Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this over Goljan
When I was studying for my step 1s, I was really confused about either studying the BRS pathology or sticking with Goljan. After taking the test, I would have to say that you should probably stick with this book instead. It is concise and it covers most of the things you need to know for the boards. You can fill in the rest with USMLE qBank (which is a must)...
Published on April 26, 2011 by L. Sun

versus
106 of 128 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but misses some important details. Rapid Review pathology is much better.
This is a good book, well organzied with nice explanations. However, it lacks illustrations, lacks questions in clinical vignette format, and lacks important details with emphasis on low yield subjects.

What do I mean by lacks important details? Well, it leaves out important things sometimes, for example:

1.Down syndrome is associated with ALL,...
Published on April 29, 2006 by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this over Goljan, April 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) (Paperback)
When I was studying for my step 1s, I was really confused about either studying the BRS pathology or sticking with Goljan. After taking the test, I would have to say that you should probably stick with this book instead. It is concise and it covers most of the things you need to know for the boards. You can fill in the rest with USMLE qBank (which is a must).

Don't let others fool you into thinking that studying Goljan will actually raise your score. It will not. The book is good and it is comprehensive. But lets be honest with ourselves. Even if you read Goljan 10 times over, how much are you actually going to retain? The book is detailed and it is wonderful for reference. But for the purposes of the boards, BRS is enough.

Update: I got my score back and ended up getting 245/99. I read this book over twice and I honestly retained only 90% of the entire book. However, despite that BRS + Qbank = win. I know there are people on SDN saying that RR is the most godly book and that if you don't memorize it then you will never break 230. That is simply not true. To be honest, it doesn't really matter what resource you use. Just get one and stick to it. In my opinion the BRS is shorter and higher yield than other books and I will vouch for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Golgan, February 18, 2007
This book presents concise information yet it's written in sentence form so it explains items at the same time. It's not just a book of bullet points crammed into an outline form like the Golgan Rapid Review. Sure, it purposefully skips certain details but I feel if you read this book multiple times, you will understand Pathology better than most students. It's so well written that it's easy to read and you will get through chapters quickly. I highly recommend this book especially if you are someone who likes to understand what they read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the cliffnotes of robbins pathology, July 3, 2006
great book summarizes robbins pathology text book well...for the previous reviewer...yes you are correct this book lacks what you wrote up...but those facts can be found in first aid...so its not a real big deal... use this during your coursework and for usmle 1...it'll help u get the bigger picture...which is easily lost in med school...where details predominate....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 128 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but misses some important details. Rapid Review pathology is much better., April 29, 2006
This is a good book, well organzied with nice explanations. However, it lacks illustrations, lacks questions in clinical vignette format, and lacks important details with emphasis on low yield subjects.

What do I mean by lacks important details? Well, it leaves out important things sometimes, for example:

1.Down syndrome is associated with ALL, hirschsprung disease, duodenal atresia (actually book makes no mention of duodenal atresia)

2.Pulsatile mass seen in abdominal aortic aneurysms

3.Kawasaki disease associated with heart disease in children

4.Neurofibromatosis type II

5.Tuberous sclerosis and hypopigmented patches on the trunk

6.Turners syndrome and increased risk of dysgerminoma, hypothyroidism, horseshoe kidneys, bicuspid aortic valve

7.Scleroderma associated with primary biliary cirrhosis

8.Primary sclerosing cholangitis associated with ulcerative colitis

9.alpha1 antitrypsin deficiency being mcc of cirrhosis in children

10.Chronic pyelonephritis.

11. Hashimoto's thyroiditis and anti-microsomal antibodies

12. the age groups for leukemias: 0-14 ALL, 15-39 AML, 40-60 AML & CML, 60+ CLL (you can answer any leukemia question on the step just by knowing how old the patient is)

13. AML association with Auer rods and 15:17 translocation and DIC

14. CD15 and CD30 and the Reed-Sternberg cell

15.Exophageal webs

16.Mallory-Weiss syndrome, Boerhave syndrome

17.Seborrheic keratosis association with gastric carcinoma

18. focal segmental glomerulosclerosis seen in HIV and IVDA's

19.adult polycystic kidney disease associated with mitral valve prolapse (25% of the time!, how could this book miss this)

20.renal cell ca is discussed but it doesn't mention the increased incidence after dialysis or its association with adult kidney polycistic disease

21.seminoma and placental alkaline phosphatse (palp) as a marker

22. papillary carcinoma associated with radiation

23.hypoparathyroidism and chvostek sign (tapping face in front of ear elicits tetany) This showed up on my test on two questions! Yes step 1.

24. actinic keratosis - easily scrapped off and recurs

25. keloid and type III collagen. hypertrophic scar and type I collagen

26. malignant melanoma and its tumor marker s-100

27. squamous skin cancer associated with tertiary burns, immunosuppresive therapy, draining sinus tracts

28.pseudogout and positive birefringent

Honestly, the list goes on and on, and these are all very high yield points missed by this book.

29.cerebral palsy

30.neurofibrillary tangles and the tau protein

31.familial ALS and a mutant superoxide dismutase 1 (SOD1) gene

32.neuroblastoma and bombesin

33.pilocytic astrocytomas

34.oral contraceptives and thrombophilia

35.septic shock association with ARDS

36.dilated cardiomyyopathy and mural thombi

37.myxoma of left atrium and syncope due to obstruction of mitral valve

38. malignant mesothelioma (mentioned only briefly)

39.pneumocysis carinii pneumonia and the silver stain

40.hemorrhoids and pregnancy, cirrhosis, constipation

I'll stop there, but there are more...

What do I mean by too much emphasis on low yield subjects?

1.Lupus nephropathy type I - type V (the subtypes won't show up on step1)

2.Subacute thryoiditis, Riedel thyroiditis (only hashimoto's thyroiditis will be on step1)

3.Philadelphia chromosome association with ALL (step1 will only ask about its association with CML)

4.Precursor T lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukemia (low yield)

5.osteoid osteoma, osteoblastoma

6.prothrombin 20210a transition

And the again, no mechanisms. I know this is a pathology book, but basic mechanisms should be included because it helps students retain more if they understand the mechanism. For example,

why is CLL associated with hypogammaglobulinemia? (because the neoplastic cells less capable of differentiating to plasma cells)

why sarcoidosis associated with hypercalcemia? (because epithelial macrophages convert vitamin d to active form)

why is diverticulosis associated with diverticulitis? (because of fecalith in the diverticulum sac)

carcinoid is most commonly located in the appendix but when located there it doesn't metasize. why? (because the appendix only allows the tumor to grow to <2cm and tumors usually metastasize when larger than 2cm)

Sorry, I got carried away...there's just so much I remember that were missing from this book... other reviewers have noticed this as well i'm sure. however, the info that is in this book is well organized and an easy read...so i give it 2 stars.

Goljan's Rapid Review has more high yield material, but the organization of it is not as good. Actually I'm going to write a review on that book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Short List, March 23, 2010
This review is from: BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) (Paperback)
The debate continues, Goljan or BRS? Lets cut to the chase about where this book falls short. It's content isn't nearly as comprehensive as Goljan; I mean that it doesn't even hold a flame to the great Goljan. However, that's no reason not to use it. I would have to agree that its reading format is much more digestable the rapid review. It also has questions at the end of each chapter that are excellent for reviewing the material. All of its material and key points that are mentioned are very high yield for step one, and it is adequate material for do well on USMLE step 1 (230's). In fact, if you are pressed for time and need a good source, I would be more inclined to choose this book than rapid review. You can go through this book in 3-4 days, but plan on taking a week or more on Goljan. Also, if you haven't had the chance to go through any review material before doing step 1 prep it is much easier to get through this book for the first time than it is to go through Goljan. In summary, if you only have 3-5 days to study path, choose this book. It is faster and more digestable than rapid review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, August 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alright, fine, I admit it --- I'm one of the med students who didn't like Goljan's Rapid Review Pathology book. After all, how can a 700-page book be considered a "rapid review"? This book is an excellent alternative! For Step 1, I used BRS Pathology exclusively. At a slender 400 pages, I was able to cover the entire book in-depth in a week, and it was just the right amount of information for the boards. The combination of BRS Path, First Aid, and doing practice questions is plenty for the pathology questions on the boards. I got my score report back last month and did very well --- and pathology was my strongest section. Good luck, and happy studying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Review Book for HIGHScore on Step 1, March 24, 2008
An upper classman of mine who scored very high on step 1 revealed to me that he read BRS Pathology many times over during his preparation for Step 1. My game plan was to emulate his study regimen so that I could also score high.
In addition to Fist Aid, and some other review books, I read BRS pathology many many times over during my step 1 preparation. Rather than taking notes, I just sat in bed and read from cover to cover BRS Pathology over and over probably about 10-12 times before taking step 1. I felt a strong command of the material and ended up scoring a 241/97% which I largely attribute to this book. While the reviewer above points out that it is not comprehensive (some small points left out) and there is some redundancy, you will not find a better review for Step 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review book, October 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) (Paperback)
I use this book as an adjunct to the big Robbins pathology and together they are a great combination. The BRS does a grea
t job summariZing the material and is very useful for studying, but is probavbly not sufficient for primary study of pathology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish i read more in details.., August 7, 2010
By 
Yin33 (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) (Paperback)
I just took Step 1 and this book covered almost all of the path questions. This is a great book combined with USMLE World. You definitely need to know the actions of certain oncologic genes, and Cell Cycle genes in detail, and this book covered it all. I regret not reading it thoroughly. I mostly focused on my weak areas because I was running out of time. Definitely a must read cover to cover for step 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRS Pathology, February 11, 2010
By 
MoHaWk2003 (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) (Paperback)
This book is good but you may not want or need to get it if you already have Goljan's Pathology since it covers similar information. I'm a big reader though, which is why I bought it. Questions at the end are good review questions, but probably not indicative of USMLE Step1 questions since they were pretty straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BRS Pathology (Board Review Series)
BRS Pathology (Board Review Series) by Philip A. Szanto MD (Paperback - October 2, 2008)
Used & New from: $4.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.