Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


183 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Skills Your Grandparents Had, But You Probably Don't
Until I checked this book out of the library, I had rarely given a thought to getting "back to basics," that is learning how to be more self-sufficient. After I read the book, I soon bought it, because it opened my eyes to the many ways that I am almost entirely dependent upon others for my basic needs. "Back to Basics" is a helpful guide for those who want to get away...
Published on July 27, 2008 by David Bennett

versus
497 of 541 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, but unfocused (details)
This illustrated book has been published chiefly for those who are new to country living, and/or who have an interest in self-sufficiency and in retrieving some of the "lost arts" which are appurtenant to traditional country life. The information is mostly introductory and rudimentary... a good start for most folks new to these areas of interest.

I have lived...
Published on October 24, 2008 by Patrick W. Crabtree


‹ Previous | 113 14 1527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good book to have, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
we are beginning to prep and this book is full of good advise and how to's.
I would recommend this book to others who are trying to get prepared incase something
bad happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best item for the price, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
The book arrived in excellent condition and sits on my coffee table right now. It has good illustrations and directions on issues we could all benefit from, especially if the worst should happen. Even though that hasn't occurred thus far, there is plenty of good, practical, information and careful organization in the book. Whether your a prepper or just starting a garden there is something for all aspects of old-time traditional skills. It's very helpful regarding almost all aspects of practical living in a non-rural environment.
The closest comparison I would make is the "Fox Fire" series of years past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
More thorough than I expected. This is the real deal and very complete. A few more details in building dimensions would be nice. Awesome book and true to the legend around this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basics, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
This isn't meant to be an in depth treaty on how to do all the things. It's meant to give you basic ideas and information on how to get things done. After you have read this figure out what things are really interesting and research them more. This gives you a wonderful overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever on traditional skille, July 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
Some 30 years ago I bought the original version of Back to Basics, when it was being sold by Reader's Digest. I was really pleased to see the new and updated version on Amazon. This is a "must" book for anyone living on a farm, on an acreage, or anyone going back to nature, or living off the grid, or just in general getting ready for the collapse of civilization. The book is well laid out and covers just about every imaginable issue, and a few you probably never even thought about. It is the ultimate "do-it-yourself" bible and the skills and ideas can be applied anywhere in the world. If you haven't ordered it already, you are making a serious mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
Interesting read to learn about some skills that you may never use but I definitely like the step by step instructions. There are few things that I will definitely try to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool book, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
Just started reading it but this city slicker enjoys it. It might serve as a survey book which is fine. It does have pretty good detail, but to really implement some of these things, you'll need more details and the author does provide more resources to drill down to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very cool, June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
im verry happy with this book, my dad had the first edition when i was a child, and its still helpful and important today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well-Organized and Informative, June 3, 2013
By 
Jiang Xueqin (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
"Back to Basics" is an excellent reference manual for a range of individuals, from the novice farmer interested in buying his own farmland to the urban homeowner looking to turn his lawn into a garden to a die-hard Manhattanite interested in cross-country skiing. Every page is loaded with useful information, and because the book is so well-organized and concisely written it never feels overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Survival Guide Suitable for Now Or Post Apocalyptic Situation, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition (Hardcover)
This book is a supurb survival guide that can jumpstart civilization in the event of a near extintion level event. It can also help you live sustainably and includes directions for building your own wind and solar energy, raising crops, identifying locations that may contain water by plants growing there, creating a solar oven, building your own house and much, much more. Purchasing this book might save your life some day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition
Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills, Third Edition by Abigail R. Gehring (Hardcover - April 17, 2008)
$24.95 $16.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.