Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Large capacity batteries
These batteries have 20%+ more capacity than the OEM Canon batteries. And yes, when shooting video I have gotten about 20-30% more time to shoot before battery is exhausted. If only shooting hi-res pictures, 300+ is easy to achieve before battery needs to be re-charged.
Published 17 months ago by Tull1

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important Info On Fix For Battery Problem
I have given 3 stars, but don't know yet if that is too high or too low. I have just erased a review very critical of the batteries because of new information that indicates it may have been unfair. The cause, I have learned, for at least part of the problem was the camera, not the quality of the batteries. If I find that the cause was entirely the camera, then I will...
Published 15 months ago by Kenneth Depree


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important Info On Fix For Battery Problem, August 31, 2013
By 
Kenneth Depree (Sosua, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
I have given 3 stars, but don't know yet if that is too high or too low. I have just erased a review very critical of the batteries because of new information that indicates it may have been unfair. The cause, I have learned, for at least part of the problem was the camera, not the quality of the batteries. If I find that the cause was entirely the camera, then I will so indicate in this review and give the batteries 5 stars.

My problem was that after a period of time using the camera that the batteries seemed to lose much of their charge. Then not even a fully re-charged battery would work. The charger by means of the green light was saying the batteries were charged. However, the camera would start then shut off immediately saying on the screen that the batteries needed to be charged.

Yesterday I contacted Canon service and received a quick response. The fix, they said, was to remove the battery from the camera, CLOSE the battery door, then press and hold the start button for 1 minute. At the end of the minute, I opened the door, put in the battery, one of those the camera had been saying needed to be charged even though the charger said it was charged, and pressed the start button. This time when the camera started I could see on the screen that the camera considered the battery fully charged. What a relief!

Canon said that what happens is that sometimes the camera's capacitor (whatever that is) retains some of the energy, causing the symptoms that I was experiencing. Removing the battery,closing the battery compartment door, and pressing the start button for 1 minute drains all the energy out of the camera and resets the camera.

I asked whether it was possible that I will have to do this again, the reply was "yes", it is very possible because they don't yet know the cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the overpriced OEM Canon batteries, May 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
These things are garbage. I recently bought the SX260HS along with some accessories and these spare batteries for a trip to Italy. I know the battery life on the 260 is not that spectacular so I thought having a couple of spares along would be a good deal, and at 1/3rd the price of a single official Canon battery for two of these, it seemed like a good idea.

Not really a surprise (I'll tell you why in a moment) my Canon batt with the camera worked very well within the specified amount of pictures with modest LCD brightness and frequent use of many features. So a few hours later I switch to my back up battery (these ones) and find that one already registers as low and the other says it is full, goes for about an hour and suddenly is totally dead to the point you get the usual message on the LCD to replace the battery pack.

The reason I am not surprised is my last Canon I went through the same motions. Purchased a third party spare, thing never held a charge and died very quickly. So here I am again a few years later with the same problem.

Don't be cheap. Buy the Canon battery if you actually want to be able to take pictures all day without worrying. The camera comes with one, get an extra and you should easily make it through a 16 hour day. If you take a billion pictures a day, then get two. The 30 bucks a piece will be well worth capturing all the memories you want with no stress instead of these cruddy batteries you wont be able to rely on at all.

I should also add that I did ensure I charged them correctly and gave it another go the next day to no avail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Large capacity batteries, June 28, 2013
By 
Tull1 "Tull1" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
These batteries have 20%+ more capacity than the OEM Canon batteries. And yes, when shooting video I have gotten about 20-30% more time to shoot before battery is exhausted. If only shooting hi-res pictures, 300+ is easy to achieve before battery needs to be re-charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick shipping, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
Product works great. Long battery life. Shot photos on vacation and battery finally needs charging after 2 weeks and 450 shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product, excellent price!, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
As good as OEM! Used heavily for 3-week trip and 1200 pictures later I highly recommend this replacement for the OEM's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as advertised, June 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
These batteries work as intended in my Canon SX500 IS. They are very comparable to the oem Canon battery in the amount of charge/life. This camera is not great on battery life but it's not the fault of these batteries. They are fine.

The extras in the kit - the screen protector and polishing cloth - were good too. I was looking for a screen protector for this camera anyway so it was lucky it just happened along with the batteries, which were essential. There's plenty of protector material for making several for the small screen on the SX500. The polishing cloth, while no big deal, was handy for prepping the screen for the protecting film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
These have been very good for me, they hold their charge for a long time even while stored in a bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars charged, June 13, 2013
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
seem to last forever compared to old batteries, so glad i made the purchase. Need to replace batteries more often old ones were not lasting a day, these last 3 days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pack of 2 NB-6L Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot SX260 HS SX, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
Good battery life, as good as the Canon battery that came with the camera. Fast charge. I would recommend them to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works better than Canon battery did!, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BM Premium Pack Of 2 NB6L, NB-6L, NB-6LH Replacement Batteries For Canon PowerShot S120, SX170 IS, SX260 HS, SX280 HS, SX500 IS, SX510 HS, SX600 HS, SX700 HS, ELPH 500 HS, D10, D20, D30 Digital Camera (Accessory)
These work great so far! The canon battery only lasted one month so we gave these a try and have been very pleased with their performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.