Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devereaux is one of the best out there
Some writers push the envelope. Others take the envelope, shred it, spit on it, beat it to a pulp and then make love to whatever's left. Robert Devereaux is at the forefront of the second group. Cerebral, fearless, brutal, gory, poignant and unique, Devereaux's work is unlike anything else out there and this book, his latest release with Deadite Press, holds a position...
Published on September 9, 2011 by Gabino Iglesias

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A G-Rated Review of an X-Rated Book
I found Robert Deveraux's new short story collection "Baby's First Book of Seriously (Amazon Will Not Allow Me To Complete The Title Even Though They Have No Qualms About Selling Said Title)" by way of horror master Brian Keene's move to Deadite Press publishing. Deadite is making a big push into the horror niche market and Deveraux is deffinitly one of their spotlight...
Published on October 1, 2011 by NJMetal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devereaux is one of the best out there, September 9, 2011
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
Some writers push the envelope. Others take the envelope, shred it, spit on it, beat it to a pulp and then make love to whatever's left. Robert Devereaux is at the forefront of the second group. Cerebral, fearless, brutal, gory, poignant and unique, Devereaux's work is unlike anything else out there and this book, his latest release with Deadite Press, holds a position near the top of my list when it comes to the best books I've read since January.

"Baby's..." is a marvelously weird collection of nine tales that will make you laugh, gag, cringe, moan and, most importantly, think. Devereaux has a keen eye for the bizarre, a outrageously innovative mind and a prose that rivals any other literary figure out there. In fact, fans of mainstream literature will be challenged by the author's prowess: this book truly engages the brain. As an added bonus, sex, strangeness and violence serve as the underlying themes for almost every story.

Here's a look at the nine stories in the book:

1. "Showdown at Stinking Springs" is a sexy, over-the-top wild west tale that reads like a legend told around a campfire. The narrative, which goes back and forth between past and present, is sprinkled with enough sex to be considered deliciously pornographic and the inevitable humor and charm that come from Kyle Hardwick, the most likeable old man any woman has ever met, makes this tale a treat with a great ending.

2. "Clap If You Believe" is a bizarre, funny and bittersweet love story that answers the question of Tinkerbell's love life and offers a smart glimpse into the psyche of men. After reading it, you'll never again think of Tinkerbell as a cute thing with wings in a children's story.

3. "Ridi Bobo" is a poetic, bloody tale of death and love that proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that clowns are just as sad, creepy, violent and deceiving as you think they are. Devereaux's prose cuts like a penknife in this one.

4. "Li'l Miss Ultrasound" is easily one of my favorite stories in the book and a masterfully-written critique of everything beauty pageants stand for. While the idea of in utero beauty contests might turn some folks away from this tale, the writing is more than worth your time and overcoming any preconceived notions you might have about such a story. In this narrative, dressed up preemies, backstabbing mothers-to-be and an amazing plethora of psychological and physical perversions wrap around a critique that's as hard as it is accurate.

5. "Bucky Goes To Church" is one of the most distressing religious stories you'll ever read. Devereaux's writing manages to convey pain and desperation with such precision that I wouldn't be surprised if you need to take a break after reading this one. Brutal, bloody, aggressive and ethereal, the story somehow manages to make a lot of sense and makes even the most agnostic reader chuckle and wonder.

6. "Fructus In Eden" fits perfectly after "Bucky Goes To Church." The tale puts a sexy, dangerous spin on the story of Adam and Eve and humanizes God to a wonderful degree. Get ready for a threesome of universe-shaking proportions.

7. "One Flesh: A Cautionary Tale" is a perfect read for anyone that, like me, enjoys psychological thrillers and non fiction books on serial killers. A father and son team locked inside a body that's their own blood and with a craving for women they can't have makes for a perfect story full of gore and interchanged body parts.

8. "The Slobbering Tongue That Ate The Frightfully Huge Woman" reads like wild, sexier, mad-scientist-had-an-accident version of "Attack of the 50 Foot Woman." This is simply a tonguetastic, bikini-popping read that's as fun as it is original.

9. "Holy Fast, Holy Feast" is probably the longest and most literary story in the collection. Between sex, enlightenment and cannibalism, this last story's eerie atmosphere will stay with you after you're done with it.

Robert Devereaux is simply one of the best writers working the strange side of literature today and this impeccable tome shows that Deadite Press is the go-to place for the best in cult horror. You should go get it right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a wildly vivid imagination....couldn't put it down, yet wanted to cause it felt so wrong to keep reading. WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, messed up, creative and fun., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I made some disparaging remarks about toddlers in tiaras online and Robert Devereaux suggested I read his short story, "Little Miss Ultrasound." So, I bought this book to do that. The story in question nicely illustrates the absurdity of the industry by taking the idea to its extreme conclusion. In fact, most of the stuff in this book does the same thing. Mr. Devereaux has a knack for finding the absurd, the darkly ridiculous in whatever situation he's exploring. His characters are believable people with real emotions, so when the unreal barges in, the reader takes it in stride. This collection is sexy, gut-wrenching, disturbing and occasionally beautiful.
The stuff in here is effed-up, no doubt about it, but it's far from sh*t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is as f***ed up as they come, July 29, 2012
By 
Craig Meikle "Craig" (San Jose, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
This is a collection of short stories that are are all weird, and, as the title suggests, seriously f***ed up. Stories vary from: two epitomes of sexual appeal f***ing a town to dust, an prebirth fetal beauty pageant, a giant woman-devouring tongue, and other equally messed up, but entertaining stories. There is no decency or subtlety in this book, and it's awfully fun to see just how far it goes. There's a deep depravity within these pages that you won't find anywhere else.

Don't get me wrong, though, this isn't just a book of senseless shocks. These stories do have some interesting characters and plots. The stories are all really short, but you'll certainly like the characters for that length of time.

As with all Bizarro books, disregard any beliefs and realities, and be ready to go to whatever far-reaching places this book will take you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title is Not Kidding, January 10, 2012
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
I'll be honest: with a title like that, I'd have probably bought this book regardless of author or plot summary. Fortunately, this collection comes from the wickedly brilliant mind of Robert Devereaux, whose penchant for literate, taboo-shattering fiction is well-represented in these nine tales.

Whether it's the Biblical fable "Fructus in Eden," the B-movie parody "The Slobbering Tongue That Ate the Frightfully Huge Woman," or the pornographic tall tale "Showdown in Stinking Springs," Devereaux plunges head-first into scenes of shocking violence and even more shocking sex to explore the often unpleasant truths of the human condition (one story, "Li'l Miss Ultrasound," contains a fetish that went beyond the pale for even this hardened horror connoisseur; consider that a warning or a recommendation, whichever's appropriate). Devereaux's lush, distinctive voice elevates the material above a mere gross-out--there's a genuine spiritual quest here.

Including such classics as the dementedly funny "Bucky Goes to Church" and "Ridi Bobo" (a noir-flavored tale of clown adultery), BABY'S FIRST BOOK not only lives up to its title, but offers up a succulent transgressive feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart horror, July 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
This collection of nine stories is far more than the splatter porn that much of today's horror consists of. These stories, while not all classic "horror", have a sense of thrill and twisted logic that will unsettle your stomach.

Yes, there's gore. Yes, there's sex. But there's also clown detectives. Angst in Eden. Giant tongues and even larger women. Fetus fashion shows.

I went into this expecting it to be similar to other Deadite releases, such as splatter kings Wrath James White and Edward Lee. But if you want something that is a little off-putting even compared to them, check out Devereaux's collection. You won't be disappointed.

Favorites include "Clap If You Believe" and "The Slobbering Tongue That Ate the Frightfully Huge Woman".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast of bizarro horror/comedy with bite, November 5, 2011
By 
Ash_Lomen (Covington, LA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
Robert Devereaux is a very sick man. I love him for it. This is balls-to-the-wall horror, raw and bloody, and comedy with a black, black heart... but a good heart. Perhaps I am sick too. Perhaps this book made me sick. It was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazing, October 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
Not for the weak of hearts...By the way, why are other sellers selling this for 900+ bucks? Unless those copies are somehow special, nobody would want to buy a book for 900 dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A G-Rated Review of an X-Rated Book, October 1, 2011
By 
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
I found Robert Deveraux's new short story collection "Baby's First Book of Seriously (Amazon Will Not Allow Me To Complete The Title Even Though They Have No Qualms About Selling Said Title)" by way of horror master Brian Keene's move to Deadite Press publishing. Deadite is making a big push into the horror niche market and Deveraux is deffinitly one of their spotlight writers. I purchased the book on title alone, how could you not?

Deveraux's writing chops are deffinitly there. His mind is a dark and twisted place when left to run wild. Some of the places he explores in this ten story collection are truely bizzare. The dark horror blends perfectly with the bizarro themes as well to set a unique mood to the overall collection. The plots are genius, yet most seem to end abruptly.

That is where my contentions with the book lies. Nearly every story starts off brilliant and well developed. Practically every story could have been developed further into a more richer, fuller story. Yet the endings seem to just drop off suddenly and come to a quick end. This makes them seem somehow forced to conclusion. I felt there was more in the stories to be told.

The good outweighs the bad though and I intend to read Deveraux again. Given this is a short story collection and my first jaunt with the writer I feel the chops are deffinitly there for me to further enjoy. He has a reasonable catalog of full scale novels. Check out Robert Deveraux and the rest of the twisted minds at Deadite Press!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baby's First Is The Best!, July 3, 2011
By 
This review is from: Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit (Paperback)
This book is a collection of 9 short stories. These include:

Showdown at Stinking Springs: An old man tells a tale of a town and it's demise at the hands of two "lovers".
Clap If You Believe: A story of a pixie and the man she loves.
Ridi Bobo: The life of a clown and his cheating clown wife.
Li'l Miss Ultrasound: Beauty pageants that are held for unborn fetuses.
Bucky Goes to Church: A tormented young boy sets out to get revenge on all those that have caused him pain.
Fructus in Eden: A "retelling" of the story of Adam and Eve.
One Flesh: A Cautionary Tale: A father and son are reincarnated and want to be with those they love and set out to do it in the most horrible way.
The Slobbering Tongue That Ate Frightfully Huge Woman: A giant tongue searches for a giant woman. Enough said.
Holy Fast, Holy Feast: Not sure how to explain this one. Zombies? Lots of strange stuff happens.

While all the stories in this book are great, my favories were Ridi Bobo as it is one of the most outrageous stories I have read in a while only in the way things are described and explained. Hilarious! You will never look at clowns the same way again. Bucky goes to Church was, in a word "WOW!". This story is worth the price of admission itself. I still cannot get this one out of my head. Really leaves you thinking. One Flesh was another well conceived story. A father and son that you won't soon forget. Holy Fast, Holy Feast is just twisted as much for how it is written as for what it is about.

All of the stories are loaded with either tons of violence, gore and/or sex. So if this isn't your cup of tea, you may want to avoid this book. If however you love your stories bizarre, violent, and (sometimes) funny you cannot go wrong in
making the purchase. Robert Devereaux delivers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit
Baby's First Book of Seriously Fucked-Up Shit by Robert Devereaux (Paperback - March 14, 2011)
$10.95
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.