Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for kids. One new sculpt for collectors.
For kids and parents:
These batman 4-packs remain a good value for the money with lots of play value and accessories. Individually you'd be charged about $6 a figure. Basic superhero fun. 2 good guys. 2 bad guys. the figures themselves are pretty tough and can take a lot of abuse from younger kids. If your child needs more bad guys for batman you could find a set...
Published on September 23, 2002 by spazmasterj

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the Sale Price Fool You
Sure, it sounds like a GREAT value with a sale price of less than $6.00 for this 4-pack, but don't be fool. TRU isn't really charging this low. What you may not notice until it's too late, is that the shipping is calculated so that this item has to be shipped by itself and not included with anything else bought, making you pay MORE for the shipping of the item than the...
Published on September 30, 2003 by cabearcub


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for kids. One new sculpt for collectors., September 23, 2002
By 
spazmasterj "spazmasterj" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
For kids and parents:
These batman 4-packs remain a good value for the money with lots of play value and accessories. Individually you'd be charged about $6 a figure. Basic superhero fun. 2 good guys. 2 bad guys. the figures themselves are pretty tough and can take a lot of abuse from younger kids. If your child needs more bad guys for batman you could find a set called the rogues gallery on ebay which has 8 bad guys you can't find any more. It originaly retailed for around $60 and I wouldn't pay much more than that. You could find a deal for around $40. You could break the set down and give them to your child over a period of time. the other 4 packs on amazon are also a relatively good deal for the money. do a search for batman in the toys section.
In this set you get a batman/bruce wayne, a nightwing, a killer croc, and a ventriloquist/scarface figure. based on the new batman/superman cartoons and comics the figures are relatively simple styled and relatively non-violent with the exception of scarfaces' gun, which is part of the figure. The blade weapons for batman aren't sharp and could be trimmed off for a non-violent censorship if that's your thing. the pieces are small so I wouldn't give these to any kid who still puts things in their mouth.
The first three are all repaints and re-releases of previous figures. the last one is availible only in this set. the batman/bruce wayne comes with a removabe mask and cape and two blade type weapons/gloves that fir over his hands. You also get a trenchcoat so you can have a bruce wayne disguise or a batman figure. the nightwing comes with a big logo shield he can hold and a spring loaded grappling hook. The "killer" croc is a crocodile man with a spring loaded arm for punching and a pet crocadile. the ventriloquist holds the dummy scarface puppet and his tommygun permanantly attached. his body seems more fragile than the other figures.
For collectors:
Batman and nightwing are based on new adventures while the croc repaint and scarface are based on the animated series. the batman is a re-release of the orange coat undercover bruce wayne only the coat is grey.
the nightwing is the standard only with a darker chest logo.
the croc is the old grey croc painted green with a painted tongue and pupils in his eyes.
the ventriloquist has a great head sculpt based on the first animated series and is only articulated at the head, shoulders, and waist. His legs are spread wide to help balance him as he holds scarface. his body and legs are of a hard non pliable plastic. he can only hold scarface so that he is looking to the left of the ventiloquist. One hand slides inside scarfaces back and the other holds his legs underneath. Unfortunately scarface is not articulated at all and has a weak blue tan colorscheme. Would be nice if new license holder busted out some new figures and sculpts of entire line as they actually appear in the series.
...thanks I hope this helped you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the Sale Price Fool You, September 30, 2003
By 
"cabearcub" (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
Sure, it sounds like a GREAT value with a sale price of less than $6.00 for this 4-pack, but don't be fool. TRU isn't really charging this low. What you may not notice until it's too late, is that the shipping is calculated so that this item has to be shipped by itself and not included with anything else bought, making you pay MORE for the shipping of the item than the cost of the item itself! Think if you buy multiple of this item that you will save on shipping? NO, you WON'T! I suspect TRU does this on several other items as well. The snuck the extra shipping charges on me, and even shipped the item WITH the other items I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hasbro keeps the collectors happy!, September 28, 2002
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
You can say this for Hasbro: they sure know how to keep collectors happy. So what if they keep repackaging/repainting older Batman/Robin/Nightwing/Batgirl figures; the payoff is the exclusive figures you will never get anywhere else. Past box sets have included: Alfred, Commissioner Gordon, Batgirl (in her correctly colored costume), R'as Al Ghul, Talia, etc, and now the Ventriloquist and Scarface! Just the fact that they made these figures speaks volumes about how far Hasbro is willing to go to please collectors. The shame is that they have lost the Batman/Superman license as of December 31st, and Mattel will now own these rights. Let's see how far Mattel is willing to go in producing lesser known figures, and/or Batman's rogue gallery. And paint schemes or older versus newer is just nit-picking. Be happy you got the figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an awesome deal, November 4, 2003
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
I bought this for my son for christmas! What a deal with shipping is was 11.00 they still want 20.00 in the store. I am so pleased. A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Awesome Awesome!, October 3, 2002
By 
Jamie (Littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
This could be the best looking of the "exclusive 4-packs". Batman with removeable Bruce Wayne suit (Re-paint of Undercover Bruce Wayne), Nightwing, Killer Croc and the First Appearance of The Ventriloquist. Package is awesome, toys are even better. Nice articulation and choice of color. They look great on display! Can't wait for the next 4-pack in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was underwhelmed, September 23, 2002
By 
"incurock31" (Maitland, FL United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
I was a little disappointed with this set.
First off, the Batman is a repaint of an old Bruce Wayne/Batman figure. You can take Batman's cape and cowl off to reveal Bruce, then slide the trenchcoat over him to complete the tranformation. That was cool. But, when he's in Batman mode, he looks ridiculous. The gauntlets are big and gaudy, and his pants are black instead of the usual grey.
Nightwing is a nice, solid figure. He's in his all black outfit with a derk metallic blue chest emblem. He comes with a big shield and grappling hook.
Without a doubt, the most disappointing part of this set was Croc. It's a repaint of the first Croc figure. He comes with a little nonarticulated crocodile. And his super action? His right arm can retract and then snap back into place to punch. Also, his jaw is wide open. He's supposed to look fearsome, but he ends up looking confused.
I was pleasantly surprised with the Ventriloquist figure. He's a full head shorter than the other figures, which emphasizes his timid nature. His right hand slides into Scarface's back, with his left arm supporting underneath. Scarface isn't articulated, which is a disapointment.
I decided to keep this set in its box to display with the other 4 packs. You might want to do that also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love that Ventriloquist and Scarface!, September 27, 2002
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
Well, finally the Batman animated collectors have one of the Dark Knight's greatest foes, the Ventriloquist and Scarface, in plastic. When these characters were intoduced, they immediately went into the top tier of Batman's Rogues'Gallery. A great rendition of these villians, scupted in their Batman: The Animated Series' versions, created by Bruce Timm.
The other figures, Bruce Wayne, Killer Croc, and Nightwing, are also repaints of earlier releases. However, the new figures are worth the price of the whole set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great figures, December 27, 2012
By 
FlaMomma (Inverness, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
Ordered for Christmas last year for my son. He loves them still and they are very durable. Great product for great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive packaging, September 6, 2002
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BATMAN " PUPPETS OF CRIME" 5 FIGURE SET MIB (Toy)
It bugs me how Hasbro keeps mixing the old figures with the new ones, just like with the recent Penguin and Catwoman set. This case is particularly bad because the illustrations on the box are the newer, post-Superman style while the Croc and Ventriloquist figures inside are in the old style. Batman and Nightwing, of course, match the new-style illustrations. Go to a store and see; the difference is especially notable with Croc. And this Croc figure looks particularly dumb with his jaw hanging open; at first I thought maybe it was hinged, but it's not.
I almost bought the set anyway, since I never thought they'd make a Ventriloquist figure. But I certainly don't want that version of Killer Croc, and I already have enough Batman and Nightwing clones that I was forced to buy in order to get some other figure that I actually wanted.
So, I'm still waiting for more modern versions of Killer Croc, the Ventriloquist, Penguin, Catwoman, the Mad Hatter, Clayface... the list goes on. And I won't be fooled by the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.