BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $4.64 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) [Paperback]

Linda S. Costanzo PhD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (72 customer reviews)

Buy New
$43.06 & FREE Shipping. Details
Rent
$16.97 - $17.00
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
In Stock.
Want it Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $47.03  
Paperback $43.06  
There is a newer edition of this item:
BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) BRS Physiology (Board Review Series)
$47.01
In Stock.

Book Description

July 30, 2010 0781798760 978-0781798761 Fifth, North American Edition
Written by highly regarded physiology professor Linda S. Costanzo, this revised Fifth Edition provides an excellent physiology review for students preparing for the USMLE Step 1. The book concisely covers key physiology principles and includes clinical correlations to emphasize connections between physiology and clinical medicine.

  • NEW! Full-color design, flow charts, illustrations, and tables that summarize information for convenient review
  • Each chapter is written in the popular Board Review Series (BRS) outline format and features bolded key terms to streamline your study
  • Over 350 USMLE-style questions, answers, and rationales both electronically and in print reinforce your physiology review
  • A FREE companion website offers an online E-book and an interactive question bank with all the questions from the book so you can customize your review tests!

Frequently Bought Together

BRS Physiology (Board Review Series) + First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2014 (First Aid Series) + Rapid Review Pathology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 4e
Price for all three: $129.44

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Series: Board Review Series
  • Paperback: 328 pages
  • Publisher: LWW; Fifth, North American Edition edition (July 30, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0781798760
  • ISBN-13: 978-0781798761
  • Product Dimensions: 10 x 7 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (72 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #11,695 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent review for physiology subject exams May 25, 2011
By Billy W
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
After taking an entire year of physiology, this book is a great way to supplement medical students for the Physiology subject exam but not sufficient in and of itself. I suggest going through physical diagnosis questions ESPECIALLY those pertaining to cardiac exam/auscultation because the national boards seemed to love asking questions about murmur types, where to listen, and extra systolic heart sounds. There is enough clinical correlates and enough detail in this book to deal with the pathophysiology questions that come up.
Was this review helpful to you?
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great companion text for medical physiology June 30, 2011
By james
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
i tended to read thru the pertinent chapters from this text before i started a new unit in medical physio and found it immensely helpful. helps you weed out which formulae/schematics/etc are really important and which ones no MD would ever care to know.

obviously it won't be super heavy on clinical correlates or anything, but that's a minor issue with a course like physiology. EVERYTHING relates clinically

there's a reason why all the M2s and M3s told me to get this book. now i understand.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
By CRich
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It's mind-blowing how much unnecessary detail goes into most med school lectures on physiology, especially once you read a book like this that hits the high points in a fraction of the time. Practice questions are very helpful and there are lots of them. Highly recommend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
For those of you that have used and read this book, which irrefutably is a necessity in anyone's bag of weapons regarding Step 1, it's fairly easy to attest and conclude that this book is hands down the most well written BRS ever written. It's as if Dr. Costanzo is right there, tutoring you, every step of the way. Very few books are written in a such a matter. Bottom line, I'd endorse this book over a 10 banger R8 any day. And I'm sorry to say, but if you don't take advantage of the priceless information this book contains, nothing personal, but you're an idiot. And I say that not out of arrogance, quite the opposite, rather due to immeasurable gratitude I have for Dr. C. I was fortunate to not only have and use this resource, but at the school I attended we had a board review course, as most schools do, however the professor of that class was the highly respected, world renown Dr. C herself. Yeah, that's a true definition of honor. In fact she was one of the main reasons why I ended up going to that school (relax I only had two to choose from). Dr C. will always remain the internationally recognized Queen of physiology. Believe me, purchasing this book to be added to your list of usmle resources is probably the easiest decision u could ever make. And should you be in a position where u can't afford it, add a follow up comment with your email and I'll get in touch. I have three copies i believe and would be happy to help out. Step 1 is nearly 50% physiology, and this combined with first aid and qbank I guarantee is the only recipe to annihilate that section and show it who's daddy. Gluck!
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
SHORT REVIEW:

PROS:
- very concise and easy to understand - high yield stuff here people. High yield stuff.
- goes into perfect amount of depth for board study
- great for use as a reference tool to complement first aid
~ (hint: some first aid chapters do a sucky job on phys - take notes in your FA copy from BRS in these chapters)
- just as great for use as review tool when studying for classes
- one thing that is over looked is the size - it's relatively small and very easy to tote around
- organization is great
~ (both in terms of the actual way the material is presented and in terms of aesthetics - very visually pleasing)

CONS:
- if you're looking for a lot of depth and detailed mechanisms, not your book
- could definitely use more figures.
- the practice questions are mostly first order and do not reflect the difficulty of board questions
~ (but that's what UWorld or kaplan qbank is for)

LONG REVIEW:

I really like this book and use it a lot for studying, both for boards and for classes. I'm taking my step 1 (USMLE) in about 4 months, so as I do board study, I like to refer to BRS phys for topics that I need refreshing on. It's great as a quick reference for when you need a memory jog on certain phys subjects. For example, when you get a qbank/Uworld question about the difference between a ventricular action potential and an SA nodal action potential and your like "omg, I forgot everything I ever knew about how the heart works," you can pull this thing out and easily find this (pg 70-71 btw).

I also find it very helpful for classes. I like to read through a new subject in BRS before we start that subject in class, or before I start studying for it.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive physiology review May 10, 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I stand very impressed with this review text. I was able to pair it with Guyton and Boron for a flawless presentation of medical physiology. It incredibly well organized with no missing information and it seems to bridge a lot of the larger, medical physiology text books (as mentioned earlier). This is an invaluable tool when mastering the basic sciences. If you ever have to run through case studies, this can be used as a reference alone. Cheers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars The best book on review
Great book to study basic concepts on phisiology. Clear and objective helps to see a lot of subjects in a few hours.
Published 1 month ago by André Gomes de Oliveira
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the best!
You won't find a book with better explanations, better images, or more concise, high-yield associations. I love the way the text already has some important words bolded. Read more
Published 1 month ago by F.u.Louie
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy with my purchase
This product was delivered promptly and in pristine condition.
Thus far its been an excellent memory refresher on physiology. The concepts are kept concise and easy to grasp. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Chinenye E.
5.0 out of 5 stars BRS Physio
A great product! Especially for those that need a quick refresher in physio. Small book so it makes very convenient to toss it in a backpack.
Published 2 months ago by Veerendra Jadhav
5.0 out of 5 stars USMLE preparation
This book has comprehensive review for Physiology. The material is written in points rather than texts with reasonable amount of pictures.
Published 2 months ago by Aldoukhi Ali
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation
Excellent for the medical students who prepare themself to pass USMLE.Its content is brilliant,and blows my mind.I totally recommend it.
Published 3 months ago by Daniel
5.0 out of 5 stars Best physiology review book.
I had the old edition and south Asian edition before this. Great for USMLE step 1 prep. Paper is too glossy for my taste but other than that no complaints.
Published 3 months ago by disgruntled
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for med school and boards
The only other book I had with my First AID step 1, along with uworld, scored 99th%. Highly recommend. But questions questions questions
Published 3 months ago by Brandon N
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have
I bought this book for step 1 and I'm so glad I did! The information is great. I took off the binding of the book and put the chapters with their respective subject. Read more
Published 5 months ago by cculbr00
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source
Linda Costanzo, the Physiology Goddess has done it again with this BRS Physiology masterpiece. It contains the most relevant cases and the detailed answers to each case in a... Read more
Published 5 months ago by Kat
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 




Look for Similar Items by Category