Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast for Movie Lovers!
I have been waiting for a quality release of Babette's Feast for several years, and now my wish has been wonderfully granted! With newly restored video and audio, along with a new English subtitle translation, Babette's Feast has finally gotten the attention this wonderful film deserves!

For those who do not know, this is the story of a French housekeeper in a...
Published 17 months ago by Douglas Coleman

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh SOOO) SLOW
Oh soooooooooo slow The only thing good about it was the dinner sequence.It's been years sence the last time i saw it. I thought the movie was in english-no sub titles.
Published 8 months ago by gary a shaw


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feast for Movie Lovers!, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been waiting for a quality release of Babette's Feast for several years, and now my wish has been wonderfully granted! With newly restored video and audio, along with a new English subtitle translation, Babette's Feast has finally gotten the attention this wonderful film deserves!

For those who do not know, this is the story of a French housekeeper in a remote Danish village. She works for two sisters who live together, the daughters of the founder of a fundamentalist religious sect. When Babette learns she has won a great deal of money she decides to celebrate with a feast for the members of the sect. This feast provides the setting for the great contrasts the movie explores: asceticism versus indulgence, grace versus law, friendship versus suspicion, mercy versus righteousness. At the wonderful hospitality of Babette's table we experience not only great food but also the way that these contrasts might live in harmony. We experience, in other words, the miracle that men and women might learn to dwell together in peace and love through the simple acts of giving, sacrifice, and the choice to enjoy life.

This is a feast for the eyes as well as the heart. Enjoy the meal!

This Blu-Ray release includes the following features (taken from the Criterion Collection webpage):
-New 2K digital film restoration, with 2.0 surround DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack on the Blu-ray edition
-New interview with actor Stéphane Audran
-Karen Blixen: Storyteller, a 1995 documentary about the author of the film's source story, who wrote under the pen name Isak Dinesen
-New visual essay by filmmaker Michael Almereyda
-New interview with sociologist Priscilla Parkhurst Ferguson about the significance of cuisine in French culture
-Trailer
-New and improved English subtitle translation
-PLUS: A booklet featuring an essay by film scholar Mark Le Fanu and Dinesen's 1950 story

(Edit and Update)
Having now received and seen the Criterion Bluray, I can say with all excitement that this is exactly what I'd hoped it would be! Babette's Feast shines with the Criterion treatment, with the picture, sound, and extras (including the packaging) everything you might expect from them. This is a quality release of a movie that continues to charm me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The international favorite is in good hands!, August 8, 2013
By 
K. Reynolds (Norfolk, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS IS NOT a movie about food. It is not a movie about religion either, although the story revolves around a pair of sisters who belong to a strict, Puritanical sect.

"It's true that food is important, but there's a nourishment in a spiritual sense," actress Stéphane Audran, who plays Babette, says in the 2012 interview on this new Criterion edition.

It is "a film that advocates love from start to finish," director/scriptwriter Gabriel Axel agrees in his 2013 interview. For him, the most important thing was to capture Karen Blixen's voice.

Who is Karen Blixen? She is the woman who wrote the story published in 1950 under the pen name Isak Dinesen. Axel says the charming fable was recommended by his wife. But, when he tried to get financing for making it, he was roundly turned down.

It took over 15 years - and seven Oscar wins for a movie about Dinesen, "Out of Africa," (1985) - before producers agreed to finance "Babette's Feast." Shot in Jutland in Denmark, it became an Oscar winner for 1988 Best Foreign Film and just about every other classy international award that year.

The story takes place in a bleak coastal village, where two aging sisters, Martine (Birgitte Federspiel) and Fillipa (Bodil Kjer), care for the remainder of their minister father's elderly and quarrelsome followers. Both were beauties in their younger years, and, through flashbacks, we see how both gave up marriage opportunities to stay with their father.

Skip ahead 35 years and we find the minister has passed on. One evening, a woman appears at the door with a letter from one of the former suitors. Babette is a refugee from the French civil war (Hello, fans of "Les Misérables," 2012); she needs a home. Would the ladies consider taking her on as a maid?

They do and, soon, Babette is cleaning and cooking. This goes on for more than 10 years until the day comes when the sisters plan to celebrate what would have been their father's 100th birthday - and Babette wins the French lottery, 10,000 francs. Certain the woman who has grown to be an irreplaceable friend will now leave, they agree to let Babette use her winnings to put on the birthday feast as a thank you for their kindness.

Still, Martine, Fillipa, and the disciples fear they may be heading into a witch's Sabbath as Babette's exotic supplies arrive. But a promise is a promise, and to this symbolic Last Supper, they must go. That's where the not-to-be-missed culmination of the tale takes place.

Criterion presents "Babette's Feast" on Blu-ray using a new 2K digital transfer and it looks sublime. Axel tells us he was, "inspired by Vermeer's palette ... all the colors of the earth ... with nothing to distract from what was essential." Color is rich and varied, gradually shifting from a soft gray and blue palette to rich jewel colors as the feast takes place. Detail and film grain are perfect for this production.

The multilingual soundtrack - Danish and French with English subtitles - has been upgraded to a DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 track. Dialogue, music and score come through cleanly with a reasonable amount of range.

In addition to the interviews, the disc provides a 90-minute, 1995 documentary, "Karen Blixen - Story Teller." "Table Scraps" tell us about making and filming the feast. In her interview, Audran describes how it was also prepared and served during the film's promotional tour and Oscar campaign. Meals in New York and Los Angeles were sublime. "Americans like to get it right," she says.

"An Artist of the Everyday" presents a 2013 interview with sociology professor Priscilla Parkhurst Ferguson, about the importance of "cuisine" to the French identity and to "Babette's Feast." Criterion has also packed in a 64 page booklet with an essay by Mark Le Fanu and Blixen's original story.

No matter the nationality, from America to Denmark, viewers share a profound reaction to "Babette's Feast," Axel tells us.

He is right. This is a loving tribute to anyone who has experienced some ups and downs in their life, and brings something new with each viewing. Don't miss it.

-- Kay Reynolds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tortoise Wins The Race / But Also Gets Eaten, July 23, 2013
By 
Gregg T. Lamm (Newberg, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In the old story "The Tortoise And The Hare" you probably remember that the tortoise, despite all odds and all expectations, wins the race. "Babette's Feast" is like that story. It's slow (but never boring), it's plodding (but never tedious), it's intentional (but never obvious). Filming a classic Danish short-story about a religious order whose piety stops just short of becoming a cult, centering on the two unmarried daughters of the group's long-deceased founder, whose decades-long compassion is only outdone by their ability to turn bread and fish into an edible stew, and including a mysterious houseguest and then friend, whose secret when revealed will not only stun, but bless, is no doubt easier said than done. But it's all magically pulled off in this beautiful film.

When I first read this short-story by author Karen Blixen-Isak Dinesen in the 1970s I loved it. When I first heard the short-story read aloud on cassette tape by Colleen Dewhurst in the 1980s I loved it. When I first saw the short-story on film in 1987 by director Gabriel Alex I loved it. And now, what a joy it is to see this Academy Award winning film on BluRay Disc, in glorious high definition, and with new and improved subtitles. My VHS tape copy of this film is the only one I couldn't bring myself to pass onto Goodwill through the years -- even though it's been years since I've owned a VCR. But now it can go.

The story begins long ago when the two daughters of the man who founded this religious order (no sign of their mother) were young women -- and then it picks up much later, when the interwoven stories of their faith, their daily lives, and their loves come back full-circle in ways that lead more to gratitude than to regret. Yes it's slow, but to tell this story any other way would be like trying to make a souffle in a Suzy Homemaker Easy Bake Oven. And even though in the old story, the tortoise won the race, in this short-story and film, the tortoise also gets turned into a delicious soup! I guess you can't win them all. Eat some Danish crepes, pour yourself some good, strong, black Danish coffee, and then watch this film! You will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Babette, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I saw "Babette's Feast" many years ago and loved it. To be honest, I have not seen this particular DVD. (A friend was so eager to see it that it's been out on loan to her for several weeks.) Fortunately, it arrived encased with a pair of booklets, one of which is the text of the original novella. So I did read it, for the first time. The film, as I remember it, is extremely faithful to the story. But for once, I liked the film even better. It (the DVD) does such a beautiful job of showing the poignancy and the feast's guests emergence form their life-long gloom. Babette's ultimate fate is left somewhat up in the air; but that is not the subject of the story. The ending is appropriate--consistent with the author's intent and not unsatisfying. The second booklet--on "the making of"--explains why the setting was changed from Norway to Denmark. It doesn't seem to make a lot of difference. The scenes are dimly lit in either case. "Babette's Feast" is a story of religious faith and miracles and love. Watch it with a very open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Criterion!, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
. What a great movie! Actually nothing happens but much happens. If you describe it you would say a maid cooks a great meal for
two women who were good to her. But it is so much more as we delve into the back stories of the two sisters and some of the dinner guests.

The blu ray edition is beautifully done and there are fine bonus features including a new interview with Stephane Audran. The pieces on Karen Blixen are also worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful movie; a moving story, September 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
This is one of the best movies I've seen and the upgrade is terrific. The characters are realistic and you love them and dislike them in equal amounts. The sisters seem pathetic almost throughout the story but their strength props them up in the end and, of course, they survive nicely. But it is Babette who prevails, and we know she will continue to, even though she has nothing left but her own great talent and her memories of her life in Paris and of her feast on the island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babette's Feast, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I saw the movie several years ago and was really taken with the depth and spiritual quality of the story. With the reissue of the movie I snatched it right up. I also appreciated the printed story included with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favorites!, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
I enjoy foreign films and this one is one of the best. Superb story and top-notch acting. I've watched it many times over the years and just bought the new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Babette's Feast film reconsidered!, July 30, 2013
This review is from: Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Thanks for the Criterion new 2K digital film restoration and new English translation/subtitling. This is such an excellent format. The film won many accolades from the time it was released to the present. Now,
because of this new transfer, we may appreciate an aspect of the original hitherto unavailable.

Often, there is a problem confronting the subtitler, with the loss of information because of the ineptitude
of the translator. This is a superlative production all-around!

An excellent synopsis of this classic cinema appears above.

This film is one of a kind!

Dag Stomberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful transfer to Blu-Ray, September 24, 2013
By 
David W. Jones (Palatine, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is for the Blu-ray transfer only and not the film itself. The Blu-ray version of Babette's Feast is a feast for the eyes. The restoration and transfer were done properly, and the result is praiseworthy. Crisp details; good color saturation; realistic flesh tones; deep blacks, etc. There are a few artifacts at the beginning of the movie, during the title sequence. But they are the exception. Apart from a grainy scene or two in lowlight conditions, the movie has just the right amount of film grain. The soundtrack is also improved over the DVD version. It has been scrubbed clean of hisses and pops. This is what a Blu-ray transfer of an older movie should look and sound like.

If you are considering an upgrade from DVD, it is totally worth it. Thank you, Criterion, for giving us an outstanding version of this excellent film.

BTW, the package includes a 60+ page booklet with a critic's take on the film, along with the complete short story by Karen Blixen, on which the script was based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection)
Babette's Feast (Criterion Collection) by Gabriel Axel (DVD - 2013)
$29.95 $19.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.