Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starter set for the price.
The Bachmann Thunder Valley train set makes a nice entry-level set for anyone looking at getting into N-scale model railroading. Keep in mind that N-scale is approximately 1:160 scale, so this train is SMALL. That makes it ideal for people with limited space, but less appropriate for the very young.

I purchased a few Bachmann sets to get a small stable of...
Published on December 4, 2008 by EarhornJones

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for the money
Not a bad set for the money. The only reason i bought this set was for a comparison of N scale to my existing HO scale as i have the same locomotive in HO scale. runs good out of the box and easy to set up with Bachmanns ez track. In the end i decided that N scale was too small for me to work with as i like to do mods to the locomotives and rolling stock so this set will...
Published 12 months ago by Kevin G Carleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great starter set for the price., December 4, 2008
By 
EarhornJones (Des Moines, Iowa, United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
The Bachmann Thunder Valley train set makes a nice entry-level set for anyone looking at getting into N-scale model railroading. Keep in mind that N-scale is approximately 1:160 scale, so this train is SMALL. That makes it ideal for people with limited space, but less appropriate for the very young.

I purchased a few Bachmann sets to get a small stable of trains for the layout I'm building, and this one, while cheapest, is also my favorite. The engine is strong, and not as tempermental as some of the steam locomotive models from Bachmann. It can easily handle a 4% grade with a full consist, and runs smoothly.

This set only comes with a circle of EZ Track, so you'll be needing more. I initially wasn't thrilled with the idea of EZ Track (which has the trackbed permanently attached) but it actually works very nicely, and is far superior for use as a temporary tabletop or floor setup than traditional track would be.

The electrical components of the set are also solid, if somewhat simplistic.

This is a solid set for anyone getting started with N-Scale model railroading, and given the price, it would be hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just What He Wanted, January 26, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
My eleven yr old nephew was thrilled to get what he wanted-a train! He was able to quickly assemble the train to Mom's pleasant surprise. He does state that the train will stop
1/10 of the time for unknown reasons. It must be noted that the Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set is still highly valued a month after he rec'd it for his Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for the money, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
Not a bad set for the money. The only reason i bought this set was for a comparison of N scale to my existing HO scale as i have the same locomotive in HO scale. runs good out of the box and easy to set up with Bachmanns ez track. In the end i decided that N scale was too small for me to work with as i like to do mods to the locomotives and rolling stock so this set will go to the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect choice for first n scale set, August 29, 2011
By 
Bill Raley "Vista Bill" (Southern Maryland, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
This handsome set is a perfect choice for your first N scale train set. Led by a colorful Santa Fe EMD Diesel locomotive, it'll grow with you. Bachmann is a leader in model and toy trains and there is a limited lifetime warranty on this. The locomotive is quite capable of pulling many cars. Add a few sections of straight track, a couple more freight cars and you'll have a really great beginning to your railroad empire. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars N scale trains, December 26, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
Good price and buy, they are under our Christmas tree and the grand kids got a big kick out of them. Will shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Train Set at Age 67!, January 7, 2014
By 
Mag (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I, a retired woman, have enjoyed my train set, although I had to figure out some things at first, being totally unfamiliar with model trains. Getting the cars on the track was a touchy task at first, but I kept taking "patience" breaks and finally nailed the knack. I had to use a pair of tweezers to get two cars to couple, but it worked. Patience is required. This is good practice for when I want to expand this new-found hobby. I've always wanted trains, and now I have them. N-scale is a little pesky to work with, since the cars are small, but I like the fact that they take up so much less room than bigger units. More women should take up this hobby -- it's not just for kids and old men!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This train set, February 3, 2014
By 
G1yp4.1337 (Albuquerque, nm) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
I have been messing around with toy trains since i was 4, and im now in my mid thirties. I read some of the posts on these train sets and i was a bit concerned when i purchased, but knowing the simpliciy of the build i was not too concerned.

Out of the box, everything was great. Packaged well, seperated well, and the documentation was what i expected, not that i read it. The New EZ track has its advantages, such as being able to run this on a carpet without having lint buildup on the wheels and trucks like on the open track styles. A distinct disadvantage is the incompatability with existing track types out of the box. It is possible, especially if you are handy with a saw and can cut wedges to gently ease the track down from the "fake trackbed" to the layout level like i did.

Installation was easy, just like all other train sets that are out there. Took me about 20 minutes at a moderate pace. The speed controller uses a 1/4 inch jack to power the rails and a "wall wart" (on wall transformer) style power pack instead of placing the transformer in the control module. These made this a easy install to test it out on the kitchen table.

As far as operation goes, i had no problems getting it on the track or getting it to function properly, without any real issues. I will say this. i have about 3 hours of operation on it at about 50 percent power. The Manual does state that these engines require a break in period before you can expect top performance, and i would imagine, the best longevity. Mine seemed like it functioned without strain after 20 minutes of continous run in one direction, and then again in reverse.

I would have to say, if you slow down and come to a stop before changing direction, operate at a moderate speed (not fully open), and dont "rev" the engine speed like a motorcycle, i would assume one would have years of fun with this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for a small area, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
This is a very we'll made train set. Small scale but works very well. Not for very young but my 11 year old grandson can assemble and operate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome beginner set!!, May 4, 2010
By 
Eric J. Johnson "ERJO" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
This is the perfect set for any railroad beginner.
I bought this set for my son to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I should have expected this from Bachmann, January 7, 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set (Toy)
The train was priced very low and that should have given me a clue as to it's quality. The couplers are the cheap, plastic type that are very hard to get coupled to begin with and then after several trips around the oval they mysteriously disconnect themselves. I spent the entire time that I ran the train, re-coupling the cars. You get what you pay for. This set will go on Craigslist very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bachmann Trains Thunder Valley Ready-to-Run N Scale Train Set
$149.99 $64.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.