Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the money...
...this is not a bad HO set, really.

We found this locally last Christmas on sale, so we bought it to go under the Christmas tree. The track worked well on our shorter pile carpet. No issues of train wheels popping off, or derailments. The engine is just an 0-6-0, so maybe that is why some had issues, not really sure, I've never had the train derail or axles...
Published on December 10, 2010 by E. Ferguson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Speed Controller Faulty. Product no longer available.
Generally, the train set is fine and works well with headlights and smoke.

Only problem is that the train can only go one direction as the speed controller is faulty.

Am not able to get replacement as the product is no longer available.

Not sure what Amazon can do.
Published 3 months ago by W. Tng


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the money..., December 10, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
...this is not a bad HO set, really.

We found this locally last Christmas on sale, so we bought it to go under the Christmas tree. The track worked well on our shorter pile carpet. No issues of train wheels popping off, or derailments. The engine is just an 0-6-0, so maybe that is why some had issues, not really sure, I've never had the train derail or axles come out of the trucks. I set the set up a couple weeks ago in our basement on a piece of 4x4x5/8 flooring board I had left over, built a frame for it, put it on saw horses. I had to tighten a few of the slip on joints that go between the rails, but my almost 4yo son will go downstairs and (after I plug it in for him) run the train for 30min-1hr at a time. The included buildings should be glued with model cement. The signs, people, telephone poles and some of the other scene items are detailed decently for HO and the cost of the set, but really, if you are serious about building a layout with this included in it, you will have to spend some time painting the people (they are all buff colored head to toe), painting signs, etc. I may take the time when I have nothing better to do this winter.

The controller DOES have an accessory power tap, so you could run lit buildings, street lights, etc. Also, you will need to clean the track and locomotive wheels occasionally to keep it running at it's peak (any train requires this), and check the slip connections (small needle nose pliers, or just put a small dent in them with a small flat head screwdriver until they fit tight). The smoke liquid requires heat to work, the heat comes from the drive motor as best I can tell, so really it makes perfect sense that you have to run it at 80-100% for a few minutes for it to get going. Once it does start generating smoke, you can back the speed down to 65-70% and still get a small steady output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!!!, September 20, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
This is a cool toy!! It is fun to watch it go around its loop.BUT sometimes the wheels pop off.They are easy to put them back on and usaly stay on.Still it is a fun toy!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chattanooga Woo Woo..., February 2, 2013
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
I have had this set for 3 years now, (not from Amazon, mind you, but Hobby Lobby) & aside frome the smoke being sporadic & one coupler being broken in the box, (replaced for less than 2 bucks @ a hobby show), have no complaints at all. The locomotive looks great & runs strong, my wheels have not "popped off", the structures (with a little paint & glue) hold together fine & look good...as for the figures, painting during the winter time is a fine diversion, in my opinion, much like tying flies for fishing. Mine stays up year 'round, love to watch it run & hear my Great-Niece refer to it (as well as the song), as "Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo..." She is a fan of the Colorado Railroad Museum & has seen a train or two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked great for Christmas decorations, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
Bought this for a gift for going around the Christmas tree. Ran great the whole holiday season. Read issues of disconnecting as it ran, other issues, but we had no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train set, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
My son always wanted a train for the Christmas Tree. I ordered this one and had it sent to him. He loved it and so did his children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Set!, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
I just received this set and am having a little trouble understanding all the negative reviews. It was very easy to set up and I have not had any trouble with cars flying off tracks or wheels falling off, even at full speed. (One set of wheels had fallen off in the box; I simply snapped them back into place and that was the end of it.) Yes, the set is made of plastic, but it is hardly flimsy, and the locomotive is considerably heavy and more substantial than I was expecting. If you are at all careful about assembling the track, I honestly don't think you'll have any problems. The set comes with lots of little extras that are reasonably easy to put together and make the whole enterprise a lot more fun than if it merely included trains and tracks. I'm not sure what people were expecting for the price they paid for this set, but from my perspective it delivers everything it promises and is the perfect introduction to HO-scale training for a newcomer like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears Of Joy, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
My daughter has wanted a train for years. Finally bought this one as a reward for All A's for first semester. She was so happy, she cried. Thanks! Great price, great product, great shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bad quality, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
not a quality one, tracks etc, i would not buy anymore buchmans train set, no smoke, no sound like same in 20's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money., January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
Can't keep it on the track long enough to go around more than once. Tracks are junk. They bend if you look at them cross eyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson loved his Christmas Garden with this train., January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set (Toy)
It was hard to keep all the cars on the track, but he had great fun with the locomotive. He is 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa17d5450)

This product

Bachmann Trains Chattanooga Ready - To - Run Ho Scale Train Set
$175.95 $97.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.