Customer Reviews


1,590 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,272)
4 star:
 (176)
3 star:
 (66)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2005 re-release is the corrected Widescreen version
This 2005 release, "Lowest Price Ever" on the front package contains the corrected Widescreen versions of Part II and Part III. The original release in 2002 with an oval sticker on the package contains the defective versions of Part II and Part III.

The framing was so bad on Part II and III, you actually missed visual jokes! In Part II when Marty sizes the...
Published on April 13, 2008 by P. Hillman

versus
585 of 735 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Error on disc 2 and 3
Just wanted to let people know that in the widescreen edition, a mistake was made on the second and third discs--instead of using actual widescreen footage, someone just put black bars on the top and bottom of the fullscreen pan-and-scan version, so you get even *less* picture with the widescreen version. This error was not noticed until it was too late, although...
Published on December 20, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2159 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

234 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2005 re-release is the corrected Widescreen version, April 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This 2005 release, "Lowest Price Ever" on the front package contains the corrected Widescreen versions of Part II and Part III. The original release in 2002 with an oval sticker on the package contains the defective versions of Part II and Part III.

The framing was so bad on Part II and III, you actually missed visual jokes! In Part II when Marty sizes the jacket in the future, the framing cut off Marty's hand when he presses the button to size the jacket. In Part III, when Marty and Doc are in the Drive-In to leave for 1885, Doc makes the joke about Marty's tennis shoes because the boots don't fit, but the framing cut off Marty's feet. When Doc tries alcohol in the Delorean and blows the fuel injection manifold, the majority of the explosion is cut out of the frame.

Part II DVD will have the marking, "V2" on the outer edge next to the copyright. Part III DVD does not have any new markings, but the Widescreen framing has been corrected in this 2005 re-release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is heavy!, July 6, 2002
By 
Kev (Baltimore) - See all my reviews
Great Scott! Step aside Yoda. Move over Captain Kirk. The greatest sci-fi saga is finally available on DVD. The trilogy is long overdue in the new format, but definitely worth the wait. A bonus to the long hiatus will be the extras that have become standard on all new releases.
The plot for the trilogy seems complicated at face value as teenage Marty (Fox) and his unlikely best friend Doc Brown (Lloyd) travel back and forth through time altering the past, present, or future at every pitstop. However, when you watch the films, the story is not complicated at all. The script is tightly woven, the characters are memorable, and the chemistry between the major players (Fox, Lloyd, Thompson, Steenburgen, Glover, and Wilson) is unrivaled.
The simple moral of the story is "Life is what you make of it."
Going against the grain, I have to admit that the second feature was my favorite of the three. This is primarily due to portions where Marty battles his way through scenes in the first film without being seen by his other self or his parents.....similar camera tricks were seen a few years later in Zemekis's other great film "Forrest Gump". I was also amazed at the gratuitous and shameless product placement in the second film, which even made "Seinfeld" seem subtle.
One thing I've got my fingers crossed for on the extras would be the scenes with the original Marty as played by Erick Stoltz. Allegedly, three weeks of filming occurred before he was switched out with Micheal J. Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


585 of 735 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Error on disc 2 and 3, December 20, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just wanted to let people know that in the widescreen edition, a mistake was made on the second and third discs--instead of using actual widescreen footage, someone just put black bars on the top and bottom of the fullscreen pan-and-scan version, so you get even *less* picture with the widescreen version. This error was not noticed until it was too late, although Universal Studios is planning to correct this in a future version of the dvd set, and people who bought the original set will be able to get a free trade-in. Here's the email they've been sending to people who asked about this:
"Thank you for your email. Universal Studios will exchange Back to the Future parts 2 and 3 for copies with the updated framing in late February 2003. You may send the DVDs back now or wait until February. Please send Back to the Future disks 2 and 3, without the case, and a letter with the following information: Name, Full Mailing Address, Daytime Phone Number, Reason for Return and Return Address. Send to:
Back to the Future DVD Returns
PO Box 224468
Dallas, Texas 75260
Thank you,
Universal Studios Customer Service"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning rift in the movies continuum Marty!!!, December 4, 2002
If there's only one thing DVD's should be applauded for, it's for giving old classics a new lease of life, and this particular title was destined for digital before anyone even knew what digital was. The Back to the Future Trilogy will, in most of us, invoke the same feeling of overwhelming nostalgia as when veiwing the original Star Wars trilogy.
It's been such a long time since I've viewed the original and wow, why did I wait so long before re-stepping back into the familiar DeLorean and riding through one of the most cleverly scripted and tightly paced films in history. I was blown away all over again by what the makers achieved in terms of, pretty much, everything. The performances are every bit as convincing and funny as you will remember and the sight of the DeLorean taking hair spin turns and breaking the time barrier only serve to ingrain this film deeply in your subconscious. It's simply what it set out to be, a thrill ride of honest intensity and adrenaline populated by sincere and truthful human characters that you generally care about.
The second part is, in more ways, even more successful. The plot is so tightly woven and controlled that you can't help but gasp at how much detail is included, from the Mc Fly family history to the correct way to turn on lights in the future. And for visual candy, you cannot beat the beauty of the flying DeLorean.
How much you enjoy the third will ultimately depend on how much you like westerns. While obviously retaining the style, wit and bravado of the BTTF legacy, it is alot more digestable in terms of plot and even set pieces. Though as a film by itself, it is a wonderful achievement in entertainment, viewing the installments in order may lead you to feeling ever so slightly let down by a conclusion to the one of the most twisted and brilliant trilogies ever to take place outside of a galaxy far, far away.
Keeping in tradition to the BTTF stamp of excellence, the extras on the DVD hit eighty eight miles per hour from the get go and rarely let up. Embarrassing other lesser DVD boxsets with it's desire to leave no stone unturned, we get 'on location' and retrospective documentaries examining the aspects and realities that the film makers endured in order to bring this adventurous tale to the silver screen. Cast and crew remincese fondly about how everyone involved was so excited about the potential of the script and the freshness that Michael J. Fox brought to the production. The star himself even sits in for a few interviews, giving himself wholeheartedly to talk about the movies that made him a household name.
While a frankly shocking reason is given to explaining Crispin Glover's absence in BTTF part 2 and therefore, all the extras thereafter, it is the absence of Doc Emmett Brown himself, Christopher Lloyd, that resonates most of all. Why he was not included in this celebration of the trilogy goes unexplained and therefore, unforgiven.
This minor gripe aside, this box set is for everyone who managed to hop onboard the DeLorean first time around. For others, this is the perfect medium and compliation to catch up with the time travelling duo as they were meant to be seen. It's astonishing how well the films have aged, and how much better than recent films they remain to be. A knockout!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Future Blu Ray- What an awesome Blu Ray transfer!, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I won't review or ramble on about the movies, it has been almost 30 years since BTTF 1, and most know what these three movies are about.

I will rave, however, about the quality of the Blu Ray transfer of the movie - in Blu Ray, it is crystal clear - I was floored by how crisp, clear and gorgeous the Blu Ray transfer was. I viewed it on a 65" Panasonic VT60 Plasma, and it was beautiful. Not all Blu Ray transfers of older movies fare as well. What is also nice is the movie is 1:85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen which means you get to view it full screen - no "watchband" like 2:35:1 here... that is always nice.

What is a bonus is that after almost 30 years, I STILL enjoy these movies. And more importantly, so do my 13 year old boys - which says a lot about how well done these were - it is very entertaining. I saw the original first movie in the theaters when it first came out, and I am still entertained from beginning to end.

So here we have a timeless set of movies which is still entertaining today, and one where the Blu Ray transfer allows you to watch it in crystal clear HD. Awesome.

5 stars all the way!!!

Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


201 of 254 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than an American Classic, November 16, 2002
Well, after too much Internet gossip and anticipation, we can finally enjoy the DVD version of this great trilogy. Actually, nothing needs to be said about the story or the fantastic crew that made it happen, everybody knows it (and if not, you're a caveman amongst other cavemen...or cave-women...). The DVDs have many extras you'll enjoy and then some...
Probably the most-talked about issue of this release is the product's interpretation of the soft matted original cut. If you dig deep enough in Internet sources, you'll read a mixture of positive and negative responses. Fact is, on this 1.85:1 version, you will see less picture information in height, and more in width than the 4:3 version. This movie was shot in soft-matted format, which basically means that the original prints were in a kind of '4:3' format, where in the upper and lower regions there is information that needs to be covered (the microfone syndrome...), and was not intended to be part of the screening of the film. This is done in theaters, and again with every video/ld/dvd release. This in contrast to 2.35:1 movies, or otherwise matted films and formats, in which case the widescreen format is 'directly' converted to DVD, and will give a much more complete film than the 4:3 viewing. But that's not the case here.
What all this means is that with the Back To The Future DVDs, a new matting has been applied that has converted the original soft-matted material to a new 1.85:1 format. This means that, like I stated earlier, when you compare the 4:3 VHS (that everybody knows) to this release, the 4:3 has some extra film top and bottom, and this DVD has some extra film left and right. This is what the 'confusion' on the Internet is all about. Some people, rightfully, indicate that they are missing peaces of the film (Marty's sci-fi jacked is f.i. not fully displayed in the DVD whereas it was on ld and VHS), but other information is added on the DVD (the hard matted special effects sequences). Thus, some people are inclined to say that this is not the original movie version. Actually, being a soft matted presentation in theaters in the mid '80's and later, it probably differed each time it was presented, with a different projector setting each time, resulting in a different matting and screening each time. This DVD version is just another interpretation of matting. And everybody has something to say about this one!
To make a long story short, please enjoy this classic and its many extra features, with or without the knowledge that in every different media format, there is a different viewing of this wonderful peace of family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn about matted Super 35, May 8, 2003
I was reading through the reviews and felt compelled to point out some misconceptions, especially in the review by the "Viewer from Wilmington". These movies were shot in Super 35, as some directors (Cameron) perfer to do. This method shoots a large, square area, with the idea that it will be matted when shown at a theatre. The director frames out what is SUPPOSED to be shown in each shot, whether it be 1.85:1 or 2:35.1. The point of widescreen is not to have more image shown, but to present the movie as it was shown at the theatre. The error for parts 2 and 3 is not that they are presenting a fake and deceptive letterbox image, but that when the engineer was matting a few scenes, the matted image was placed too high in the picture, therefore ommitting important information at the bottom.
So to sum up, the full frame version is all the actual visual information shot by the camera, while the widescreen version is the matted information that was intended by the director as all you should be seeing and is what was shown originally at the theatre. You can certainly prefer and buy whichever version you want, but you should at least have a correct understanding of what the choices are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part 1 looks great! Can now exchange 2 & 3!, January 1, 2003
The picture quality of these dvds is really pristine, and the extras are quite nice, though I would have liked to see more interviews with supporting cast members.
As many people have noted, parts 2 and 3 seem to have been matted too high on the open matte original print, so stuff tends to get cut off the bottom of the screen, like Marty's jacket and hoverboard in part 2. Plus there's too much headroom on many of the shots as a result. I just called the Universal DVD return hotline and they are offering a free replacement of those 2 wrongly matted dvds. You need to send in the 2 dvds (without the packaging they came in) to:
Back to the Future DVD Returns
PO Box 224468
Dallas, TX 75260
You need to include your name and full mailing address, along with your daytime phone number and reason for exchange.
I also noticed that on Part 1 when I try to watch the commentary with Michael J. Fox that it cuts out and takes me back to the menu screen around chapter 8 or so. Not a big deal but I do think it's a glitch that occurs in some dvd players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Framing Fiasco appears to be corrected., January 29, 2005
By 
j. (Upstate NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
1/29/05 - Happy Birthday Annette. I just received the 1/25/05 widescreen release of the BTTF trilogy release on 1/27/05, from Amazon/Borders, and I am very pleased. I have viewed all three movies and some of the special features. My set up is a 50 inch widescreen TV and a 6.1 sound system. The sound and vision was excellent. I was reluctant to purchase the trilogy, due to past poor reviews of the widescreen version with errors on disc 2 and 3, with letterbox black bars on the top and bottom. I did not detect any portion of scenes with less picture information or black bars on any of the movies. The viewing screen was filled, in my opinion, perfectly. The 5.1 re-master sounds great and is utilized very well. In fact, I am able to force on my two rear surround speakers in conjunction with my side surround speakers and my decoder fills my room with sound. The most obvious sound effect is within the last 15 minutes of disc one, where a helicopter sounds like it is circling the room from the right to rear to left. The viewer has the feeling of being in the center of the screen. Great Sound.......

The packaging on this new release has a cellophane wrapper indicating - All 3 movies! Lowest Price Ever. Own it before time runs out! Widescreen. I checked the DVDs to try and determine if indeed these were updated versions. The second DVD does have the obvious "V2" (for version 2) on the face near the bottom, after all rights reserved. The third DVD does not have "V2" on the bottom, as I was hoping. Thereafter, I placed the DVDs in my computer to check the contents date. Disc 1 (that never had any problems) had dates from 2002. Discs 2 and 3 had content dates from 2003. Just to be sure, I put the movie to the test and compared the noted problem scenes on the BTTF framing web site, and found disc three to be correct. So, I am satisfied and believe that I have updated versions of the widescreen DVDs.

NOTE: On a regular TV (Not Widescreen), there are the black letter box bars on the top and bottom of the screen, but they are not visible on my widescreen TV.

4/2/05. I recently watched all three movies for a second time and turned on the trivia track - A great special feature for another viewing. This trilogy is a definite purchase.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An inferior release, December 19, 2002
By 
Ben (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
Is there no quality control at Universal? Like many others who bought this box set immediately after it was released, I was very disappointed to find out (after it was released) that there were misframed shots in the widescreen editions of Parts II and III. I've never come across this problem with any other major studio release before, and it's quite disappointing to see a major DVD release such as this one suffering from this problem. Very disappointing - Buyer beware.. wait for the new presses coming out in February, or risk wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2159 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy [Blu-ray]
Back to the Future: 25th Anniversary Trilogy [Blu-ray] by Robert Zemeckis (Blu-ray - 2011)
$59.98 $27.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.