Customer Reviews


962 Reviews
5 star:
 (685)
4 star:
 (157)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


164 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RETRO SOUL
In U.K. Amy Winehouse has been a tabloid regular recently with tales of anoxeria, addiction, and drunken TV appearances, but she really should let her music speak for itself . . . especially when it's as good as this.

Her debut, "Frank", was sometimes stodgy and definitely over praised, but no praise is too high for this unashamedly retro, but beautifully...
Published on March 13, 2007 by Amskeating

versus
82 of 109 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not such a
THIS REVIEW DEALS ONLY WITH THE EDITING OF CURSE WORDS FOR THE CLEAN ALBUM.

I bought the clean version of this album because she uses the "f" word in several songs on the other version and I have young children. The edited version is a disappointment. The curse words are clumsily half-blotted out, leaving an awkward space in the songs, while the phrase, "You...
Published on April 15, 2007 by Vereen


‹ Previous | 139 40 4197 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Songs, but..., April 9, 2014
I bought the Pure Audio version of this album and the sound quality is terrible,very scratchy, flat. In fact I returned it, hope Universal Blu Ray Audio CDs sound better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy, Boozy, Woozy, and altogether great!, September 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
YES!!! This is the R&B album I've been waiting for. Seems as though in the post Whitney Houston era, all female R&B vocalists have opted for slick production coupled with vocal gymnastics instead of an honest conveyance of actual emotion with the human voice. Not here. Ms. Winehouse has delivered an R&B modern day classic, coupling a Phil Spector-like production with a gritty vocal delivery reminiscent of the girl groups of the early sixties. I heard the single "Rehab" and was instantly intrigued, so I grabbed the album. Boy, was I not disappointed. If modern R&B has seemed overly produced and vacuous to you, and you are eager for something more heartfelt, boy, this is the album for you. I have not heard her previous offering, but I certainly have it on order. Kudos of the highest order, this is a young woman whose career I will be watching very closely. One can only hope up and coming R&B singers will hear this and model themselves after this, rather than the endless searching-for-the-note-yes-I-understand-you-can-sing-but-wheres-the-FEEL vocalizations that have plagued R&B for the last number of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory be, May 22, 2007
By 
Adam J. Jones (Kelowna, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
Album of the year, maybe of the past several years, certainly on the Britpop front. Mind-boggling from the first notes ("Rehab") to the last ("Addicted").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't pigeon-hole this artist..., July 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
Excellent CD. Every song is a gem. I highly recommend. Although I can't quite tell what category Amy's music is in, all I know is that it's good music-period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
Super fast delivery. Great price. The quality of the CD is very poor. I can only listen to the last three songs. The beginning is scratched so bad it doesn't play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this new CD from Amy Winehouse, March 16, 2007
By 
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
I love this new CD from Amy Winehouse. My favorite track is "Rehab". This is a very groovy sounding song about someone with a drinking problem who refuses to go to rehab. I love all the instruments on this song especially the trumpet and saxophone. "Just Friends" is another hit on this CD. I love the musical arrangement of this track. It makes me want to dance. "You Know I'm Not Good" is the sexiest song I've ever heard about a person being unfaithful. This track is another one of my favorites. "Back To Black" is another highlight here. This track has a 60's retro sound with the superb piano playing. This song is about a dysfunctional relationship between two people. Amy sounds so soulful on "Love is a Losing Game". I love the slow tempo of this song very much. "Some Unholy War" is another good track. It is about supporting a loved one in a time of crisis. This is a very enjoyable CD to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoking Hot !, January 29, 2007
By 
Amy is great--sexy R&B old school singing style with modern house beats. She is already huge in the UK. I suspect she will be a US phenomenon by the end of 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To Black, Amy Winehouse, September 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
Great album. New sound, great music, great voice. If Amy can keep out of too much trouble, she will be creating great music for years to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't sleep on this album!, May 4, 2007
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
As much of a Christina Aguilera fan I am, Back to Black is the album she wished she'd recorded when planning the concept for her own throw-back inspired disc, Back to Basics. Where Christina's throw-back sound ended up a mish-mash of 50s and hip-hop with insipid lyrics on love and swagger and her trademark over-singing, Amy Winehouse, with the absolutely stellar producer Mark Ronson in tow, created an album that could have been sung by Aretha and Etta--had they written songs dealing with alcohol and drug use/abuse and f*cked up love affairs. Back to Black is that rare concept album that comes about once in a lifetime that sounds like its concept(60s soul/jazz/girl-groups) and yet remains current and relatable--and edgy. Couple Amy's blunt lyrics with the smoky, gritty quality of her voice as she allows it to dip and trill and scat(with the absence of over-singing), and Back to Black is an album I can declare to be the best of 2007 long before this year is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Black Indeed, May 4, 2007
By 
Caesar M. Warrington (Aldan, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back to Black (Audio CD)
If not for the profanity-laced lyrics and dysfunctional themes of the songs (and that horrible bonus track of the remixed "You Know I'm No Good," featuring Ghostface Killah), you would think this is the greatest hits collection of some long lost soul singer from the 60's; some young black woman who grew up singing Gospel in Mississippi and later mastered her skills in Chicago. All the Shirelles and Spectoresque referencing aside, it is obvious that Amy Winehouse paid a lot of attention to her Nina Simone, Billie Holiday, and Carla Thomas records also.

It is a sad statement of the times when someone like Amy Winehouse, a Jewish girl from England, puts out the best R&B CD of the year so far, while most of our "authentic" black female talent is obsessed with chasing the high notes and selling their Soul for the cold technology of the recording studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 139 40 4197 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Back to Black
Back to Black by Amy Winehouse (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.