Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach's wifes' collection of her favorite pieces
Yes Music of JS Bach chosen by his wife who was a singer. This collection is a lovely and beautifully performed collection of harpicord and intimate pieces that were Anna's most cherished favorites composed by her husband. What a lovely addition to any chamber music lovers collection. It affords not only wonderful selections but a rare window into the behind the scenes...
Published on June 9, 2001 by Amazon Customer gracies mom

versus
23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lovely music, but . . . . .
No one doubts that Bach's music is beautiful, and so many of the pieces in this album, favorites of his second wife, are lovely. Here are my objection. First of all, nowhere on the outside of this CD does this indicate that these are only *highlights* of the Anna Magdelena notebook. Furthermore, many of the tracks (from French Suites #1 & #2, from the Well-Tempered...
Published on July 2, 2007 by Michael P. McGarry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach's wifes' collection of her favorite pieces, June 9, 2001
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
Yes Music of JS Bach chosen by his wife who was a singer. This collection is a lovely and beautifully performed collection of harpicord and intimate pieces that were Anna's most cherished favorites composed by her husband. What a lovely addition to any chamber music lovers collection. It affords not only wonderful selections but a rare window into the behind the scenes aspect of Bachs life and the commanding role music played in his and his family's life. The performances range from delicate to sublime and are beautifully recorded. It is an amazing bargin to have such an esoteric collection of Bachs' work so well done and so cheap. My god run and get the whole series; I have and when I want a perfect day I just pile them in my CD and press the forward button. The result is a day of glorious music on a scale to be both background as well as a breathtakingly elegant listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and beautiful, December 12, 2004
By 
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
This CD is a collection of music from the notebook of Bach's wife, who was a singer. It includes dances, arias and other favorite songs. Most of the pieces range from peppy little dance tunes(like Musette in A Major) to delicate baroque airs (like Prelude no.1), all played on the harpsichord, clavichord or cello. The pieces that really stand out are the arias, sung beautifully by Lorraine Hunt Lieberson in German. Most are religious, but there is one that is a nice love song "Willst du mein Herz mir schenken." The website on the back of the liner notes has the lyrics for the arias and they are worth reading. Besides the fact that this is good music, it also provides interesting insight into Bach's life and family and the liner notes have some interesting information about Anna and her notebook. This is a charming collection of music that is a great and cheap addition to any classical music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anna Magdalena Notebook-- a treasure trove of Baroque music, March 19, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
This is music for contemplating number and time and not realize you are doing that. These pieces from Anna Magdalena Bach's notebook are a significant part of the history of western culture, and the music is brilliant, lucid, and passionate. Just as, I suppose, Bach's wife was. Played on harpsichord and clavichord, the work-- not all by Bach-- seems rigourously, mysteriously modern, and the anonymous "Musette in A Major" one could even say had in it the roots of ragtime piano. Last but not least, it's quite possible that Lorraine Hunt Lieberson can never be less than sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Bach's Katy, March 31, 2005
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
Luther had his Katy who supported him and the Reformation magnificently and faithfully. Bach who was real student and follower of Luther's, had his second wife, Anna Magdalena who was so much for him and his family and music.

Here great notebook of the music she enjoyed immensely so we can as well.

Especially fond of harpsichord music, this has marvelous selection of that, but fond of Rondeau in B-flat major. Minuet in G major is one of my favorites. New to me are the Arias, especially "Bist du bei mir" and ""Ich habe genug". If you're not conversant in German, do go on the website the liner notes provides and get the translation in English for these are marvelous testimonies of their faith in words and song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lovely music, but . . . . ., July 2, 2007
By 
Michael P. McGarry (Berkeley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
No one doubts that Bach's music is beautiful, and so many of the pieces in this album, favorites of his second wife, are lovely. Here are my objection. First of all, nowhere on the outside of this CD does this indicate that these are only *highlights* of the Anna Magdelena notebook. Furthermore, many of the tracks (from French Suites #1 & #2, from the Well-Tempered Clavier, from the Goldberg Variations) are pieces I already own in high quality recording by virtuosi. This CD does not limit itself, say, to pieces that Bach composed originally for this collection; in other words, there is nothing scholarly about the pieces that were chosen for these highlights. Rather, it is essentially selling a "Bach's Greatest Hits" kind of CD under a more respectable name. For those whose classical collections consist primarily of "Greatest Hits" collections of various composers, you might as well toss in this CD. For the discriminating collector, though, interested in collecting serious works by Bach, this CD is entirely unworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach CD, February 15, 2008
By 
Cliff "Cliff" (Mojave Desert, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD. It has good volume and works well at home or in a vehicle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bach - Anna Magdalena Bach Notebook (highlights) / Hunt-Liberson, McGegan
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.