Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly makes you think! Can be hard to implement!
I read this in one shot on a 6.5 hour flight to Kauai against monster headwinds. Since then I have picked it up and read sections and tried to make changes in my company based on what I learned. Thanks to Lindstrom's book, I can certainly tell you I am on a brand journey.

I am sure every reviewer will mention Singapore Airlines. We were holding a conference...
Published on May 7, 2005 by Stephen Northcutt

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limitied Usefulness
While the book is very interesting, it was of limited value to me. The premise of the book is that our marketing should involve all five senses. Typically marketing has involved only sight and/or sound. Lindstrom says that ultimate marketing should involve the additional senses of taste, smell and touch.

While it makes sense (no pun intended) it is really not...
Published on August 8, 2006 by John Chancellor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly makes you think! Can be hard to implement!, May 7, 2005
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
I read this in one shot on a 6.5 hour flight to Kauai against monster headwinds. Since then I have picked it up and read sections and tried to make changes in my company based on what I learned. Thanks to Lindstrom's book, I can certainly tell you I am on a brand journey.

I am sure every reviewer will mention Singapore Airlines. We were holding a conference and I wanted to create that distinct SANS Institute smell. So I bought five aromatic dispensers and test scents with names like "Ocean Feeling". I had people stationed to observe the customers and make note of anything they said about smell. Zero results. Why? The biggest reason is probably the volume of air in a modern conference center is several orders of magnitude greater than a jet.

We are working on the tips the author gives for music, here I am convinced he is right, I cannot listen to Rhapsody in Blue without thinking about United Airlines.

Without this book, I would have thought brand was a logo and picking some colors and maybe a jingle. My eyes are opened, and at this point I know it will be a long journey, but I am sure I will refer to the book again and again. Highly recommended for any business owner or organizational executive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual treatise based on Millward Brown's study, May 12, 2005
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
Martin Lindstrom's Brand Sense: Build Powerful Brands Through Touch, Taste, Smell, Sight And Sound provides an unusual treatise based on Millward Brown's study linking branding and sensory awareness. 'Sensory branding' is a relatively new concept: Brand Sense takes the next step from study results to outline a six-step program for bringing brand building into modern times. Examples cover products and retail marketing alike, demonstrating the basics of establishing an appealing marketing approach based on more than sight and sound alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ponder your brand beyond your product and your advertising, September 20, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
Martin Lindstrom has written a truly readable and provocative book. Short term goals, and the pressures to meet them, make it all too easy to view business both myopically and blinkered. Take a step back and regard your brand (and your competitors' brands) holistically. Products, services, and the delivery of the same to your customers, encomapsses all senses. Yes, some will dominate, but is important to understand which and why. If taste and smell (say) are the essence of your brand, how do you convey this in your advertising, where sight and sound are dominant?

I would have rated Brand Sense 5, but for the fact Lindstrom draws on analysis from a massive data base from Millward Brown. I would have liked to have seen some of the details - perhaps as appendices.

All in all a great read ... now I have no excuses for not doing more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Brand eye-opener from Lindstrom..., February 13, 2005
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
Continuing from where he left off with BRAND child, Martin Lindstrom, once again, has made me sit up and take notice of an innovative approach to contemporary marketing.

BRAND sense makes perfect sense and that's what makes it so disarmingly good. It's not that that the concepts and outcomes being postured are revolutionary, because in truth they are not. However, Lindstrom puts these notions across with such clarity that it's like a veil being lifted, and the understanding that had always been there, is now revealed.

Think about it. Why should marketers rely only on sight and sound to build brand presence, when all the other senses are equally as receptive to a savvy marketer's ability to touch its consumer base? For me, the anecodtal evidence being offered in this book, backed by credible qualitative research, points with absolute certainty to a marketing future unrecognizable from where we are currently.

Which makes the future for brand builders that much more exciting.

I loved this book for its simple human truths. Lindstrom is a past master when it comes to understanding the subtelties of consumerism, again evident in this sequel to BRAND child. I recommend it to anyone wishing to be on the cutting edge of brand knowledge and brand development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary hypothesis, February 13, 2005
By 
Lynne (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
Now and then we need a nudge in our thinking. BRAND sense will do just that. Rethink and reframe our traditional ways of branding. In a fast-paced world where we're bombarded with slogans, signs, messages, and catchy tunes, Lindstrom's book carefully guides brands in reframing the way they will think about and present their brand. It's an extraordinary hypothesis. It is bound to challenge every marketeer to reasses, reconfigure and reframe their brand in a way that will connect more deeply and more emotionally with the consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Interdependence of Branding and Sensory Awareness, March 6, 2007
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
As Philip Kotler explains in an especially perceptive Foreword, "distinctive brands...have to be powered up to deliver a full sensory experience. It is not enough to present a product or service visually in an ad...The combination of visual and audio stimuli delivers a 2 + 2 = 5 impact. It pays even more to trigger other sensory channels - taste, touch, smell - to enhance the total impact. This is Martin Lindstrom's basis message, and he illustrates it beautifully through numerous cases with compelling arguments." Bernd Schmitt is among others who make precisely the same point. In Experiential Marketing (1997), for example, he and Alex Simonson assert that "most of marketing is limited because of its focus on features and benefits." They then presented what they characterized as "a framework" for managing those experiences. In Experiential Marketing (1999), Schmitt provides a much more detailed exposition of the limitations of traditional features-and-benefits marketing. Moreover, he moves beyond the sensory "framework" into several new dimensions, introducing what he calls "a new model" which will enable marketers to manage "all types of experiences, integrating them into holistic experiences" while "addressing key structural, strategic, and organizational challenges."

In Brand Sense, Lindstrom provides a comprehensive, cohesive, and cost-effective methodology by which to plan, implement, and then sustain effective sensory marketing. As he correctly points out, approaches to marketing have changed significantly in recent years. In the 1950s, branding belonged to the unique selling proposition (USP); by the 1960s, a focus on the emotional selling proposition (ESP) emerged; then in the 1980s, many brand managers adopted the organizational selling proposition (OSP); by the 1990s, "brands had gained enormous strength bin their own right, and the Brand Selling Proposition (BSP) took over." Inevitably, it now seems, the me selling proposition (MSP) emerged. What's next? Again I quote Lindstrom:

"There's every indication that branding will move beyond the MSP, into an even more sophisticated realm - reflecting a brave new world where the customer desperately needs something to believe in - and where brands very well might provide the answer. I call this realm HSP - the Holistic Selling proposition."

With meticulous care, Lindstrom explains how and why the methodology he recommends will enable all organizations (regardless of size or nature) to drive sales and profits with a commitment to the HSP. To his credit, he devotes far more attention to the "how" and "why" than to the "what," although he duly acknowledges the importance of creating or increasing demand for a worthy product or service.

Readers will especially appreciate Lindstrom's provision of a set of "Action Points" at the conclusion of most chapters. These will suggest how to apply the material to which they refer, and, will facilitate and expedite a periodic review later to ensure that effective follow-through has been accomplished. Obviously, it would be foolish to attempt to implement all of Lindstrom's suggestions. It remains for each reader to determine what is most appropriate to her or his organization's immediate and imminent needs. However, whether committing to Lindstrom's methodology or to any other, it is important to understand and - yes--appreciate the barriers to change initiatives when introducing any methodology which challenges, as James O'Toole so aptly characterizes them, "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulate our thinking, August 20, 2006
By 
Mr. Aaron Raikes (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
This book is great in a way that it stimulates our thinking and looks at the branding concepts in a brand new way. It also encourages curiosity and creativity in this professional filed. A Must-Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limitied Usefulness, August 8, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
While the book is very interesting, it was of limited value to me. The premise of the book is that our marketing should involve all five senses. Typically marketing has involved only sight and/or sound. Lindstrom says that ultimate marketing should involve the additional senses of taste, smell and touch.

While it makes sense (no pun intended) it is really not practical for most small businesses to implement. First only certain products or services lend themselved to involving all five senses. Secondly it can be cost prohibitive for a company on a limited budget to even consider most of his concepts.

While the book contains lots of interesting information, it is clearly focused on large multi-national companies. If you are interested in theory and learning what the giant companies have on the drawing board, then it could appeal to you. On the other hand, if you are representing a small company with a limited budget I am not sure you will find much useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to make brand distinction - read this book!, February 13, 2005
This review is from: BRAND sense (Hardcover)
The topic of branding has been well explored during the last decade - to an extend where it provoked an "anti-brand" re-action - at least among many consumers. "Brand Sense" however, is far from your generic brand book! "Brand Sense" took me much further and provided me with inspiration and valuable insight of future brand power. Brand building has long been explored from one-dimension. Supported by a large survey and lots of cases Martin Lindstrom is explaining that future brand distinction is about appealing to all senses, thus a multidimensional experience. I can truly recommend "Brand Sense" for those marketers who want to take their brand one step further... into the "sensory world" of brand distinction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, if you like to feel free and independent you better read about manipulating of human brain-judgement by marketing and politicians. This book can help you to better run your own business or to defend yourself from the outside agressions and influences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BRAND sense
BRAND sense by Martin Lindstrom (Hardcover - February 10, 2005)
$27.00 $18.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.