsource technology development and to form partnerships with technology providers. The authors have some background in Finance and provide references to the financial markets (Nasdaq etc.), which are very interesting and useful. The appendix outlines a number of recent examples of B2B exchanges in detail, such as Chemdex, MetalSite, or the National Transportation Exchange.
I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an introduction to B2B exchanges as they are currently emerging. Readers with a technical background looking for information on how to stitch together the basic modules to actually build an exchange, however, might find the focus of this book being too limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better books to read......, September 29, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
If you are somewhat famailiar with B2B, this book will not tell you anything you do not already know. If you know nothing about B2B, this book will not give you enough solid info to fix that problem. This book was recommended to me as a good basic text on B2B. I read it and several others and I was very dissapointed in this book. The writing is clear enough, but the content is completely superficial. It is a retrospective look at what has already happened in B2B and offers the reader no intellectual model or frame of reference to understand why B2B has evolved the way it has, or how it might evolve in the future. It is written from the perspective of some gentlemen who set up the Bermuda stock exchange, relaized that they had just just set up a B2B net marketplace, and wrote a book about their exchange and some other people's exchanges. Frankly, you can learn a lot more about B2B eCommerce by reading the web sites of Ariba, Commerce One, and an article called "How It Works" that appeared in the Feb 2000 edition of Business 2.0. (available on their web site in the archives). After visiting these sites, you'll have more up-to-date, real-world information than you will get from the book
If after reading these sites, you want to get a more intellectual understanding of B2B, the best book that I have read is Digital Capital by Tapscott, et. al. It provides an excellent frame of reference for understanding what is going on in B2B, and gives you enough of a balanced understanding that you can discuss the subject intelligently. It also avoids the use of exclamation points, hyperbole, breathless prose and hand-waving that I have found in far too many books on this subject.
Again, if you're going to read only one book on B2B eCommerce, DON'T MAKE THIS IT! This advice also applies if you're going to read only 8 or 10 books on eCommerce. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quick Read but not enough meat, March 21, 2000
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
The dust jacket has a picture of the New York Stock Exchange on it. I should have realized that the book is written from a financial market perspective (Both authors are from the securities industry). Their knowledge of business backend systems seems to be limited. One quote: "All enterprise resource planning systems are now designed to be fully EDI compliant and XML capable." If only that were true. I would recommend the book to people who are thinking about starting a b2b exchange (although you will be a little late to the party). Otherwise, there is a good article in the March 13, 2000 issue of The Industry Standard that will probably give you all the informaiton you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save yourself a lot of time - read this book!, February 11, 2000
By 
Glenn L. Cad (Londonderry, New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
Over the last five months I have spent a lot of time researching the B2B e-Market Maker/ Metamediary/ B2B Exchange space. I have read Gartner Group/ Forrester/ IDC, you name it, reports. Save yourself a lot of time and read this book. My five month's research is here. I wasted a lot of my time doing the raw research, don't waste your time. These guys have done it for you. Couldn't be easier and more pleasant reading. Great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, but not deep enough, April 13, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
It's a good book for beginner to understand b2b market place. The author calrified the concept and wining strategies of b2b market place pretty well. After reading, you can have a clear big picture. However, the book didn't address too much analysis about the future of b2b market. Is it really so positive about the e-market?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry but there really isn't anything in this book., August 20, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
I like many of you previous readers bought the book thinking that it would tell me about B2B exchanges, something that is red hot. Unfortunately this book is in the worst tradition of writing about hot topics. There is little here in terms of content, insight, or useful information. The authors repeatedly refer to the works of others rather than stating their own opinions or ideas. In addition their information is dated in many circumstances.
People looking for useful information should consult the many fine eCommerce business magazines such as Business 2.0, Fast Company, Industry Standard, Red Herring, etc. They have significantly better information, greater accuracy, and a presentation that provides you with knowledge you can use.
B2B Exchanges has a great title -- one that I am sure is driving sales by itself. Unfortunately it really fails to deliver. There is little of value here.
My suggestion, if you haven't done it yet read Kevin Kelly's New rules for the new econonmy (frequently cited by the authors) and then read the business magazines mentioned above. You will save yourself alot of hassle and the disappointment of spending good money and time on a book that really doesn't deliver.
I am being so harsh with this review because this book really wasted my time and I felt duped by the title. Hopefully my loss will be your benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Business-to-Business Resource!, January 15, 2000
By 
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book both for the newbie as well as the seasoned Internaut to the Internet. It explains in detail the latest findings on B2B Exchanges on the Internet and how these exchanges will change the landscape of business commerce now and in the future. A MUST read for any business executive who expects to survive and prosper with the Internet!
This reinforces with examples and details that the future of the Internet is with applications of Business-to-Business and related commerce exchanges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to B2B Exchanges, AKA Vortals, March 6, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
Sculley and Woods have hit a home run with this book. Not only does it give tons of theoretical information on exchanges, it also gives practical suggestions and applications. The arena of B2B Exchanges/Vertical Portals is so new there aren't many places one can turn for a detailed description like this book. If you are considering this rapidly developing business model, this is a great place to start. Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introductory Book on B2B, February 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution (Hardcover)
If you are new in B2B world and looking for demystification of terms used in this field, this is an ideal book. The best part about this book is simple and effective langauge that makes this book very easy to read and understand.
Another good aspect is relevant examples and pointers that are provided with each category (trading model, business model, ownership model).Using those examples I could visit the web sites and could understand what exactly a model means.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning about this domain. This book is not about technologies that are used for building B2B exchanges. So do not expect details of how J2EE or XML can be used to build B2B exchange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

B2B Exchanges : The Killer Application in the Business-to-Business Internet Revolution
$27.50 $20.75
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.