Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bachmann 4-4-0 American Locomotive And Tender - Central Pacific "Jupiter" - N Scale
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2015
Very hard to keep this railed due to the tiny wheels in the front, but a smooth runner, I am going to make a flex track layout to reduce joints, very cute engine. Fussy has to be on a smooth smooth track no turnouts period
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2007
Bachmann has a great corner on the affordable model train market; they know which trains are the classics and do a great job of making models that the average modeler can afford. However, with affordability comes compromise; there is no working headlight on this model, which if on here, probably would have added to the cost. Still, it has a good amount of power and will look great on your N Scale layout. The paint scheme on this model is slightly garish, though...maybe on a larger scale it wouldn't look so bad. If you have to choose a locomotive, I would personally pick Bachmann's B&O version, as it looks more authentic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2016
What a beauty!! This and the Royal Blue are very nice locomotives but sensitive and the extra attention might be necessary with the front carriage.When it arrived quickly i noticed the tendency of derailing but by tightening the fine screws on the front carriage and also that it is level resolved the issue and it runs just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
This is the second one of these engines I've purchased the first from a different vendor. I really wanted to write a good review on this but alas I can't. Both ran out of the box for about an hour at half speed for break in ( recommended) by the manufacturer) they decided to quit. The two primary causes for failure were the pilot truck screws coming loose to the point where it constantly derailed. The second were failures of the tender trucks and pickup springs (literally burned up). So unless you want to spend some time in model railroad repair, I would suggest you avoid this. Bachmann does sell replacement parts, but for a sample of 2 engines that failed during lite use I'm giving this 1 star. Shame too. Looked so cool when it ran.

Update: Amazon replaced this no questions asked and great service. Unfortunately the new on was broken out of the box. This time the slider and again the back tender wheels. Deciding on a return or fix at the moment.
review image review image
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2010
This is a wonderful addition to our Train Layout. It is constructed well. It is fragile but so is all Train Stuff so if you know what you are doing it is durable, but not for Children. Did not take long to break in the Locomotives Motor. I am very pleased. It is well painted, well crafted.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
This is a very beautiful engine that added class to my n scale. I use this with only one caboose because the motor does not have enough torque to pull two or three cars. Nicely crafted. Love it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
Great engine but hard to keep on track due to the small wheels on the front
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
This was so exciting to receive this as it was in perfect condition unopened. Set it up and ran just great . Overall very satisfied and happy with this purchase. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
This is a great addition to a model railroad person. It runs great and is a conversation piece. I enjoy watching it pull some old fashioned railroad cars.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
Took it back fronts wheels aren"t connected well traded for different backman engine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.