September 5, 2006 | Format: MP3

Song Title Artist

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: September 5, 2006
  • Release Date: September 5, 2006
  • Label: Sony Urban Music/Columbia
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 48:09
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001L4DZZ6
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (566 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,027 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Makes you want to get up and dance.
This album seemed rushed and it was just disappointing to think that she would put something out like this....
Amazon Customer
At first I didn't think I was going to like the album because I didn't like the song Deja Vu at first.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

161 of 183 people found the following review helpful By K. J. Bryant on September 5, 2006
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
After listening to this cd, the first question I asked myself is "Is Beyonce leaving R&B or is she taking R&B in another direction"? Beyonce stings like a bee with such fire, it seems she is channeling the great Tina Turner and it seems she may be considering other genres to express herself. She has the vocal power and star quality to pull it off. I decided to review this album differently by not talking about each song, but to point out what I think are the good and bad parts of this cd.


Only 10 songs? If Xtina over did it with her new album, Beyonce under did it with hers. Most today's artists put at least 12-14 songs and considering the fact that Beyonce recorded over 22 songs for this cd, don't be surprise if she (re)releases a "new and improved version" of B'Day.

No "Magic" Song. There are no songs on the cd that can match classics like "Crazy in Love", "Independent Women" "Say My Name" or "Bootylicious". The quality of her songwriting has dropped a bit.

Re-using old ideas. The song "Get Bodied" is nothing more but a part 2 of "Jumpin, Jumpin" and we all know that "Deja Vu" is "Crazy In Love" cheaper sister.

Checking other people styles. "Ring The Alarm" owes Kelis for its vibe and I didn't have to look at the credits to know Rich Harrison produced "Freakum Dress" and "Suga Mama".

Tired of Jay Z. I rather Beyonce not rely on him so much for her street cred.


"Freakum" will become the new word in the hood and probably make its way to mainstream America.

Give credit to the right people. The Producers. They gave her some of the sickest beats I ever heard. Even if there is no real melody, you cannot help but respect the beats.

Channeling Tina Turner.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful By W. E. Phillips VINE VOICE on April 3, 2007
Format: Audio CD
The release of the original version of B'Day came at the perfect time in my life. It came out the day before I had to return to work after my summer break and I was depressed, not only by that, but also by other things going on in my life. On September 5, 2006, I went to the music store and bought two copies. (I now own four copies, including the deluxe edition). I opened it and shoved the CD in my car stereo. What I heard changed my life. The songs were flawlessly produced and Beyoncé's vocal delivery was energetic, enthusiastic, swaggering, powerful and charismatic. Every song was amazing. Never have upbeat songs been graced with such beautiful, complex harmonies! It is now my favorite album of all time, even though I have had countless people shake their heads and laugh at this statement. (I plan to have many more after posting this review, too.) This album offered me an escape from my problems that even Mary J. Blige's My Life and Me'Shell NdegéOcello's Bitter couldn't bring to me, and for this I am thankful.

Considering this, I promise to give an absolutely truthful review that will answer the essential question at hand: does it live up to, or is it better than, the original? I feel no need to review songs from the original because you've most likely heard them on the radio, bought the album and/or seen the videos. Plus, I pretty much thought it was flawless.

There has been some confusion and I'd like to clear it up. The deluxe edition is a two-disc set. It comes with the expanded version of the original and a bonus disc with Spanish songs. It does NOT come with all of the videos.
Read more ›
15 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
35 of 42 people found the following review helpful By L. Williams on October 6, 2006
Format: Audio CD
This album is definitely NOT good. I've read several reviews that claim the opposite, but I think those listeners could not have been listening with a discerning ear. There are so many things wrong with this album, I don't know where to begin. Oh, by the way, I AM a fan of her talent. I just wish she would have actually showcased some on this album.

A majority of these songs were poorly written, with trite, unimpressive lyrics. "Get Me Bodied" leads me to believe Beyonce's vocabularly isn't very extensive, with 'body' obviously being her favorite word. And the phrase "get me bodied" is so elusive that she had to explicitly state "get me bodied- that means come closer to me". . . When you have to clearly state what your phrase means, it's not a good one. I don't recall anyone ever saying "bling bling, that means my diamonds" in a song.

She relies too heavily on her producers on B'Day, when in fact, they don't bring too much to the table. Rich Harrison's songs "Suga Mama" and "Freakum Dress" have his signature sound alright, but not neccessarily in the best way. "Freakum Dress" sounds like it was supposed to be Amerie's songs, but once again, he gave her sound away. Swizz Beatz did a good job with "Upgrade You" and arguably "Ring the Alarm" but everything else falls short and actually are quite annoying. The Neptunes was a waste of money. Their songs are even difficult to recall.

I wish she would just sing and stop already with the screaming. I could pan this album all day, so I'll highlight the GOOD points.

She has some good ideas. "Kitty Kat", "Freakum Dress" and "Ring the Alarm" are very fresh ways of approaching a very trite topic. She gets many Kudos there.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?