Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tales!
Bone: Tall Tales by Jeff Smith with Tom Sniegoski, a companion to the epic Bone saga, was previously published in black-and-white as Stupid-Stupid Rat-tails. This brand-new edition, published by Scholastic Graphix in both hardcover and paperback, features new stories and full-colour art.

Bone: Tall Tales serves as a perfect introduction to the series for new...
Published on August 7, 2010 by Little Willow

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disaster of a plot
I have read the Bone series twice, it is so good. So I got this Bone book, though without high expectations; I know it's not in the series, so there won't be as much excitement. I figure it will still be fun to read.

Well, it isn't. The art work is still gorgeous as always, given that Jeff Smith did it. But the storyline is a disaster. I know that you don't...
Published on April 3, 2012 by Professor May


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tales!, August 7, 2010
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
Bone: Tall Tales by Jeff Smith with Tom Sniegoski, a companion to the epic Bone saga, was previously published in black-and-white as Stupid-Stupid Rat-tails. This brand-new edition, published by Scholastic Graphix in both hardcover and paperback, features new stories and full-colour art.

Bone: Tall Tales serves as a perfect introduction to the series for new readers, and it's a must-have for long-time Bone fans as well. This fun collection of stories of Casper-looking underdogs is perfectly titled, because each and every funny tale Smiley shares 'round the campfire is a tall one. The glossy full-colour illustrations will reel kids in, and the high-falutin' stories will keep them intrigued. The tale of Bone's birth is especially off-the-wall. My favorite tale is the final story, in which Bone gathers a hodgepodge group of woodland creatures, including an adorable fox, a shy turtle, a very put-upon monkey, and a guardian dragon named Stillman who quickly stole a little piece of my heart, to help him in a fight against the evil rat creatures.

Two thumbs up for Tall Tales, Smith, and Sniegoski!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Time Bone Reader Loves It!, October 23, 2010
By 
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
Reason for Reading: This is a Cybils '10 nominee and required reading for me as a panelist.

I have never read a Bone book in my life before this. I actually have reading the series as one of my goals for next year. Fortunately, Tall Tales is a collection of short stories that happen before the events of the Bone series making them entirely readable for someone who hasn't a clue about the series itself.

The book, which calls itself a "Companion" to the series is set in the here and now as Smiley and Bartleby take the Bone Scouts camping. As they sit around the campfire, Smiley tells some rather Tall Tales about the early days. One involves Fone Bone and Phoney Bone in the days before Thorn was Queen and the rest are about Big Johnson Bone's early adventures. There are a total of four stories with a segue back at camp connecting them. The first three are indeed short stories, while the fourth one takes up almost the entire book with the main tale of Johnson Bone's adventure of how he subdued the terror of the rat creatures.

I absolutely loved this and cannot wait to read the other books now that I've had this sampling. Not having read Bone previously did not hamper my enjoyment of Tall Tales one iota and in fact I can recommend it as a way to check and see if you'll enjoy the humour of Bone, which is hilarious. I was snorting out loud as I read which is not something I do often, believe me! Completely entertaining, hilariously funny and a sure-fire winner for any comic reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Stories and Art, November 16, 2010
By 
Gonzalo (MIAMI, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
I am an avid fan of the comic medium and a comic creator myself. I knew very little about Bone, however, until I bought the collected edition. I thought it was wonderful: the crisp,clear art, the humor and the way the story unfolded where top notch. This prequel is an excellent addition giving the reader a further view into the lives and myths of the Bones. Something that is not a big part of the Bone saga. Another plus is that the art is in color. This is not always a good thing as in many comics the color overwhelms the art. Not in this case. Everthing fits together perfectly.

These stories are short, fun and can be enjoyed by people of all ages. For what its worth, I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disaster of a plot, April 3, 2012
By 
Professor May (Columbia Falls, MT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
I have read the Bone series twice, it is so good. So I got this Bone book, though without high expectations; I know it's not in the series, so there won't be as much excitement. I figure it will still be fun to read.

Well, it isn't. The art work is still gorgeous as always, given that Jeff Smith did it. But the storyline is a disaster. I know that you don't believe me as I say as. If I had read this comment before I read the book, I wouldn't believe this either. I mean, how could Jeff Smith come up with a bad plot? Look at the Bone series! Not possible!

But I examined the book carefully and found out why. The story isn't by Jeff. It's by another guy Tom; only the ark work is by Jeff.

I tried to finish this book 5 times and couldn't. The storyline is too boring! My son, age 13 and a Bone fan, warned me before I started that this book isn't good, but I thought he's just being a weird teenager.

At the end of the book, it is indicated that Jeff is collaborating with Tom on future coming Bone books too. Bad idea, Mr. Jeff! If you want to do a job right, you need to do it yourself. Or at least find competent help.

I can't believe Scholastic, a high quality publisher who does books like Harry Potter, is allowing Tall Tales to appear in the market. Well, I guess stuff happens.

But let me just say that the art work is superb, as always. The drawing is beautiful, and the coloring is amazing! But the plot! Such beautiful art should not be matched to such a boring plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BONE series is FANTASTIC, October 9, 2010
By 
mumzonline (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
My 8 year old son has every Bone book. I wondered whether the Bone series would be a passing phase. Not for my son. He has consistently returned to the books over and over again. He seems captivated by the story and the animation. 6 stars from me if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun prequel to the Bone series, September 8, 2011
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
This is the prequel book to the Bone series. It was a fun addition to the series. Not as wonderful as the original story, but still fun to read and entertaining.

In this book Smiley Bone tells some younger Bones stories about Big Johnson Bone, the adventurous founder of Boneville. Big Johnson Bone is a bit outrageous and has a lot of crazy tales attributed to his name.

The artwork is consistent with previous Bone books; it's fun and matches the tone of the story well.

The book features little stories about various adventures that Big Johnson was on. We even get to find out how the Rat Creatures lost their tails!

While I enjoyed the sheer outlandishness of some of Big Johnson's tales, I didn't find him to be quite as endearing of a character as our wonderful original Bone trio. Still he was funny and his candidness about his adventures was fun to read about.

Overall this is a fun addition to the Bone series. Just something to tide you over until there is more Bone to read. The tales of Boneville founder Big Johnson Bone are amusing and entertaining. Fans of the series should be pleased with this addition, this book also stands alone well on its own and is appropriate for younger readers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new spin-off from the "Bone" series., January 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
Since the end of "Bone", Cartoon Books and Scholastic have been reprinting the series multiple times. Now, Smith has began releasing new material. The first piece of new material was the "Bone Handbook", a guide to the entire series. Then, on August 1st, 2010, Scholastic released "Tall Tales" (the reprinting of the 2000 miniseries, "Rose", was also released on that same day), a collection of the "Stupid, Stupid Rat Tails" miniseries (2000), a short from the Disney Adventures magazine, and some new material. The majority of the book is written and illustrated by Jeff Smith (with new colour on the "Stupid, Stupid Rat Tails" miniseries, which did not originally have colour, from Steve Hamaker), the "Stupid, Stupid Rat Tails" part of the book is written by Tom Sniegoski and illustrated by Jeff Smith. Of the three released mentioned above (the handbook, "Tall Tales", and "Rose"), this is by far the best.

The setting of "Tall Tales" begins in a forest area, possibly in or outside the city of Boneville. Smiley and Bartleby are shown going camping with three young Bone scouts; Ringo, Bingo, and Todd. As they sit around the campfire, Smiley tells the three Bone kids stories. The first (being the Disney Adventures short) tells the story of when Phoney and Fone Bone went off to do their laundry, but when Phoney goes looking for treasure, they go on a short, wacky adventure, which ends with an unexpected discovery... The second story is a piece of new material (designed to tell the readers a bit about the background of Big Johnson Bone, founder of Boneville), and chronicles the birth of Big Johnson Bone and his first great adventure as he defeats Old Man Winter. The third story tells of when Big Johnson Bone attends a eating contest, but becomes infatuated with his opponent, the Cobbler Gobbler. Now, the three scouts, Smiley, and Bartleby head off to bed, but one of the Scouts (it is not mentioned whether the Scout is Ringo, Bingo or Todd) picks up Smiley's "Big Hat" (which he uses as sort of a symbol to represent that he is in charge) and wears it as he sleeps. The fourth and final story then begins (being the "Stupid, Stupid Rat Tails" miniseries reprint), and tells the story of Big Johnson Bone and his epic adventure in The Valley as he helps a group of woodland creatures battle the sinister Rat Creatures. It is revealed that this is a dream that the Bone scout had while he wore the hat, and he begins to feel uneasy, before finally returning the hat to Smiley's tent as "Tall Tales" comes to a close.

The book itself is absolutely fantastic. The hardcover binding is impressive and very durable and comes with a dustcover, while the book pages are made from a strong, plastic-ish type of paper. Even though I preferred the black and white printings of the series, the colour adds more of a fun feeling to the book, and is particularly attractive to young children. Filled with lots of cute animals, cool scenes of comedic action, and very humourous dialogue, this is an installment of the "Bone" series that you simply must have. If you had a problem with the standard "Bone" series because of the smoking, sexual references, etc., you will not with this one (something I noticed that was interesting was that Smiley isn't smoking cigars), since it's almost completely child-friendly and free of any adult attributes. Additionally, the book features a short preview to the upcoming novel series, "Quest For The Spark".

"Tall Tales" is yet another amazing book from Jeff Smith's multi-award winning, critically acclaimed, best-selling "Bone" series. "Tall Tales" is gripping, light-hearted and ridiculously hilarious, and will take you on a 108 page journey through forests, fairs, and even stomachs! Overall, a ten out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gather Round the Fire For Some Fun Stories, January 20, 2011
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
In this next Bone prequel after Rose, fans get to enjoy some entertaining tales set in the world of Bone before a new trilogy coming early next year, Quest for the Spark. While Tall Tales is no epic story like the Bone series, readers get to enjoy some fun stories told by Smiley to the bone scouts and Bartleby. First there's the story of Phoney Bone and Fone Bone and how they had no plans of helping with the laundry, and after being led on a wild goose chase that almost gets them killed with a planted "treasure map," they learn their lesson. The rest of the stories focus on an important character: he discovered the Rolling Bone River, and most importantly founded Boneville; he is a bone of legend, Big Johnson Bone. His first story is of how just moments after he was born, he was whisked away into the cold winter night, and how he came face to face with Old Man Winter and gave him a piece of his mind. Then there's the story of the eating contest which Big Johnson Bone has won for many years running, but this one time he might change his mind for a special bone. The last and longest of the collection tells of multiple great adventures Big Johnson Bone went on, fighting against the deadly Rat Creatures, as well as enjoying the company of one sneaky little monkey.

Originally written on November 16, 2010 ©Alex C. Telander.

Go to BookBanter ([...]) for over five hundred reviews and over forty exclusive author interviews, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun extras for the Bone world, September 10, 2014
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
This volume is another supplemental set of stories from the world of Bone. Smiley Bone takes a troop of scouts (which inexplicably includes a rat creature but it's funny so go with it) camping and they tells stories around a campfire. These are the tall tales of the title. Most of them are stories about Big Johnson Bone, the bone who founded Boneville. One story is about Fone Bone and Phoney Bone seeking treasure rather than doing their laundry. All the stories are packed with humor and fun, making this a delightful read and a good addition to the Bone collection (though some bits are a spoiler for the main story so the reader is advised to read this after reading the nine main volumes).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Smiles, January 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BONE: Tall Tales (Paperback)
My son is a huge fan of Bone and was eager to get this book. I am so happy to have purchased it from Amazon! It arrived a lot earlier than I'd anticipated and my son quickly began reading it. He is very satisfied and all smiles.Tall Tales (Bone Prequel) (The reviewer was compensated for posting this review. However, the opinion stated in the review is that of the reviewer and the reviewer alone. Further, the reviewer independently selected this product to review and has no affiliation with the product maker/distributor, Amazon or the review requester.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BONE: Tall Tales
BONE: Tall Tales by Tom Sniegoski (Paperback - August 1, 2010)
$12.99 $10.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.