Bacon Sandwiches & Salvation and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$13.35
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.00
  • Save: $1.65 (11%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Bacon Sandwiches & Sa... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Bacon Sandwiches & Salvation: A Humorous Antidote for the Pharisee in All of Us Paperback – November 29, 2008

9 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.35
$10.24 $9.35

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$13.35 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Bacon Sandwiches & Salvation: A Humorous Antidote for the Pharisee in All of Us + The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass, Aged 37 3/4
Price for both: $25.05

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Adrian Plass ins a writer and speaker who has produced over thirty books in the last twenty years. The best know of these is probably The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass, a gentle satire of the modern church, which has sold hundreds of thousands of copies worldwide.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 251 pages
  • Publisher: IVP Books (November 29, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0830856072
  • ISBN-13: 978-0830856077
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.7 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,963,908 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Adrian Plass is one of today's most significant and successful Christian authors, and he has written over thirty books, including his latest, Looking Good Being Bad - the Subtle Art of Churchmanship. Known for his ability to evoke both tears and laughter for a purpose, Plass has been reaching the hearts of thousands for over fifteen years. He lives in Sussex, England with his wife, Bridget, and continues to be a cricket fanatic

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Darren Cronshaw on March 31, 2010
Format: Paperback
Adrian Plass, Bacon Sandwiches and Salvation: An A-Z of the Christian Life (London, Authentic, 2007)

Reviewed by Rev Dr Darren Cronshaw

In the tradition of The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass, Alien at St Wilfred's and View from a Bouncy Castle, Adrian Plass' new book Bacon Sandwiches and Salvation offers humorous and insightful observations of the life of faith and church.

Most of the book is definitions of aspects of church and faith, from `agape love' (kissing with your mouth open) to `Zap flap' (a small hinged door in the gates of heaven through which dirty stop-out believers or angels can find their way back in after midnight).

It made me laugh many times, and smile all the more. In the midst of quirky stories and humorous anecdotes, he made me ponder and question my approach to witness, worship, the Third World, parenting and friendships. It got me thinking afresh about how I view the gospel and God and the way God loves people with a passion.

It helped me with a few current study projects of mine too on guidance, evangelism and Jesus in the gospels:

Door: means of metaphorical entrance and exit that God appears to spend much of his time frenziedly opening and shutting in the lives of believers who are paralysed without inch-by-inch guidance.

Alpha: Outreach system that has brought thousands to faith, but has left in its wake a small, deeply confused group of people who have mistakenly asked Nicky Gumbel into their lives.

Gospel writers: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. Serious historical and theological research strongly suggests that, contrary to popular tradition, it is extremely unlikely that any one of these four significant individuals went to bed with their trousers on.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By David Crumm on October 13, 2009
Format: Paperback
I'm a fan of Adrian Plass' work, have enjoyed his talks and have interviewed him a number of times over the years. I'm thrilled that other reviewers here are enjoying and recommending his book. I'm highly recommending it as well. But let me clear up a couple of possible misconceptions my reviewing colleagues may have (unintentionally) passed along.
Not all the words have three forms of definition. In fact, most don't. The book is written in the grand literary tradition of Ambrose Bierce's 1911 The Unabridged Devil's Dictionary or Frederick Buechner's Wishful Thinking: A Seeker's ABC. The idea is wisdom through humor.
Adrian is a beloved satirical writer from Britain. He's evangelical to the core of his being--and equally restless with a lot of the pomposity that passes for faith. What drives his life and letters is a faith that moves him to break down all barriers to Christian compassion. Understanding that life's focus, then his razor wit is good fun in slicing away a lot of the baggage that infuriates Christians as much as non-Christians.
The reviewer who says she's uncertain of the accuracy of some of the definitions--well, please don't buy this book hoping for an encyclopedic resource.
I laughed when I read his definition of Leviathan: "long-distance race for Old Testament men wearing jeans." That's a classic Adrian Plass line. But, no, not a shred of truth to the reference.
The book is good fun and the laughter is pure in spirit. It's a nice gift for a Christian friend. Going through the book with a small group also is guaranteed to spark spirited discussion!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By M. C. Pearson on September 29, 2009
Format: Paperback
I wanted this book a while ago. We were supposed to tour it on Non~FIRST when it was still going, but something happened to the publication date. Anyway, I have it now! And it is HYSTERICAL. This may sound a bit gross, but it is the perfect book to put beside the toilet. It is one of those books that you don't read in one sitting. It is meant to be read a little at a time. My 14 year old son snatched it from me and has hogged it ever since. His favorite part was the definition 'Damnation: (1) condemnation to eternal punishment; (2) Holland.'
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Wyn on August 30, 2009
Format: Paperback
This book is hilarious. I love British humour and since the author is a retired British magistrate guess what, the humour is British. Also, since the author is a member of the Church of England (Anglican) many of the daffynitions include references to the Anglican Church. But, I think that most readers are familiar enough with Anglican-isms to understand the references. The words are presented in 3 basic methods, a regular definition, a silly definition (many with both) and a real life story that many times shares the short falls of how we represent Christianity to the world of unbelievers. My whole family enjoys this book and it has the place of honour in the bathroom beside the throne.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By L.M. on March 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This entire book is nothing but a list of silly definitions. I wish I could get my money back. I can't believe I spent almost ten dollars on this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Bacon Sandwiches & Salvation: A Humorous Antidote for the Pharisee in All of Us
This item: Bacon Sandwiches & Salvation: A Humorous Antidote for the Pharisee in All of Us
Price: $13.35
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com