Customer Reviews


408 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (64)
1 star:
 (131)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie...do you know how to SEW things?!
I don't know why I'm the only one who likes this move. Dark, brilliant zingers whiz by the audience's heads like darts in Raiders of the Lost Ark, and three flawed to the point of cruel main characters repeatedly get their asses handed to them until they consent to grow up. Who needs traditionally likable, anyway?
Published 17 months ago by Michael J Schwartz

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast, Worth Watching, Has Some Downfalls
On the surface the movie is about three girls who are bridesmaids for one of their friends. The night before the wedding the bridesmaids mess up the bride's dress and have only hours to get it fixed before the wedding. While the movie is a comedy and has some really funny parts, it mostly has very serious undertones. One bridesmaid is a former bulimic and control freak...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie...do you know how to SEW things?!, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
I don't know why I'm the only one who likes this move. Dark, brilliant zingers whiz by the audience's heads like darts in Raiders of the Lost Ark, and three flawed to the point of cruel main characters repeatedly get their asses handed to them until they consent to grow up. Who needs traditionally likable, anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast, Worth Watching, Has Some Downfalls, October 17, 2012
By 
On the surface the movie is about three girls who are bridesmaids for one of their friends. The night before the wedding the bridesmaids mess up the bride's dress and have only hours to get it fixed before the wedding. While the movie is a comedy and has some really funny parts, it mostly has very serious undertones. One bridesmaid is a former bulimic and control freak and upset that her life is not on track, another bridesmaid struggles with drug addiction (coke) and her complicated relationship with an ex, and the last bridesmaid, who also abuses drugs and alcohol, is promiscuous to feel better about herself.

This movie is nothing like Bridesmaids which has a lighter tone and typical SNL humor. Bachelorette's humor is dark, raw and often sexually profane (may be offensive to some). The movie should have been given a different title so it would not be compared to Bridesmaids. They are nothing alike. It seems that the writer's were going more toward an American Pie/Get Him to the Greek type of humor.

On a positive note, the acting is good and all of the lead actresses give it their best with what they had to work with. I enjoyed it enough to be glad that I watched it. It is the type of movie that left me thinking, "wow, that could have been a really good movie with some changes in the writing and screenplay." The characters could have been developed better to make the audience care more about them and their plights. The real gem of this movie is that the characters are "real" girls with "real" problems that many audience members can relate to. The writers could have toned down the coke emphasis which seemed awkward and out of place in this movie...at least for all three main characters. Overall it was still entertaining and the cast made it worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dark version of bridesmaids, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
the movie was outstanding. i laughed so hard i almost peed myself. if you don't watch this, you are seriously missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny., February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a really funny film. The three leads are hilarious and each is unique.
I loved that fact that this is one comedy that doesn't lose it's bite at the end.
The characters stayed true to themselves even as they are changed by their
surroundings. A triumph of indie comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1000x better than Bridesmaids, August 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
This was the first time I've ever purchased a pre-theatrical release on Amazon and I was hesitant about shelling out $10 bucks, but it was well worth it. I really disliked Bridesmaids and thought that the humor was uncouth, the characters weren't likeable or believable. Bachelorette is the opposite of that. I know 20somethings like these girls; girls who are struggling with the past & that affects their current lives, girls who are control freaks because they are unhappy. I could relate to this movie and I thought their hijinks were hilarious. Even their foul humor made sense in the context and wasn't being done just to gross you out. Basically, I'd recommend this movie to someone and I'm glad I purchased this pre-release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
Better than Bridesmaids. Outrageous but relatable characters. I've watched it 20 times drunk and sober and catch new quotes every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny!, February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
First time I used Amazon's streaming rental, great experience and quality!
Movie was funny, liked it better than Bridesmaids. Good movie to hang out with girlfriends with some wine for lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bachelorette takes a No Boundaries Approach to Comedy, September 10, 2013
This review is from: Bachelorette (DVD)
In 2012, the film Bachelorette hit theaters with a well-known cast and a smartly written script, but the reviews were mixed. The film, rated R for sexual content, pervasive language, and drug use, was a long awaited breath of fresh air in the world of black comedy. While films of this genre tend to receive both good and bad reviews due to the varied content, Bachelorette kept a fast pace and hysterical dialogue that kept me enthralled and rolling with laughter. The movie had some very real moments as well. The characters were written with true and apparent flaws that hit a little too close to home for some. That is the purpose of black comedy: using a wicked sense of humor to blatantly point out what is wrong with certain facets of society.

The beauty of Bachelorette lies in the history of the characters: girls in their late twenties who have been friends since high school. In their younger years, they were the popular clique of the school, the "B-Faces," but their lives have each spiraled down in horrible ways. Two of the girls never went to college after high school. Dark haired Gena, played by Lizzie Caplan, doubted herself every step of the way after high school and ended up hopping from dead-end job to dead-end job. Katie, played by Isla Fisher, is a beautiful but somewhat dim-witted redhead who has found a way to survive on retail jobs and deadbeat boyfriends. Regan, played by Kirsten Dunst, is the blond-haired leader of the girls. While she attended college and has a successful career, she is miserable and high-strung.

At some point in high school, these bullies of the girl world made the surprising decision to let Becky, nicknamed "Pig Face," join their clique. This character, played by Rebel Wilson, is a heavyset girl with a silly sense of humor who retains a sensitive side from her younger years. The movie is centered on her wedding. The opening scene is Becky asking Regan to be her maid of honor. The movie follows Becky's wedding and everything that could possibly go wrong in a night.
What makes this movie a part of the black comedy genre was its complete lack of boundaries with any and all subjects. It openly has or mentions multiple drugs, including cocaine and marijuana, and it has everything from a sex scene to the foulest of foul language. The greatness in this movie came from its realistic showing of how many young adults' lives have declined due to widespread social problems as well as the problems that face younger generations that have not been previously addressed. Issues of abortion and drug abuse are among the many problems the characters face. The humor hits hard with underlying truths that society doesn't necessarily want to admit to because the issues being addressed are taboo due to their controversial nature.

While some critics said the conclusion is too cliché after such harsh, humorous, and realistic honesty throughout the movie, it is a surprisingly encouraging and much needed happy ending. The writing throughout the movie was so well done that the ending itself seemed like a good conclusion because it turns out well for the characters. If you're the kind of viewer who doesn't mind a lot of crude humor, and a few sad realizations about societal truths, Bachelorette is an entertaining and revealing movie worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saucier version of Bridesmaids, September 9, 2013
By 
Jaclyn (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie is amazing, similar to Bridesmaids but way more risque. Seems way more real and is just as funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surpisingly enjoyable, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachelorette (Amazon Instant Video)
I didn't expect this to be a top-quality movie, but it surprised me. Acting was good and the humor was (overall) amusing without being *too* distasteful. Does play on stereotypes of brides/bridesmaids/the wedding process, but not in an overly obnoxious way. Good chick flick that guys could probably stomach watching too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bachelorette
Bachelorette by Leslye Headland
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.