Prime Music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Backyard Boogaloo [Remaster]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Backyard Boogaloo [Remaster]

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD

Product Details

  • Audio CD
  • Label: MTM
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Justin G. TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on November 4, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Snake Charmer was a side project of sorts for bassist Per Stadin (Silver Mountain) and drummer Anders Johannson (Hammerfall). The Swedes put together an album (1993's Smoke and Mirrors) with Alien's Pete Sandberg on vocals, and it was well enough received (in Japan) to prompt a follow-up release - 1998's Backyard Boogaloo.

For Backyard Boogaloo, Stadin and Johannson are joined by guitarist Benny Jansson (Tears of Anger, Ride the Sky), keyboardist Jens Johannson (Malmsteen, Stratovarius) and vocalist Goran Edman (ex-Malmsteen, Street Talk). The album continues along the same polished, melodic AOR direction as Smoke and Mirrors, and perhaps softens the overall sound even more. This is some very radio-friendly AOR, and no one does that kind of music like the Swedes. There are times when you wish they'd rock out a bit more though, especially since (given their history) you know they're all capable of it.

Backyard Boogaloo is a solid album throughout, but the band's cover of Bowie's "Life on Mars?" deserves special mention. Fans of high quality AOR/melodic rock acts like Alien, Kharma, and Street Talk should enjoy Snake Charmer. I think Smoke and Mirrors is the better album, but since it's all but impossible to find, Backyard Boogaloo is the next best thing.

Edition Notes: MTM Classix reissued Backyard Boogaloo in 2003. The reissue features remastered sound and is the first time the album has been released outside of Japan.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Miracle Man
2. Someday You're Going To Love Someone
3. Life on Mars?
4. Need a Little Help
5. Pretty Little Small Town Girl
6. Not a Day Without You
7. She Made Me Fall
8. Free Floating
9. Take a Look at Yourself
10. Cold Hearted Woman
11. White Noise Boogie
12. Heart of a Demon
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category