Customer Reviews


263 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK for the money.
I got this scope to use at the range a couple times a year, but most of its time will be spent looking at the wildlife behind the home.

The 15X zoom level is very easy to use and focus, however the 40X will be difficult to use for most people.

We have this setup to look over the lake behind the house. It has been placed on a full height tripod that...
Published 12 months ago by BJ

versus
99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much
The Barska Colorado 15-40X50 spotting scope is a real cool looking scope. It's small with a cool looking table tripod and only $28. But that's all that's good. I took it to the range on a cloudy day to sight in a .22 rimfire rifle. First off, the tripod is very flimsy and will not hold the scope for steady image viewing. Any bump on the shooting table will turn the...
Published on January 9, 2011 by K. Eng


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much, January 9, 2011
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
The Barska Colorado 15-40X50 spotting scope is a real cool looking scope. It's small with a cool looking table tripod and only $28. But that's all that's good. I took it to the range on a cloudy day to sight in a .22 rimfire rifle. First off, the tripod is very flimsy and will not hold the scope for steady image viewing. Any bump on the shooting table will turn the scope into a bobblehead. The scope had practically no eye relief. In my mind, ALL spotting scopes should be built so that it could be used with shooting glasses. At the low end of the zoom, the image is decent. I could see .22 cal holes in targets at 25 and 50 yds. However, when zooming out it is impossible to get sharp focus at 40x on a target at 100 yds. The brightness was fine, I just couldn't make out any bullet holes. The riflescope I was using had a top zoom of 14x and I could barely make out the holes in the target, but yet even at 40x on the Barska spotting scope I can't see a damn thing! I got lots of exercise walking back and forth. Lesson learned on how important good optics are! In addition, when zooming out, the eye relief becomes shallower; you would have to fold back the rubber eyepiece to see the full view. Your eyeball is practically inside the eyepiece! If you only need to see out 50 yds it is adequate, but for shooters it's a waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK for the money., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
I got this scope to use at the range a couple times a year, but most of its time will be spent looking at the wildlife behind the home.

The 15X zoom level is very easy to use and focus, however the 40X will be difficult to use for most people.

We have this setup to look over the lake behind the house. It has been placed on a full height tripod that is made for video cameras. This makes it really stable and easy to pan and then lock into place. I did not even try the included plastic tripod.

I have uploaded 3 photos taken with a Samsung Galaxy Note 2 comparing the zooms to the normal view. Using the phones camera I was actually able to use the 40X better than I could without phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad buy...., July 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
This is my first spotting scope and for what it is i like it very much. I bought this scope for the range and it works well up to about 100 yd (shooting a .30 cal carbine and a .308 Winchester) but using it to see targets shooting with a .22 cal forget it (holes are to small). The scope is well made and not heavy at all and the optic's are clear. The tripod that it comes with suck's so buy another one (I did) and the carrying case it comes with is ok but it's a tight fit and i don't think the case will last long so i am looking for another one. The scope is good for the range but only if you shoot with large caliber....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spotting scope, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
I bought this for when i shoot my rifles and i must say im very impressed with its price to the way its built! It zooms right up on a tack in the target at 150 yards! Quite amazing actually for the price! Very clear seeing through the scope! Recommended buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good target shooter spoting scope for most firearms, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
Very easy on the eyes and has good adjustment needs a better tripod I think but I have extras so I think for the money this is a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for $25!, December 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
i purchased this on amazon for $25.00, and it works great.
you can zoom and see 100 yards easy, haven't yet tried 200 yards but it looks promising.
the tri pod is stupid like the reviews say because its small and cheap but you can always buy a good one on amazon for $20 making the whole thing under $50.00.
i went out shopping at big 5 today and noticed the exact same spot scope there for $99.00 with the same tri pod! its a great deal on amazon and the scope is totally worth the money.

4 out of 5 for me. different tri pod and it would be 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst spotting scope in the world, April 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
I almost left this scope at the range... Many of the reviewers have said the same thing, and I should have trusted them before buying this scope. DO NOT BUY THIS SCOPE. Spend another $50-$70 and get something that actually works.

Reasons not to buy:
-The eye relief is almost non-existent. You practically have to touch your eyeball to the eye piece to see anything... Forget trying to wear eye protection or sunglasses while using the scope
-Terrible image quality past 15x zoom
-Very hard to get a clear picture at even 100 yards. I was using Shoot-N-See targets and could barely make out my hits.

Reasons to buy:
-You need a funny looking paperweight
-Need something crappy for a White elephant gift exchange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is believing, April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
Not a bad spotting scope for the price. The parallax isn't too bad. The only real bummer is the stand that it sits on doesnt have fine adjustment so i makes it difficult to fine tune what you're looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great price and great poduct, November 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
this product has surpassed all my hopes. the tripod although small is very rugged and sturdy. i am in the army and regularly shoot passed 400 yards. incredible clarity. a true value and in valuable tool at any range. the focus knob works smooth and fast. great buy i will be recommending this product to all my shooting buddies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money., October 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope (Sports)
Save your money and buy something else.
I made the mistake of not checking the product dimensions, so i didnt realize how small the spotting scope actually was until i got it.

Trying to use this scope to sight something @ 100yards is both a chore and a pain, that is if you can even get a clear image.
I could achieve a clearer image with a fraction of the effort with my rifles 3-9x50 scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BARSKA 15-40x50 Colorado Spotting Scope
$59.99 $29.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.