Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild delight
Can't wait for the DVD to arrive!
It's amazing how some people just can't see the humour in this totally insane parody of the early Beach movies.
However, both Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello -- and Connie Stevens for that matter -- seem to enjoy sending up their earlier screen personas, and this movie is wildly enjoyable as long as you don't expect...
Published on October 10, 2001 by Anthony Clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Ray Vaughan
Great Eighties, frankie and annette. One complaint, I bought this movie because of a scene I saw of Dick Dale and Stevie Ray Vaughan tearing up Pipeline. First time downnloading a movie from amazon. The scene was cut, best part of the movie In my opinion, that's why I bought it from Amazon. I'm not sure who's fault it is but that scene should Not of been cut from it,...
Published on August 31, 2012 by Trinidad Martinez


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild delight, October 10, 2001
By 
Anthony Clarke (Woodend, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to the Beach [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Can't wait for the DVD to arrive!
It's amazing how some people just can't see the humour in this totally insane parody of the early Beach movies.
However, both Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello -- and Connie Stevens for that matter -- seem to enjoy sending up their earlier screen personas, and this movie is wildly enjoyable as long as you don't expect anything more than a totally mad, insane parody of a genre.
The director of this movie is an Australian, which probably helps explain the nature of the comedy content. I'm Australian, which helps!
But ignore the 'one-star, worst film ever made' type of reviews, and give this a chance -- it is MEANT to be an over-the-top cheesy take-off, and if you enjoy absurdity, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My last, fond memory of delightful, courageous Annette., October 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Back to the Beach [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Annette Funicello said in an interview that she had already begun experiencing the symptoms of MS when this last Beach movie was made. She didn't have much of a career after these movies. Annette always embodied the spirit of the decent, all-American girl. The only thing you can do for Annette now is to buy all of her movies and insist that a portion of the purchase price go toward finding a cure for MS and ALS. That would be a fitting tribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful parody of 60's beach movies. Great fun!, January 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Back to the Beach [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For anyone who has sat through the mindless Frankie and Annette beach movies this is a real treat! In retrospect, the original movies are fun time capsules of the early sixties and this film trashes them all. Frankie and Annette are back as a married couple with children returning to their old beach for a vacation. The plot is the same lame one used in every beach movie (surfers vs. punks, jealous girlfriends, boy loses girl, boy gets girl, etc...) and there are numerous cameos throughout the film (Alan Hale, Bob Denver, the Cleavers, Peewee Herman, and many others). Connie Stevens is Great, and everyone looks like they had a blast making this film. Anyone who has any love for the old beach movies will really enjoy the self-parody of "Back to the Beach".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, innocent fun, October 3, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
I love this movie. I wasn't even born when most of the originally beach movies were made. I found this gem when it became available for rental. I loved it. I loved the music and the feel of the movie. I laughed and laughed. Just a really feel good movie. It's not Shakespear, but I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a masterpiece of post-modernism!, October 27, 2005
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
Gosh, I love this movie. It was my personal candidate for movie of the year when it came out in 1987. If postmodernism--nicely described by Umberto Eco as the "ironic discovery of the past" or words to that effect--can be absolute pure unadulterated pleasure, this is it. The underlying concept--that the Franklie / Annette beach had not changed an iota since they left--has to be one of the great pop movie ideas of all time. The whole film is beyond criticism--everyone is, quite simply, perfection.

For a really, shall we say, enjoyable double feature, couple this with Psycho Beach Party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL SPOOF OF THE BEACH PARTY FLICKS, June 30, 2004
By 
OILMAN "OWEN" (bayside, new york United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
THE FIRST TIME I EVER SAW ONE OF THESE BEACH PARTY MOVIES WAS IN VIETNAM IN 1965. AND I MUST SAY THAT IT MADE ALL THE BAD THINGS GOING ON GO AWAY FOR A LITTLE WHILE, SO HERE ALMOST 40 YEARS LATER ITS NICE TO BE NOSTALGIC AND SEE HOW MUCH FUN US BABY BOOMERS USE TO HAVE....IF YOU HAVENT SEEN THIS MOVIE AS OF YET BUY IT CRANK UP YOUR DVD PLAYER ...MAKE SOME POPCORN AND BE PREPARED FOR SOME VERY CATCHY MUSIC AND SOME SMILES..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pajama Party, September 13, 2004
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
I love this movie. I have since I was a liitle girl. I watched it at every slumber party. I love it. do you worry about tomorrow> Will it be as good as yesterday? I just look in your direction. And I'm glad for what we have today.

Don't listen to people who say it is corny. It is a great movie. I love the cast everyone is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, do YOU know how to Jamaica Ska?, March 11, 2000
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendora, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back to the Beach [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is important in two retrospects....first, it's one of the funniest 80's movies and two, it features a flawless heroic performance by Annette. Connie Stevens is a delight too as Frankie's old flame....The best song here is Jamaica Ska where Annette shows she could still move with the best of them! Come on everybody...let's Do the Bird!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, hilarious & more!, May 7, 2004
By 
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
I used to watch this movie on tv quite a bit, and it always cracked me up! I've never been a huge Frankie and Annette fan (they were before my time), but in this movie I really liked them as the parents! It begins when Frankie and Annette go to visit their daughter (who's boyfriend is living with her), taking along their son (who is more or less, rebelling and having an identity crisis). Songs are interspersed through the film, which are funny and entertaining; there is a cameo by Pee Wee Herman, and much more!
Pajama parties, surfing, motorcycles, beach bon-fires, etc., this film is full of moments of randomness and light-hearted fun, with couples "fighting" and making up all over the place!
For those of you worried about content: this film is somewhat family-friendly. There isn't much language in this film, the content is more some drinking in a bar/lounge, a married woman flirting, a woman flirting with a married man, a girl with a live-in boyfriend, hangovers, etc. In typical "Disney" style, they wrap up all the loose ends and end the film on a syrupy, happy note!
If you like the beach, and aren't afraid of a little singing, I'd pick this up to watch one day, if just for a temporary diversion from the same old movies that are always on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Last Romp, May 3, 2008
This review is from: Back to the Beach (DVD)
More than 20 years after they were the rulers of the beach, Frankie and Annette finally got hitched and moved to Ohio! Frankie got a job as a used car salesman and Annette is busy making peanut butter sandwiches. The years have made them a bit uptight and square(Frankie especially). But when they decide to take a family vacation to Hawaii with their son(probably the most irritating and grating child ever put on film. He shuffles around the movie looking like he just stepped out of the Blue Oyster Bar), they decide to pay a quick visit to their daughter(Full House's Lori Loughlin) who still lives in California. They wind up back on their old beach and soon the fun begins. They have to deal with a daughter that's now engaged to a surfer, their son joining a punk surfer gang, booze, old flames, breakups and makeups. Basically they fall back into all those plot conventions of their early films. At the film's climax(if you can really call it a climax) Frankie has to regain his crown as he faces off with the head surfer of the rival surf gang for control of the beach, and in the process face down the same enormous wave that ended his surfing career back in the day and sent him packing to Ohio. You can be sure that by the end, Frankie saves the day, everybody kisses and makes up, and the entire beach parties the night away. Sound silly? Of course it is, it's a Beach Party movie!! It's all lighthearted feelgood goofiness. It may be the 80s, but it's got the same tone and structure of those old films, and we wouldn't want it any other way. There are some funny cameo appearances by Gilligan and the Skipper, Wally and the Beaver, Pee Wee Herman, and O.J. Simpson(!). Unfortunately, series regular Harvey Lembeck passed away before this film was made, so there's no Eric Von Zipper and his biker gang, The Rat Pack. Of course it wouldn't be a Beach Party movie without a few musical numbers as well, though not as many as the 60s films. The most impressive being a guitar dual with Dick Dale and Stevie Ray Vaughn who are performing the Chantay's immortal classic, Pipeline(unfortunately it's shown very briefly, but you owe it to yourself to see the official video on Youtube. Excellent song!). Fishbone even show up to do a song with Annette! Both Annette and Frankie do a great job of parodying their famous Beach Party roles, right down to some funny cracks about Frankie's hair style(he's referred to as looking like "an Italian loan shark" by one character) and pokes at Annette's goody twoshoes personna.
It's brainless, it's silly, it's fluffy, and even corny(at the end of the film, Annette says to the camera, "Aren't we the corniest couple you've ever seen?"). But most importantly, it's fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Back to the Beach
Back to the Beach by Lyndall Hobbs
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.