Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
5 star
50%
4 star
50%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2002
Badfinger was so well known during their short time in music history for their wonderful pop confections in the style of their mentors, the Beatles. So well known for this, and so long forgotten for their own true love, hard and driving rock and roll.
And here on this generous disc, you'll find the "other" Badfinger. The tough group of kids, wailing on guitars, singing their lungs out. You'll hear Pete Ham's sweeping and lusty lead guitar (taking his place along side more notable axe men like Dave Mason and Mick Taylor), Joey and Tommy's driving vocals, Mike Gibbins' powerful drums. They're just blasting away here, on songs familiar to their repertoire and some from other writers.
This is how they liked to be known, and spinning this disc you'll hear what most on these shores didn't get to hear - Badfinger WAS a rock and roll band.
0Comment23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2000
The true test of a band is how they come off during a live performance. Judging by this historical disc, Badfinger was a good live band. On their studio recordings, their performances were polished and well-rehearsed; live, the songs are still melodic, but there is more power and grit, qualities that the studio producer softened to gain radio play. This disc shows Badfinger jamming, the wailing guitar solos extending songs- listen to the long renditions of the two Dave Mason tunes- and hear a "singles" band really boogie! The sound is very good quality. This disc will take a place of honor next to my copies of STRAIGHT UP and NO DICE. At one time, I owned all of their vinyl releases up to the time of Pete Hamm"s unfortunate demise, and I'm sorry I sold them. Many folks treated this band lightly- they were not lightweights, as this live disc proves.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2006
I have to tell the truth, all I really knew of Badfinger were their radio hits, "Come and Get It", "No Matter What You Want",and "Day After Day". I also knew George, and Paul helped them out on the Apple label. I loved all of those songs way back then, and still do now.

I did not follow the band that closely though, never saw them in concert, and did not know their very tragic history. And its all those things combined ----that make this BBC In Concert so wonderful a find. Its a terrific revelation of a great band.

You will find only one of their "Hits" on this cd,"Come and Get it". IMHO that is the weakest song on the disk!!!!

This is a straight ahead rock album from a bygone era that holds its own decades later. It is live and so being the vocals are good but not always great, what is great is the music. The Badfinger I heard on the radio was a great vocal band with good licks and melodies. But this Badfinger:In Concert is totally another, even more wonderful band!

It starts off with a Beatles sounding riff on "Better Days" but the song ends up sounding like something from a Rory Gallagher concert!!! And that's just the beginning!!

Its on to a Dave Mason/Traffic cut "Only You and I Know" again the vocal is not that strong but the straight ahead jam is sure worth the price of admission. "We're for the Dark" is one of the strongest vocals with a very Spirit sounding groove. "Sweet Tuesday Morning " hints of the Beatles Revolver period.

Then comes a Funky version of another Dave Mason/Traffic song "Feelin' Alright? " with some sweet guitar licks and an ever improving vocal, and music that in a very Traffic like way jams on and on to our great delight!! (This jam aspect of the band is very similar to Traffic during the same period `72-'73) Just as Joe Cocker/Leon Russell made this song with their own flavor, Badfinger creates their own very unique take it.

"Take it All" is another sweet track. The piano and guitar play off one another in a sweet sound, then it tracks into the first version of Suitcase, which starts out good and ends in a great guitar jam out!!

I'll not describe the other tracks, but just let you taste and see that they are good.

I know I mention a lot of other bands in my description but I want those looking for Badfinger to know that there was so much great music coming out of this band, other than just those hits, and that those of us who never saw them in concert have been deprived of the real HEART of this underrated JAM band!!

May the lost members of this band Rest In Peace, as they left behind for us the peace that good music brings to all of our souls!

I am so glad to have added this to my collection. It is a great CD to play while flying down the highway!!
0Comment16 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2000
Okay, if you're looking for a live perfomance of "best of" material, you are going to be disappointed with this CD. However, to the Badfinger enthusiast, this disc is a must-have.
The band smokes on later-period material such as "Blind Owl", "Matted Spam" and "Constitution". A couple different readings of "Suitcase" stand out as well. This is also the only legitimate release of live Badfinger that is true to form....much preferable to the highly over-processed, partially re-recorded "Day After Day" live disc. If you are looking for an accurate representation of Badfinger at their live peak, this is it.
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2007
It's true. Fantastic band and fantasic vocals. The voice of Pete Ham is superb!!!

This live CD recorded in BBC Radio Program in London is POWERFUL.

All the best,

José Renato
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2000
My FIRST concert was Badfinger LIVE at the North Penn High School gym in Pennslyvania. This concert on Cd is from the same year. When I showed up, I sat in the wood basketball gym seats with everyone else. In the center of the basketball court was badfinger on a small raised platform. They all were sitting on stools in a semi-circle in front of the drummer. The air was heavy with smoke and the band looked like they could hardly keep their balance sitting down. Then they started playing Traffic and Eric Clapton covers. It was the damnest thing I've ever seen. Here this band was all over the radio sounding like the second coming of the Beatles, and here captured live is a gritty raw rock band singing these beautiful pop songs with naked emotion. WOW. I was 15 and I'll never forget it.
22 comments15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2004
Badfinger did 3 live permances for The BBC, this CD contains the first two, the third unfortunately seems to have disappeared (erased?). The first 7 tracks are from a 1972 concert at Paris Theatre, London; the next 7 are from a 1973 performance also at The Paris Theatre and the last Come and Get It is from Top of The Pops 1970. The sound quality is good and the performances are mostly very good; a few wrong chords can be noticed some of last tracks. It's interesting to hear their versions of two Dave Mason songs. Both tracks feature long guitarsolos and are good examples of the difference between their records and their liveact. This album should be a positive surprise to those who thought Badfinger was only a pop-act. The band really rocks here!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2007
As the author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent" and a former radio disc-jockey, I am often asked to write and or discuss various recordings from the 60's and 70's.

Badfinger's BBC In Concert 72-73 is a true testament to a band that deserved better fate. In the studio, they created well-crafted tunes and albums that flowed from the opening to closing notes. For those that had not seized the opportunity to experience them in a live or radio setting it may come as a surprise how powerful of a band they were on stage.

When presented to display their skills on the BBC the band flexed their collective muscles. The arrangements were stretched out and the set list did not have to revolve around the hits of the day.

On this release, the one recognizable tune to the passive fan would be the fine rendition of "Come And Get It." To the Badfinger aficionado their taste buds salivated with the inclusions of two Dave Mason (Traffic) compositions "Only You Know And I Know" and "Feelin' Alright." There versions are not only a tremendous tribute to him but offer full throttle impact.

"We're For The Dark" is in the neighborhood of Bob Lind's masterpiece of 1968 "Elusive Butterfly."

"Sweet Tuesday Morning" is a thing of beauty. The sincerity of the lyrics put you in the BBC studio with the band.

Those searching for a dose or two of rock and roll will be mesmerized by "Blind Owl" and "Constitution" for their sheer energy and grit.

No matter what you should give this CD a few serious listens.

Enjoy the music and be well,
Craig Fenton
Author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent"
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2008
Badfinger was a great band that was the first signed to Apple records (James Taylor was the first artist). Known for their pop hits ("Day After Day", "Baby Blue", "No Matter What") that are omitted from this release, and "Come and Get It" (written by Paul that is included here) they display a harder rocking style than one might expect. It is of particular interest that they chose to include two Dave Mason tunes. I would recommend this one. Makes you appreciate their harder side.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Gets better with every listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.