Prime Music

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

Buy New

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$13.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.00 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Bach - A Musical Offering / The Kuijken Ensemble, Leipzig (2001)

J.S. Bach , Robert Kohnen  |  NR |  DVD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

List Price: $19.99
Price: $16.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $3.00 (15%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, Oct. 22? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Bach - A Musical Offering / The Kuijken Ensemble, Leipzig + J.S. Bach and C.P.E. Bach: Ascension Oratorios
Price for both: $35.95

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Actors: J.S. Bach, Robert Kohnen, Barthold Kuijken
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Classical, Color, Dolby, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: EuroArts
  • DVD Release Date: June 20, 2006
  • Run Time: 53 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B000FGGK94
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #301,819 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

The Kuijken Ensemble performs against the backdrop of Leipzig's Altes Rathaus.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Old Men Play an Old Man's Music September 12, 2007
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
Make no mistake about my title for this review: OLD is not a pejorative. OLD is wise, knowledgeable, and reflective. As Mr. Birman points out in the previous review, Bach was 62 when he undertook this most strenuous compositional challenge. The three Kuijken Brothers -- Grimm, Greyhair, and Gnarl -- are old in years and old in their art, and this DVD reveals them as both. Their performance of the Musikalisches Opfer is fiercely intellectual and icily beautiful. Other performances will be more courtly, more emotional, more sensual in turn; I've never heard a capable performance of this work that didn't surprise me with something new.

Do not, however, choose this DVD to introduce the Musical Offering to an uninitiated listener. It's very austere, watching four old men sit formally and play without physical affect for an audience of chiefly elderly Germans in a setting without much charm or warmth. You may ask, therefore, why the DVD format is appropriate at all? That's an unanswered question in my mind. The music is what matters, and that's up to your ears. It's interesting, nonetheless, to see the earnest craftsmen at work, to behold the aura of high seriousness they shed as they play.
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach as a family affair June 29, 2006
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
The Kuijken family (the brothers Barthold on transverse flute, Sigiswald on violin and Wieland on viola da gamba) are well known musicians and ensemble directors from Belgium whose forte is Baroque and Classical era music played on authentic instruments. One of the ironies of our period instruments era is that putative authentic instruments are often modern reproductions while the much despised "modern" instruments are often one hundred year old (or more) originals. So the entire matter of authenticity is often reduced to a question of string or reed type and musical technique. Authenticity in music is truly a chimera with the matter much debated to this day. On this splendid (though abbreviated) DVD, the Brothers Kuijken are assisted by Robert Kohnen on harpsichord in a fine performance of Bach's Musical Offering BWV 1079.

Johann Sebastian had arrived in Potsdam on 7 May 1747 after a lengthy (two days and a night) and difficult journey from Leipzig. He was responding to a personal summons from Frederick the Great: the flute playing monarch anxious to hear "Old Bach" improvise upon, properly temper and break-in his large collection of organs, clavichords and harpsichords. It was a selfish Royal summons for Bach was 62, quite elderly for the time, and ill. His sight was failing and, sadly, he had only 3 years to live. But the King was the employer of Bach's famous son Carl Philipp Emanuel, chief harpsichordist in Prussia's Royal Kapelle. So that was that. Bach came as summoned. The King had Johann Sebastian come to the palace as soon as he arrived, still in his traveling clothes. Patience was not a kingly virtue in Prussia in 1747. When Bach arrived he was presented with a fiendishly difficult "Royal theme" and asked to improvise upon it. Bach effortlessly produced a three-part fugue.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A musical offering February 19, 2014
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
I enjoy Bach and this video was no exception. The music is beautiful! What I didn't appreciate is some of the performers expressionless faces as they played.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category