Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox com
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Bach: Orgelbüchlein / Christopher Herrick
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Bach: Orgelbüchlein / Christopher Herrick Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, December 6, 1994
"Please retry"

Product Details

  • Performer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Christopher Herrick
  • Audio CD (December 6, 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZV6
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #19,372 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Prayer For Faith: Ich Ruf Zu Dir, Herr Jesus Christ (BWV639)
2. Advent: Gottes Sohn Ist kommen (BWV600)
3. Advent: Nun Komm, Der Heiden Heiland (BWV 599)
4. Advent: Lob Sei Dem Allmachtigen Gott (BWV602)
5. Advent: Herr Christ, Der Ein'ge Gottes Sohn (BWV601)
6. Salvation Through Faith: Es Ist Das Heil Uns Kommen Her (BWV638)
7. Christmas: Gelobet Seist Du, Jesu Christ (BWV604)
8. Christmas: Wir Christenleut (BWV612)
9. Christmas: Lobt Gott, Ihr Christen, Allzugleich (BWV609)
10. Christmas: Jesu, Meine Freude (BWV610)
11. Christmas: Puer Natus In Bethlehem (BWV603)
12. Christmas: Der Tag Der Ist So Freudenreich (BWV605)
13. Christmas: Vom Himmel Kam Der Engel Schar (BWV607)
14. Christmas: Christum Wir Sollen Loben Schon (BWV611)
15. Christmas: In Dulci Jubilo (BWV608)
16. Christmas: Vom Himmel Hoch Da Kjomm Ich Her (BWV606)
17. Before The Sermon: Leibster Jesu, Wir Sind Hier (BWV606)
18. Before The Sermon: Herr Jesu Christ, Dich Zu Uns Wend (BWV632)
19. New Year: Das Alte Jahr Vergangen Ist (BWV614)
20. New Year: Helft Mir Gotts Gute Preisen (BWV613)
See all 45 tracks on this disc

Editorial Reviews

Like most of Bach's greatest keyboard works, the Little Organ Book was designed for teaching through example. It contains 45 tiny chorale preludes, all designed according to the same principle. There are three genuine parts. One line has the hymn tune, which serves as the basis of the prelude, and the other two execute independent figures, which provide a musical analogue to the meaning of the most important lines of the text. Most of them aren't much more than a minute long, but each is simply exquisite. Christopher Herrick plays the complete set with consummate taste, and excellently chosen registrations that keep the polyphony crystal clear. --David Hurwitz

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Mark Swinton on October 9, 2000
Format: Audio CD
J. S. Bach's "Little Organ Book" is among the most useful teaching tools that modern organists can access. A collection of forty-five chorale preludes, each about a minute or two in length, re-composed in his style, it offers an insight into Bach as tutor and improvisor. Each chorale is a wonderfully compact example of his style.
Christopher Herrick plays the whole set, according to a liturgical framework, with marvellous clarity. His chosen instrument, though small, is perfect for the music, which is even further heightened by his choice of registration and his sensitive touch.
The booklet describes the collection as "bewilderingly rich," and 70 minutes of it may seem too much to handle in one hearing, as each one is over almost as soon as it has begun: listening to this disc completely from beginning to end is rather like drinking a large glass of water by taking tiny sips at a time. I find it far better to play chorales in shorter sequences (one such sequence is suggested by the producers, enabling you to listen to the chorales as ordered in Bach's manuscript). Also, that there are forty-five tracks does make for a disadvantage if you are trying to select a particular chorale around the middle of the disc!
Still, this is one of Hyperion's treasures- without any doubt. Beautifully presented, good for casual listeners, even better perhaps for students.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category