Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter Set
This was a gift to my son and I have seen it running. The track system seems to work well and the train set performed as advertised. I like Bachmann products and this lived up to my expectations. A thumbs up, but not a small child's toy.
Published on January 11, 2011 by L. Johnson

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An acceptable train set.
I consider this merely an adequate train set. I purchased it to get an idea of the size of N scale locomotives and rolling stock, and I was debating between building an HO or N scale layout, and I've always used HO in the past. For that purpose, this set certainly satisfied my yearning to size up N scale.

The set comes packaged very neatly, and the power pack...
Published on July 18, 2012 by J. Szulecki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An acceptable train set., July 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I consider this merely an adequate train set. I purchased it to get an idea of the size of N scale locomotives and rolling stock, and I was debating between building an HO or N scale layout, and I've always used HO in the past. For that purpose, this set certainly satisfied my yearning to size up N scale.

The set comes packaged very neatly, and the power pack is quite clever compared with the HO sets I grew up with. It uses an external power pack "wall wart" that plugs into the throttle. While this would be useless for a layout, it is a great match for a portable train set like this, and it is important to keep in mind that this is a toy, really. The throttle unit has accessory connections, and plugs into a rerailer/power track via a flat connector. The connector is prone to coming loose without provocation. If you have power issues, check this connection. I've had this style of connector in the past on HO sets for Christmas tree use, and they exhibited similar issues, so this is not isolated to this set. The locomotive is a cute 0-6-0 locomotive, with reasonably good front and side detail. Despite the complaints of one reviewer as to the lack of wheels under the cab...an 0-6-0 should not have wheels there, and this is accurate to the prototype. The headlamp is not lighted. The motor sticks out the back of the cap, leaving an unsightly metal bulge. Really distracts from the otherwise decent realism. The tender is wired for power on the front wheel set, helping to avoid stalls. The locomotive runs reasonably well, and I was able to get it to climb mild inclines with all three cars and a few coins. Low speed operation is mixed...it doesn't start well, but it will run at low speed reasonably well if you decrease speed gradually. The cars consist of a boxcar (door does not open), gondola, and caboose. The detail on the cars is acceptable, other than the fixed boxcar door. The cars run a little noisy, although I suspect the EZ track might be partially to blame. It snapped together reasonably well, only one do-over was required. A circle is a little boring, so ideally they should update this to a slightly larger oval.

In summary...a decent toy with a few minor flaws. Those flaws are excusable at this excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter Set, January 11, 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
This was a gift to my son and I have seen it running. The track system seems to work well and the train set performed as advertised. I like Bachmann products and this lived up to my expectations. A thumbs up, but not a small child's toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yard boss train set, good so far, August 26, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
It's a nice little train.Still good so far, at least. Just received it today.However,my opinion will probably change in about a few weeks. It has a Santa Fe 0-6-0 no.3283,Southern Railway open hopperr no.352450,Green Bay And Western boxcar no.60, A.T.S.F caboose no.999628, a circle of e-z track,and the speed controller.The locomotive runs smoothly and the cars roll smoothly, too. Overall, a great train set with all you need to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bachmanns N scale "YARD BOSS" starter set., January 30, 2013
By 
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I bought this set out of curiosity. The little 0-6-0 switcher suprised me as to how well it performed. Operationaly, it does well in switching.
It does not stall in turnouts. It takes tight curves well. My major concern was that the little slope back tender would derail backing up or pulling cars.
I was pleased that the 0-6-0 did all the yard duties well, without problems that I have had with HO locos. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big little train set, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I bought this train set to replace an "N" guage Bachman set I purchased many years ago and find it to be every bit as good a product as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter train, December 7, 2012
By 
J. Roberts (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
This came in quick and with no issues. This is a great starter set and good for kids or for people without room for a larger scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Son loved it!, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I ordered this as a Christmas and it was a big hit with my son. He loves trains and this is a great addition to his collection.
Worked great. Would recommend to anyone that loves trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is "The Boss", Alright!, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
My son absolutely adores this set that has everything you need to do a fun, quick train set-up. He's played with it everyday since Christmas morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not work out of the box, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
As a Christmas present, a really excited little boy couldn't figure out why we had to box it back up. The engine would barley move and acted as if something was in a bind inside the motor. I was concerned for the HO scale being a little small for a 4 year old, but was a little ticked that it wouldn't work straight out of the packaging. Amazon was great as usual on accepting it back and providing a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars N-Scale Train Set, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
Have not had time to set up our layout just yet....my grandson and I are collecting all the items we want and need. Your great processing and delivery are very much appreciated. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bachmann Trains The Yard Boss Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set
$199.99 $62.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.