Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stories of some passionate Australians
Bad Boys Down Under is one of the best Bad Boys books I've read in awhile. I'm a big fan of Brava's Bad Boys themed books, but as of late none of them have really caught my attention. Well, that all changed with Nancy Warren's latest book. Each story in this book had me hooked from the first page to the last and I thought each story was truly original and...
Published on July 11, 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glad I only paid $1.50 for it
Of the three stories, the least likable is unfortunately the first. The `hero' in that story is a self-made millionaire who invites the engaged `heroine' to his company to create a marketing plan. Without telling her, he ensconces her in his home instead of a hotel and meets her there, reclining naked in a hot tub. He then proceeds to flash her to get out of the hot tub...
Published on May 23, 2005 by camille


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stories of some passionate Australians, July 11, 2004
Bad Boys Down Under is one of the best Bad Boys books I've read in awhile. I'm a big fan of Brava's Bad Boys themed books, but as of late none of them have really caught my attention. Well, that all changed with Nancy Warren's latest book. Each story in this book had me hooked from the first page to the last and I thought each story was truly original and entertaining.
My personal favorite of the three stories, "Sizzling in Sydney" was the first of the book. It features marketing wizard Jennifer Talbot and surfboard millionaire Cameron Crane. Cam knows he needs Jen's help with his campaign to provide surf boards to the U.S., he just never knew how much he would come to want sexy Jen for herself. Unfortunately, there are a few problems standing in their way, not the least of which is Jen's engagement to another man. Will Cam and Jen find their happily-ever-after?
Like I said, this was my favorite of the book. Jen and Cam were great couples and Cam was an amazing hero. He was sweet, funny, and not afraid to prove to Jen that he was the man for her. There were lots of laughs in this story, along with Nancy Warren's trademark sensuality. A great story that will satisfy any reader.
"Surfer Boy" is the second story in this book, and it is another great read. Steel worker Steve Jackson has taken a part time modeling career with Crane surfboards, to promote the boards in California. He arrives in California and has quite the first encounter with ad executive Lise Atwater. From then on, the heat just keeps going up as these two great characters fall desperately in love. But how will they be able to stay together, when they live on opposite ends of the world.
This was a great story too. You will not be let down as you see these two characters drop their masks in order to find happiness with each other.
The last story is "The Great Barrier" and yet again, this is a superb example of Nancy Warren's story telling abilities. Mark Forsythe is feeling down since his ex-fiancee, Jen Talbot, dumped him for Cameron Crane. He's determined to drop his good boy image and live it up in Australia because he doesn't think he has anything to lose. Women don't seem to like the good guys in life. Bronwyn Spencer is assigned by her half-brother Cameron Crane to watch over Mark while he's in Australia. She just never realized how attracted she was going to be to the accountant.
This is probably the steamiest of the stories, but yet again, it is filled with emotions and lots of love and laughter. There isn't a story in this collection that will leave you disappointed. I can only hope that future "Bad Boys" titles live up to Nancy Warren's Bad Boys Down Under.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys, Bad Boys....hmmmm, July 7, 2004
By 
Robin E. Snodgrass "recs5664" (Jefferson City, Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say? I LOVED this book! The characters were seemed so real the I felt like I got to know them. They each had insecurities and flaws that made them more human to me. The stories themselves (3 short novellas which are interconnected but distinctly different)were entertaining and interesting.
Two of the stories (the first and third) take place "Down Under" in Australia and were highly entertaining and romantic. I wasn't actually sure that I would like Cameron Crane upon first "meeting" him but grew to like him right along with Jennifer. The second and sweetest story was set in America and had a hunky bad boy named Steve as the lead man - yummy! The third story had a double connection to the first and was funny at times and poignant at others.
This is a must read for romance fans! If you've not given Ms. Warren's books a chance before, here's the perfect opportunity! I'd warn you though, you might become addicted - especially to those wonderful alpha males / bad boys! Definitely better than chocolate! (And sexy too!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys have never been so good!, August 23, 2004
Cam knows surfing, but he's not sure what to make of Jen...a woman's who's come to Australia to help him figure out how to take his surfing empire to the US. She's there for business, but Cam soon has other plans!

Steve is sent to the US to represent Cam's surfing company in the new ad campaign. Lise is supposed to turn the rugged iron worker into a model. But rather than turning him into anything, he's turning her on!

Cam's little sister, Bron, is known as a party girl. But when she meets Crane's new accountant nothing seems to balance. She's not sure what to make of their instant attraction. But lucky for her, Mark knows how things add up!

Three couples, three matches that seem less than perfect, turn out to be perfectly wonderful stories of surf, sun...and a healthy dose of love! Nancy Warren shines like never before. Bad Boys have never been so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glad I only paid $1.50 for it, May 23, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of the three stories, the least likable is unfortunately the first. The `hero' in that story is a self-made millionaire who invites the engaged `heroine' to his company to create a marketing plan. Without telling her, he ensconces her in his home instead of a hotel and meets her there, reclining naked in a hot tub. He then proceeds to flash her to get out of the hot tub. Lovely. Knowing she is engaged, he nonetheless then decides to seduce her to show her who is boss. Also lovely. Then they somehow `fall in love' (that is, fall in lust) and she succumbs - only after removing her engagement ring in the bathroom. She justifies her actions by saying she couldn't possibly feel so attracted to Mr. Flasher if she was truly in love with her fiance. So great -- good to go and let's hit the sheets now that we've justified it. She then proceeds to screw the guy like a bunny the entire remaining time of her trip, with a small lull in the festivities to break up with her fiancé over the phone. When the fiancé asks Miss Sensitive why she couldn't wait until she came home to do this in person, her response was that she wanted to have a nice final week with her screw mate and couldn't if she was feeling guilty over being still technically engaged. What a shame! Boo hoo to her. I certainly prefer characters to feel `real' as opposed to perfect gods and goddesses, but these two characters are the type I wouldn't want to have dinner with, let alone leave my spouse alone with.

The second story involving the model the first heroine found in Australia and sent back to the States for `grooming' is much better. The third, involving the jilted fiancé and the first hero's sister is totally implausible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys Down Under is a so-so read!, April 24, 2009
By 
Susie (Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
Bad Boys Down Under isn't great, but it isn't terrible. Somewhat mediocre. The first story is my least favorite. Jennifer Talbot comes to Australia to help Cameron Crane, a filthy rich entrepreneur. He wants to expand his company to the States and Jennifer is hired to handle marketing and expansion. Cameron has heard of the great reputation that Jennifer has in helping companies, but he also wants to seduce Jennifer into his bed. Jennifer is engaged to be married to Mark Forsthye, a tax accountant back in the States. What ticks me off about this story is that A) Cameron could care less that Jennifer is engaged and he continues to pursue her B) Jennifer ends up cheating on her fiance with him. She tries to make herself look better by taking off her engagement ring before they jump into the sack together. C) She neglects to break off her engagement immediately. It seems like at least a week goes by of her sleeping with Cameron before she breaks it off. Enough said! I didn't like this story that much. Moving on...

The second story is about Steve Jackson, a steel worker who gets hired to do some modeling and advertising for Cameron Crane's (from the first story) surf board company. He is sent to the U.S. so that he can get proper training and have a screen test and pics made. What he gets is Lise Atwater in a hilarious airport scene who is hired to help Steve become the perfect model/spokesman for the Crane company. I enjoyed this story the most. Steve thought at first that Lise was a party girl and Lise thought at first that Steve was an arrogant model. When they realize that they had the wrong impressions of each other, things start to take off with them in the romance department. But Steve is going back to Australia in a few weeks, and Lise will be going back to her normal, boring routine life. Cute story!

The third story is about Cameron Crane's half-sister, Bronwyn Spencer, and Mark Forsthye (Jennifer Talbot's ex-fiance from the first story). Mark comes to Australia to come work for Cameron's company for a short time. He also wants to see Jennifer for himself to see if she is as happy as she says that she is. Mark was burned badly by Jennifer and he wants to not get hurt again. So he adopts a bad boy, love-em and leave-em attitude which doesn't work because he meets Bronwyn. Bronwyn wants Mark. Soon after meeting, Bronwyn and Mark get hot and heavy pretty quick like and Bronwyn tries her hardest to get Mark to change his mind about adopting bad boy ways. There are some humorous scenes with Bronwyn trying to get other women to leave Mark alone. This story was definitely the funniest of the three. What Mark doesn't know is that Bronwyn is trying to get Mark to fall for her and her only and that she is also Cameron's half-sister. Wait until he finds out the truth! This is a cute story too, although somewhat unbelievable, it's still cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Aussie Collection!!!, August 27, 2004
This was a fun book. The three stories penned by the talented Nancy Warren are not only different as far as setting, but the hero's are as unique as the country of OZ!

I highly recommend this short set of stories that tie together perfectly (it starts with Sizzling Sydney and Cam and Jennifer, and ends with Cam's sister Browyn and Jennifers ex-Mark) and you are left with a smile on your face and if your like me a hugh desire to head on down to Aussie Land!

The stories are fun fast paced reads and are perfect for anytime. Ms. Warren has established herself as a very talented author and one that I recommend as a fun way to pass time.

Official Reviewer for [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 ˝ to 4 stars for three stories - fun fluffy romance reads. Characters fall in love quickly. None of my pet peeves., February 15, 2007
By 
Jane (Chicago, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
3 ˝ stars for SIZZLING IN SYDNEY.
Cam is a surfer who started a surfboard business and became a multi-millionaire in Australia. He recently hired Jennifer (from California) to create a marketing campaign to introduce his surfboards to the U.S. Jennifer flies to Sydney, and Cam insists she stay in one of his homes rather than a hotel. From the moment he sees her, he wants to seduce her and he repeatedly lets her know it. Jennifer is engaged to Mark and doesn't want to be seduced. There is a lot of talk about seduction and wanting to have sex.

Data: Story length: 110 pages. Number of sex scenes: 2. Total number of sex scene pages: 2. Setting: current day Australia.

4 stars for SURFER BOY.
Steve is a steelworker temporarily laid off. When Jennifer (previous story) sees Steve, she knows he would be perfect as the model and spokesman for the surfboard marketing campaign. Steve doesn't want to be a model, but the money is too good to refuse. He flies to San Francisco where he is met by Lise. Jennifer hired Lise to work with Steve. Lise is a workaholic, but Steve erroneously thinks she's a party girl. Lise erroneously thinks Steve is a self-absorbed superficial model. They become attracted to each other as they spend time together. Steve is not an actor and has a hard time showing a sexy look needed for the ads. It was kind of cute hearing Steve tell Lise he needed motivation to read his lines and/or to look a certain way. So Lise had to do some things to motivate him - so out of character for her, but it worked.

Data: Story length: 94 pages. Number of sex scenes: 3. Total number of sex scene page: 11. Setting: current day San Francisco, California.

4 stars for THE GREAT BARRIER.
Bron is a successful clothing designer for Cam's surfboard business. She is also Cam's sister. She loves to party and is irresponsible with money. She loses her apartment due to past due rent, so she moves into Cam's guest house without telling him. Cam hires Mark from the U.S. to provide tax and accounting help regarding Cam's expansion into the U.S. market. Mark was Jennifer's fiancé (in the first story). Jennifer broke up with him, and now Mark wants to repair his ego by sleeping with a different woman every night. Cam asks Bron to meet Mark at the airport and take him to the guest house. For Bron it's love at first sight. She wants to talk Mark into letting her stay at the guest house (since she has no place to live). He is reluctant because it will interfere with his sleeping with different women. Bron does some interesting things to keep women away from him.

Data: Story length: 86 pages. Number of sex scenes: 2. Total number of sex scene pages: 6. Setting: current day Australia.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Data for all three stories: Swearing language: moderate, including religious swear words. Sexual language: moderate. Copyright: 2004. Genre: contemporary romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 fun, sexy stories!!, October 29, 2005
Sizzling in Sydney

Sexy, successful entrepreneur Cameron Crane wants to expand his surf business into the US market and has hired marketing whiz, Jennifer Talbot to develop a plan. Cam's plan is to seduce Jennifer when she arrives from San Francisco to gain control of their business relationship. But smart, bold, and sexy Jennifer is on to his game and doesn't fall into his bed. Cam finds her resistance irresistible and wooing Jennifer becomes his number one priority.

Cameron's Australian humor and earthy good looks are powerfully attractive. Cam just oozes charisma. His keen business sense only adds to his charm. His attraction to Jennifer is understandable, as she is clever and smart. I loved the humor and sensual love scenes. After reading this story I was eager for more!

Surfer Boy

Lise Atwater, the ad-exec in charge of Crane's new American ad campaign is a work-a-holic. Her assignment is to take Australian Steve Jackson and turn him into the spokesman for Crane surf products. Due to a series of mishaps, hard working and serious minded Steve believes Lise to be an American party girl. From his picture, Lise is sure that the gorgeous Steve is a partying surfer using modeling to pay for his surfer lifestyle. Consumed with lustful attraction, will these two find they have a lot in common, including love?

Of all the heroines in this anthology, I am most jealous of Lise. Steve is a dream come true! Gorgeous, lusty and smart, I am crazy for this hero! Together these two are hot, hot, HOT! The love scenes are intense and I adored the romance between these two.

The Great Barrier

Dumped by his fiance, Mark Forsythe is on the rebound. Arriving in Australia to re-vamp Crane's accounting division, Mark is determined to live the playboy lifestyle, a different woman every night. Imagine his surprise to find the delectable and free-spirited Bronwyn Spencer living in his temporary housing and seducing him with come-hither looks. Unable to fight his powerful attraction to Bron, Mark re-evaluates his playboy agenda. But will Mark let hurt over his broken engagement ruin his chance at love and happiness with Bron?

Poor Mark never knew what hit him! If I didn't know that Bron was exactly what he needed, I'd feel sorry for him. The lengths she goes to in order to scare off other women made me laugh out loud. Mark isn't exactly a push-over though, and I love how he protects Bron from her brother's anger. These two are perfect for each other and their love story is both sensual and humor filled.

Bad Boys Down Under is a terrific anthology. All three stories are fun, sexy and filled with romance. Each short story was well written and fully developed. Well worth the lost sleep! Having recently discovered Nancy Warren, this anthology confirms my opinion. Nancy Warren writes great romances!

Annabelle

Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd hoped, August 27, 2006
Unless you are familiar with this author or like the less, ahem, graphic love scenes, you will be disappointed in this anthology. The stories were okay but not really that imaginative. Hard for me to get invested in the characters much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys Down Under Review, July 19, 2007
I really loved this book the only thing was that it took a really long time to get to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Boys Down Under (Bad Boys Series)
Bad Boys Down Under (Bad Boys Series) by Nancy Warren (Paperback - July 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.