Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Format: DVDChange
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2013
Yes, Verow's films are sometimes too gritty, in-your-face, wild, or lo-fi for some. Not me, that's part of what I love about them. I love "Bad Boy Street" too, and I feel I can safely recommend it to those open-minded viewers who may yet be a bit hesitant when it comes to Todd Verow.

The film is shot entirely in Paris, France, and visually has a nice blue-grey look to some of the scenes, and is very pleasing to the eye throughout. There is more of a soft, celluloid look to Bad Boy Street than most of Verow's digital movies. The movie is basically a love story between handsome Claude (played by Yann de Monterno), a Parisian man, and Brad (played by Kevin Miranda), a younger sexy man who is not from Paris (you'll find out Brad's home later in the film). This is not a May-December romantic pair, but more like a May-August affair. Claude finds young Brad passed out cold on a side street, walks past, then has second thoughts and goes back to pick him up (literally) and takes Brad home with him. From that point, their affair goes through the usual ups & downs, but with some unusual twists and secrets. Verow, who stars in some of his films (or at least a quick cameo ala Hitchcock) has a small role as a sleazy character who threatens Claude's and Brad's closeness.

Florence d'Azemar, a beautiful actress with much European film and television work to her credit, portrays Catherine, a long-time friend of Claude. I found their friendship both very touching and at other times very vexing, as their closeness sometimes spills over into intrusiveness on Catherine's part - showing up at the wrong time, or with inappropriate gestures. But when either Claude or Catherine need a friend, they know that they can always depend on each other for support and companionship.

"Bad Boy Street" has some partial nudity from both de Monterno and Miranda (both men are very attractive with very fine physiques), but no full-frontal genital nudity, in case you need to be warned. But if you need to be warned about that, I'm sure that you could find something else about "Bad Boy Street" for complaint. The sex scenes between Claude and Brad are not blatantly explicit (as in "This part goes here, then that part goes there"), but they are beautifully erotic, highly-charged, convincing, and well filmed by Verow.

The DVD extras include extended and deleted scenes and bloopers, making up over an hour of bonus material. These are not to be missed, as included are some breath-takingly beautiful scenes by Verow of the River Seine beneath rose and gold clouds in a twilight sky.

"Bad boy Street" is written, directed, photographed and edited by Todd Verow, co-produced by Verow and long-time collaborator James Derek Dwyer. Greg Sabo's original soundtrack music is at times beautifully serene, and at other times much more lively and upbeat. Sabo also does music for Verow's new thriller, Tumbledown. The three main actors - deMonterno, d'Azemar, and Miranda are each credited with additional dialog.

Actor Yann de Monterno has appeared in two prior Todd Verow films, The Boy With the Sun in His Eyes, based on Dwyer's book of the same title, also Hooks to the Left. Actor Kevin Miranda has appeared in several French films and two French tv series. Together, de Monterno and Miranda were the cast of the short 2012 film "Consent".

As a post-script, I'd like to mention a couple of things. First: In an interview about "Bad Boy Street", Todd Verow refers to the part of the film where the character Brad is found passed out face down in the gutter, and asks who of us hasn't been in that situation? Then later on in the interview, Verow begins one of his replies with "Gee". I think this example of been there, done-it-all, combined with a "gosh" attitude is at the heart of many Verow films.
Second: In an apparent effort to thwart the purpose of IMDB, James Derek Dwyer is also sometimes credited as James Dwyer or Jim Dwyer.
11 comment33 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
A nice low-budget film with solid acting and directing and a decent script. The repetitive background music got annoying after a while, but other than that I quite enjoyed it. And I definitely didn't mind spending an hour and eighteen minutes with Kevin Miranda. Call me.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
This latest film by auteur Todd Verow is a surprising and refreshing departure from what one expects from this unconventional filmmaker. Although not his first venture in a foreign setting it has a very Gallic touch and sensibility like French cinema of the past. The wonderfully sublime but poignant performances of Yann de Monterno and Florence d'Azémar as two lonely and devoted friends anchors this quiet romantic delight. But it is famed French film/TV actor, Kevin Miranda of 'Hollywood Girls' who brings unintended spark and impassioned intensity to Claude's (de Monterno) mundane existence and bountiful eye candy to the film itself. This is not breakthrough story telling and deficiencies in the film and its production is soon forgotten when the story zeros in on the dichotomy of the accidental lovers, intimate raw scenes of the two and the mystery veiled with character of Brad (Miranda). Verow's jab at American 3D films' popularity is a hoot. Finally, some of the outtakes on the Extra features can be expanded and made into a separate featured DVD of beautiful Brad and Claude for a more appreciative audience. Kudos to Todd Verow...Bad Boy Street a must own DVD!
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
I love this honest to goodness gay love traingle between fame and familiarity. An actor who knows he is gay and an older gentleman who knows who he is come together in this touching film. Don't let the title fool you!
0Comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
OK, I watched this film because I like gay movies. I keep watching it because the couple is so handsome and the story line is, for lack of a better word, cute. Favorite part - Claude in his black skivvies bringing Brad his clothes. Favorite line - "Whatever you want."

Most of the music is horrible and the one character that shows up with the agreement to sign makes my skin crawl.

Because of this and the movie Weekend, I'm missing out on some sleep.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
I loved the story line. At first I wasn't too comfortable with the lead charactor. A bit misterious and wasn't sure of his motive. But later as the story began to unfold his charm and personality was unvailed.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
Not at all what you expect it to be it is a wonderful story that will restore your faith in true love against all odds love wins and it is a feel good movie and Brad is awesome to watch He is a great actor that will ho;d you captive til the very end enjoy !!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
An interesting movie. Initially, I kept wondering where this film was going. By the end I realized this was a wonderful satire by the French on the American film industry. The two main actors, one is French, the other is supposed to be American. Yet throughout the movie I couldn't buy into him being American, strange accent. With research, the 'American' is actually a straight French actor. That coupled with a French version of an American film almost had me laughing as if this was a comedy. A different kind of film, with a different kind of message made for me a good viewing experience.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
That's what happens when you mix deep French and phony American Movies = A deeply-phony French-American MESS. LOL.

The good: ... the acting / actors are all three are pretty good. Paris is portrait wonderful.

The bad: ... the movie has no depth - it pretends to have depth ... but it feels phony / cliche.

The ugly: ... the male characters when TOGETHER are reduced to sex & hang overs. And, some of the camera angles are just too close for comfort, at the wrong time.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
I ventured to purchase this DVD - because it was set in Paris, one of the world's most beautiful cities - AND, because of the very appealing
young man on the cover. Let me just say that BOTH met all expectations.
The acting in this film is superb. The older male finds a young man passed out on "Bad Boy Street," and takes him home with him. Quite
unexpectedly, this young man - who is S-E-X-Y beyond belief, and American - initiates sexual contact. The older man dares to hope there might
be a future relationship . . . and it would at first seem that this will occur. BUT - after being stood up, hurt and disillusionment smash those hopes.
I found this to be an up-and-down roller coaster ride for the protagonist - who goes from complete elation and joy at first to later feelings of loss
and abandonment. These emotions were perfectly played by the elder Frenchman, and his facial expressions, as captured by photography,
reveal every moment of his thinking. There is a certain amount of mystery in the young American, as portrayed by that actor, but reveling in
his "beauty" is by far the most enjoyable part of the movie. (In the deleted scenes, MUCH of this young man is on display, as he wakes up
from his hangover, and explores the Frenchman's apartment in nothing but a towel. Yes. He IS nude under that towel.) That said, the lack
of certainty regarding the younger guy's background and intentions does create a certain amount of suspense throughout the film.
The movie is also very "French". The street scenes, the older man's apartment, and the contemporary score all speak of Paris. Another highlight
is the character played by the older man's female friend - who is there for him through all of his "gay" uncertainties and mood swings. She is
not young, but her elegance and "French-ness" makes her a favorite. Every gay man should have a friend like her, and a bedmate like the
young American.
I loved this film - as it seemed true to me. Many men seek relationships, and yet, the inevitable sex that often precedes establishing a friendship -
as with these characters - makes any future relationship seem completely uncertain. That problem is conveyed exactly as I believe it occurs.

is by far the best part of the film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.30
$13.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.