Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Back to the Future (Import) [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2009
On this release of the great BTTF movie, you get a 2 disc edition with extra features never released on DVD, nor even on the 4 disc region 4 release.

Obviously the movie is there, it was always good quality and great 5.1 sound on the rest of the editions, and nothing has changed for this one. Now included is a whole heap of new extras.

There is an Audio Commentary from Bob Gale and Niel Canton. It is an actual commentary now, not just the Q&A audio that played to the movie, or separately as audio depending on which edition you had, that other one is still on here, but this 2nd commentary is brand new, not a re-run.

As far as I can tell, all the extras from the other editions are still here. I own a heap of copies of different releases for this movie, and I get a little confused with what was on what; but I know the American fans will be pleased that extra deleted scenes that where only viewable on the region 4 bonus disc (4th disc) are now included in this release.
In particular, the full version of the scene when Doc is asked if he has a permit, and Marty wonders if he will go home gay. It's a great and funny scene.

Also included is the footage of the back to the future ride that used to be at Universal Studios. I went on that ride in 1993 (who cares), and it was great to see it again. It has two videos for the ride, the first one is the video you would watch while waiting in line for the ride... it's like a news cast and security camera video telling you about Doc's 1 day ride into the future (fictional) and the second video is what you actually saw when on the ride as you chase Biff Tannin through time. Just take note that the ride itself, you sat in a 6 seat Delorean and it moved and rocked around, so it may lose some translation while your sitting on your butt.

If you're not particularly interested in bonus features at all, and just watch the thing for the movie, then there is no reason to pick this version up. If you are like me, and love anything you can find of BTTF, you will enjoy this one. It's not just another cash-in release, it does actually have brand new features to enjoy.
55 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2000
"Back to the future" was the most successful film of the year 1985, and it is not hard to imagine why. This gloriously entertaining movie is still director Robert Zemeckis' best film to date.
The story itself is hardly original, but how it is told is outstanding. Not only that this film is funny, it succeeds in creating a certain atmosphere that is hard to describe. An atmosphere that you can feel and which distinguishes good movies from classics. You really connect with all the characters on screen. Michael J. Fox was born to play this role and Christopher Lloyd is simply sensationel as Doc Brown. They both will always be remembered because of this film. But let's not forget the supporting cast. Lea Thompson, Crispin Glover and of course Thomas F. Wilson are all the perfect choice for their parts. The score by Alan Silvestri and the Songs by Huey Lewis also became classics.
Each time someone asks me which movies I find the most entertaining of all time, I mention titles like: "Raiders of the Lost ark", "The Empire Strikes Back", some early Marx Brothers movies, "Pulp Fiction", and for sure "Back to the Future".
55 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2000
Back to the Future is one of those movies that you love to watch over and over again. You get so involved in the story, that (even if you aren't a sci-fi fan) you can't stop watching. Michael J. Fox is Marty McFly, a typical teenager who accidentally gets sent back to the year 1955 in Doc Brown's (Cristopher Loyd) time machine. There, he has to repair the damamge he has done by bringing his parents bac together and then of course get "Back to the Future. Lea Thompson, Crispin Glover, and Thomas F. Wilson are a wonderful supporting cast. Unfortunatey, this movie has been out of print for quite some time now. Amazon, PLEASE GET IT BACK! It hasn't even made it to DVD yet. If you ever get a chance to buy this movie then do it, it's worth every penny.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2002
It is now official the dvd we have all been waiting for will be released on december 17th.The dvd will have all three back to the future movies in a box set trilogy.Only the first one will be able to buy alone.All three dvds will feature commentary by the director and stars,deleted scenes,and making of's.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2002
Robert Zemeckis' excellent film starring Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd is one of my favourite movies of all time. Why? Well what's not to like? The time-travelling duo of Marty McFly (Fox) and Doctor Emmet Brown (Lloyd) is brilliant; Director Zemeckis (Who went on to direct two more BTTF films, Forrest Gump, What Lies Beneath and Castaway) and screenwriter Bob Gale pepper the film with sharp, witty lines (Marty McFly: Wait a minute, Doc. Ah... Are you telling me you built a time machine... out of a DeLorean? Doctor Emmet Brown: The way I see it, if you're gonna build a time machine into a car, why not do it with some style?)
Back to the Future has so many clever moments and a sense of fun throughout the film. Michael J. Fox is excellent, and Christopher Lloyd is in trademark crazy scientist mode. Add Alan Silverstris' memorable score, Spielberg's nice homage's- the theatre in 1955 when Marty goes back in time is showing a double bill: "A Boy's Life" (the working title for Spielberg, Steven's E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial), and "Watch the Skies" (the working title for Spielberg's Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977). The film, when it was released got excellent reviews, and became the biggest box-office hit of 1985. The sequels are great too, but this is still the best, and the most inventive.
I'm counting down the days till the DVD is released...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2003
I think I could have a compound fracture, file bankruptcy, lose my wife to a merchant marine, lance an ingrown toenail, and still forget all my troubles watching this little jewel of a film. BACK TO THE FUTURE is crisp, clean, witty, ingenious pull-up-a-chair-and-get-ready-to-laugh entertainment.
Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd strike up such an incredible chemistry--as the young Marty McFly and eccentric Dr. Emmet Brown--that I was hoping these guys would subsequently open up a sports bar on Long Beach and continue their interaction in front of wide-eyed patrons. When Marty is forced to flee enraged terrorists in Doc Brown's "time machine," a wicked DeLorean that suddenly transports the teenager back to 1955, the stage is set for a mesmerizing tale revolving around Marty's attempt (aided by a younger Doc Brown) to get "back to the future" while he just happens to interact with both of his parents: played by Lea Thompson and a geeky Crispin Glover. Marty's subsequent quest is delightful, entertaining, and downright funny; the film moves the viewer along smoothly, seamlessly, much akin to sipping a refreshing whiskey on a tranquil summer evening.
Kudos to director Robert Zemeckis for providing such an entertaining, finely crafted, well-made film. Ignore the moronic sequels: BACK TO THE FUTURE will get you back to smiling within a few tick-tocks of the current clock.
--D. Mikels
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
Recently shared this movie with my 9 year old. He loved it and I enjoyed watching it 15+ years after I watched it the first time. Everyone can identify with this story. It inspires the imagination and personally, it started a "back in the olden days" conversation between parent and child. Good stuff for the whole family.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
Saw it years ago. I still prefer the first of the 3 better than the dark side of the second in the trilogy. The story line is not plausible in general, but
it is fun to think of the existence of a time machine in any form. Most of us would like life to stand still at various stages in our life. Realistically,
we know that time machines and a fountain of youth are conditions that exist only in our imagination. The introduction of both fantasy items does
bring us some exciting story lines. I wish for Michael Fox, the magic of a time machine. It was a trip back to the good old days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
Haven't watched this movie in years all the way through. Mostly just watch parts on television when it is on. Last night I watched from beginning to end and I am happy that it holds up.

The acting is great, script great, concept great. Falls down a little for me when the chuck berry reference occurs since someone recently pointed out that in this one instance, the whole movie falls apart since chick never would have written the song had Marty not gone back.

Watch it and be happy it's still good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
It's kind of as good as when it first came out, but in a different way, or ways!
Fox stumbles about in confusion for the first part, but starts to settle down. The back and forth between times are great! It's nicely done if dated by crappy eighties/early nineties fashion sense, or nonsense!
Great to watch with my kids, although surprised by the use of words/phrases like s.o.b, s**t & h**l to name a few. It seems they used as much bad language as they could for a PG rated movie, so beware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse