Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for children and adults!
As a longtime hardcore PC gamer, I surprisingly found this game to be a lot of fun with a nice simple interface. There are a couple modes to play from, starting with a Skirmish where you can play a quick game, or a season. There is also a multiplayer LAN-ONLY feature.
Starting with a season game, the interface first lets you choose which of the 31 football teams...
Published on October 17, 2001 by The H. Le

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy for Kids
My 6 year old son enjoys the game. What he enjoys may not be what you expect. The game allows kids to choose pro teams and pro football players (as kids.) My son enjoys picking the teams as much as he enjoys playing the game. A neat feature is an ability to mold a player, picking build, sex, hair style/color and playing ability. This is especially fun for kids...
Published on December 13, 2001 by Monica


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for children and adults!, October 17, 2001
By 
The H. Le "the_le" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
As a longtime hardcore PC gamer, I surprisingly found this game to be a lot of fun with a nice simple interface. There are a couple modes to play from, starting with a Skirmish where you can play a quick game, or a season. There is also a multiplayer LAN-ONLY feature.
Starting with a season game, the interface first lets you choose which of the 31 football teams will be in the season (you are allowed to choose about 25 of them), and which team you wish to play as your own. Each division also has a CUSTOM team that you can choose. You can customize this team's name and jersey colors. The team names are limited to the selections they give you, but this is for the purposes of the in-game announcers.
Then comes the player selections, which gives you a very wide variety. There are all sorts of players to choose from, from African Americans, Asians, Latinos, and many more. There is also a player in a wheelchair to choose from! The political correctness of this game is deep, which is a good thing for children. There are also a group of kids based on real NFL players, such as Ricky Williams, Brett Favre, Drew Bledsoe, and Junior Seau. The only gripe I have is the low number of these NFL players, and the fact that they only had current players and none of the recent greats like Dan Marino. This is a small gripe that is countered by the ability to create your own player. Although it is a custom player, you must choose one of the default nicknames -- because the announcers will use the nicknames during the game. Choosing the players is a lot of fun and has some strategy. For instance, one of the players plays better if you have pink uniforms, and another plays better if you also choose her twin sister for your team. Each player has rankings based on Passing, Running, Catching, Kicking, and Defense.
The game itself is very simple. Choose a play, click to hike the ball, and hold the mouse down in the direction you want to run, or click past the line of scrimmage to pass to a receiver. You can choose from 12 plays in your playbook. You can customize your playbook from existing plays, or make your own play. There is also the addition of special magic plays that are for 1 use only, and are awarded when your team does certain things (like run a lot of yards). An example is the leapfrog play. Your QB hands off to the RB, who then leaps over all the players for an instant 5 yards (great for goal line plays). Supersonic will cause a loud boom that will stun all opposing players for a few seconds for a free run. There are defensive special plays too. Overall the plays are varied enough to keep the play calling interesting, and the special plays are a lot of fun. You can also call a timeout to substitute your tired players with fresh players on the bench.
Scoring a touchdown is very interesting because when a player scores, all the players on the field clap their hands and cheer (even the opposing team). The scorer then does a custom victory dance. This is a very kid-friendly design that the developers chose.
There are 3 difficulty settings to be played, with lots of toggle switches. For example, you can turn off special plays, or turn on player fatigue.
The main gripe I have is that you cannot re-draft players between seasons, without starting a brand new team. But this is a minor concern since the game itself is a lot of fun.
The easy interface is simple yet effective, and the fun factor is very high. I recommend this game to any football fan out there, and parents who are looking for a fun and safe game for their children to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Backyard Football On Your PC...But No Calories Burned..., December 15, 2001
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
(...) Background
Backyard Football is one of a series of sports games for your personal computer. Other titles include Soccer and Baseball. These games are targeted for younger players, and are therefore, fairly simple to operate. This particular game is advertised for children between the ages of 5 and 10. However, I enjoy playing this game myself, and I am a little bit older than 10.
Directions
The game loads automatically when inserted into the CD-ROM drive. The version I purchased did not come with instructions, but I found that I didn't need them. The game is set up in an easy to understand format, that is extremely user friendly. The options allow the user to change the settings on the game, and includes an option to switch from mouse to gamepad. However, I kept the setting on mouse, and found that it was extremely easy to use in that mode. The game begins in the "Clubhouse" and allows a "menu" of options that are depicted with corresponding pictures. To draft a team, you click on the picture of a clipboard. To check out the playing fields, you click on a pair of binoculars. To begin, you click "play football." You can choose between single games, playoff games, and full season.
Gameplay
The gameplay is extremely easy. The point and click ease of your mouse makes the controls very simple. After picking a team, you can begin playing a season against division rivals. Each game rotates between a variety of fields and weather conditions (which can be turned off in the settings). The games consists of four quarters, which last one minute each. You take turns running the offense and defense. The objective, like real football, is to score points, while preventing your opponent from scoring more. For more advanced players, you can custom design your own plays, and add them to your playbook. When you are on offense, you are able to pick a play from the playbook that you think will outwit your opponents defense. The quarterback gets the ball by clicking the mouse. Then the cursor is moved to the place you want to throw the ball, and an additional click makes the quarterback throw. It is a good idea to throw to an open receiver, because there are plenty of interceptions in this game.
Graphics
I was surprised at how good the graphics on this game are. They are not advanced like the graphics you see on the adult sports games, but they have a great deal of detail. The players on the bench fidget and play during team selection, and the gameplay moves smoothly. The cartoon feel of the game makes it feel like you are creating your own cartoon version of a football game. The characters are interesting and have a wide range of characteristics. You even have an option of creating your own player, where you choose the hair style, head style, color, and physical abilities. When you are actually playing the game, the graphics aren't phenomenal, but they are way better than the magnetic football game that I had when I was a kid.
Bottom Line
My son is too young to play this game, and my daughter isn't very interested in sports. So, I have had this game all to myself. I like it. My son enjoys watching the game being played, but he isn't old enough yet to understand how to operate it (he is only two). My son loves sports, and I think he will probably log a few hours on this game as soon as he is old enough to play it (if I haven't worn it out first). The gameplay is interesting and held MY attention for several hours of play. After a while, I grew a little tired, because the game was too easy. Easy is good, though, for this age range.
I would recommend this game for children in the age range listed. I think older children would enjoy the game, as well. However, they will probably grow bored of the game after a while, because it is fairly easy to beat the computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game of the century!!, October 4, 2001
By 
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
Backyard Football 2002 is a great game. It's much better than the original. I recommend this game for ages 5-10. It has more NFL players and has better graphics. Make sure to find out about Backyard Basketball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool game, December 1, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
I have always love the backyard series. Especially football these games are for all ages. At least thats what I think. The backyard series gave me insperation to do my own games. Even though I am still 11 years old I like to program games.
I think that its cool that you can pick players from real football to put on your team. All the backyard characters have there own personality and its really cool to talk to them. Another good thing about the series is that the games are really cheap. I think it is worth the money and you will play it for a long time with out getting bord. But if you do buy it I would suggest putting it on the hardest level so it will take longer to beat the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy for Kids, December 13, 2001
By 
Monica (Pleasant Hill, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
My 6 year old son enjoys the game. What he enjoys may not be what you expect. The game allows kids to choose pro teams and pro football players (as kids.) My son enjoys picking the teams as much as he enjoys playing the game. A neat feature is an ability to mold a player, picking build, sex, hair style/color and playing ability. This is especially fun for kids. Playing the game is rather cumbersome, however. The computer does a lot of the work. You really only play one player. Plays are available but do not make much sense to a young kid. A good game. We've tried some of the others, backyard baseball and soccer (not basketball yet.) Baseball seems to require the most input but it is slow. My son likes soccer the best. Have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but I can't figure out why, March 3, 2003
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
It's true. This is the best football game I've ever played. It beats Madden and NFL 2K and Gameday and such. It's a bunch of kids playing football. Duh. It's so good, it's indescribable. But I'll try.
Season mode is great. Pick your seven kids, and go though a season. Simple as that. That's another great thing: This game is so simple, a 3 year old who can't even remember his name could do this easily. I figured it out in a day, and, by the end of the first week after I bought it, my Seahawks had won the Super Colossal Cereal Bowl over the Ornery Armadillos, 105-0. Seriously. Okay, it gets really easy after a while, but so what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, with a few acceptions, January 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
I think Backyard Football 2002 is great. The grafics are good, it is somewhat realistic and it is funny. The one problem is the characters that they put in the game. First, there aren't enough players in the game. I think it should be like Backyard Baseball 2003 where there is at least one player from each team. Another thing is there are too many pro quarterbacks and not enough pro defensive players and wide receivers. What about Charles Woodson, Jerry Rice, Keyshawn Johnson, Terrell Owens maybe (only if your desprate) Randy Moss, Derrick Brooks, Warren Sapp or Ray Lewis? My last complaint is why would you put Cade McNown? I mean, he had one lucky game and then he sucked the rest of his career. I would buy this game without question, if you don't mind a pro player shortage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again!, October 23, 2001
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
Humongus Entertainment made another great game. I've only had it a week and my friend and I are hooked. If you liked any of the other games then you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Backyard Sports does it agian, September 19, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
Humongous Sports has just launched another great sports game with this title. If you have ever played the original Backyard Football,your in for just as much and maybe even more fun. Added features include more fields,added pro players,more power ups, a full draft mode were other teams select players,and speedier game play. The only down part is that kicking is incredibly tough and The pass routes can get a little confusing. But all in all this is a wonderful game. If your a fan of the backyard series this is an absloute must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good on my system, December 6, 2001
By 
Michael Shenon (Pleasanton, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac (Video Game)
I have a Pentium 200 MHz, with 64 MB RAM, and a 4X Speed CD-ROM. This meets the minimum system requirments to play the game. The play was extremely slow and choppy. I'm no computer expert but if you buy this game, I hope you have a faster system than I do. Otherwise you will probably be extremely unhappy as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac
Backyard Football 2002 - PC/Mac by Infogrames (Mac, Windows)
$19.99 $8.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.