Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD COMPANY (supergroup/super album)
Bad Company (1974) is the self-titled debut album from the British rock n' roll supergroup that included vocalist Paul Rodgers (Free), guitarist Mick Ralphs (Mott The Hoople), bassist Boz Burrelll (King Crimson) and drummer Simon Kirke (Free). It was the first album ever to be released on Led Zeppelin's Swan Song record label, and was a smashing critical and commercial...
Published on May 13, 2009 by ol' nuff n' den sum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album by a Great band
I boungh this CD recently, I used to have 10 from 6 a Greatest hits album, but wanted the original album. This one arrived with no scratches and imported into iTunes just fine.
Published on January 23, 2013 by Paul Fields


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD COMPANY (supergroup/super album), May 13, 2009
By 
ol' nuff n' den sum (the Virginia coast, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Bad Company (1974) is the self-titled debut album from the British rock n' roll supergroup that included vocalist Paul Rodgers (Free), guitarist Mick Ralphs (Mott The Hoople), bassist Boz Burrelll (King Crimson) and drummer Simon Kirke (Free). It was the first album ever to be released on Led Zeppelin's Swan Song record label, and was a smashing critical and commercial success; it reached #1 on Billboard's pop album chart that same year.

The album is loaded with potent electric-guitar rock and classic songs like the catchy hit single Can't Get Enough and their piano-anchored renegade theme song, Bad Company.

Rebel souls...
Deserters we are called
Chose a gun
And threw away the sun

Paul Rodgers is one of the most expressive and soulful singers in rock music history, and his gutsy vocal performance here is the guiding force on hard driving R&B-flavored rockers like Rock Steady and Movin' On. The achingly yearning Ready For Love was written by Mick Ralphs and previously recorded by Mott The Hoople (it's on All The Young Dudes). Bad Company made the song an enduring classic with this heartfelt version.

All my dues surely must be paid
Many miles and many tears
Times were hard but now they're changing
You should know that I am not afraid

Bad Company isn't complicated. It's not artsy. This is bluesy and soulful working-class rock n' roll. The album was a historically significant debut and one of the true classics of the 1970s. It quietly closes with the acoustic and somber Seagull.

Seagull you fly across the horizon
Into the misty morning sun
Nobody asks you where you are going
Nobody knows where you are from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Company puts out one of the best Seventies debut albums, January 29, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Bad Company's self-titled 1974 debut release was the first album to come out on the Swan Song label other than Led Zeppelin. Fortunately it proved to be one of the better debut albums of the decade representing good old fashioned back to the basics rock 'n' roll. "Can't Get Enough" with its catchy guitar lick was the big hit off of the album, but my fav track is still the moody title track (i.e., "Bad Company" off of Bad Company's "Bad Company" album). Bad Company was a supergroup, with singer Paul Rodgers and drummer Simon Kirke coming from Free, guitarist Mick Ralphs from Mott the Hoople, and Boz Burrell from King Crimson and having more success than all of those groups put together with this first album. Following the Led Zeppelin model, strong vocalist Rodgers and blues-based guitarist Ralphs provide the heart and soul of the music, giving Bad Company its signature sound. Meanwhile, do you think AC/DC got their idea for the cover of "Back in Black" from this one? Unfortunately it was all downhill for the group from this first effort, with "Straight Shooter" being a step down and "Run with the Pack" continuing the slide. If you pick up their hits collection "10 from 6" (which ignores one of the first six albums anyhow) you will get the four best tracks from this one, which is the only album from Bad Company that really stands alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liberated, if not Free, July 17, 2001
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
This album has to be played loud! If you have neighbours or family who might complain, play it through headphones or play it in the car. But to do this album justice, don't play it quietly in the background. The drums sound particularly good on this remastered edition.
Bad Company almost defined stadium rock. Always more highly regarded in the US than in their native England, the band was formed from the remnants of Free, whom many believed had been the greatest British blues-rock band. Their final album, 'Heartbreaker' (1972), was a masterpiece whose qualities have become increasingly clear over the years. I remember my astonishment at the time that the sublime (but dead) Paul Kossoff was effectively being replaced on guitar by Mick Ralphs from the rather lightweight Mott the Hoople. And who was this Boz Burrell on bass? Which King Crimson albums had he actually played on?
It turned out that these niggles didn't matter. What held Bad Company and late Free together was the multi-talented Paul Rodgers. He didn't just have arguably the strongest voice. He also played both piano and a great guitar -- all the guitars and solos on the epic Free single 'Wishing Well', for example, are his. He continued on piano and 2nd guitar for the debut 'Bad Company', which for me is their equal best LP alongside the follow-up 'Straight Shooter'.
The title track is my favourite. It magnificently accentuates the image of outlaw drifters which their manager Peter Grant (of Led Zeppelin fame) worked hard to promote. It would seem to be the ideal soundtrack for an introspective cowboy Western, but I've yet to see the movie.
If this album has any minor flaws, or a song that isn't quite as superb as the rest, the problem can be resolved by playing this loud, or when drunk, or at any time when you want to enjoy rather than be super-critical. The high-quality production values shine through on this good-time rock CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that changed rock for the last twenty years., August 15, 1998
By 
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Sets the standard for every rock group of the 70's and 80's. Every track, ROCKS! If you're going to buy any Bad Company album start with this one! Tracks like "Rock Steady", "Ready For Love", "Can't Get Enough" and "Bad Company" say it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This gold disk is golden., April 7, 2006
By 
dpm60 "dpm60" (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Well, I received this a few days ago and went ahead and spun it last night. Once again Steve Hoffman has done a classic piece of music justice. I think it sounds wonderful. Sure, it doesn't have the sound quality of something recorded today, but that's not what I want from a favorite from 1974.

Anyway, out of curiosity I pulled out my copy of Bad Company that was remastered by George Marino and did a quick comparison with the Audio Fidelity disk. This comparison was conducted using a Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista SACD player plugged into a Creek OBH 11 Headphone amp powering a set of Sennheiser HD 650 headphones.

My thoughts?

When the regular CD was remastered the engineers boosted the bass frequencies a bit and added some compression/limiting. The result is a louder CD with sound that is punchier and warmer than what's on the mastertape. The reverb on Paul Rodger's voice is more forward as is some of the distortion inherent in the recording. This doesn't sound bad per say--just different.

The Audio Fidelity gold disk has somewhat greater dynamics, and I noticed that some of the cymbal crashes jumped out a bit--as they would in real life. This makes for a livelier presentation. There also seemed to be a bit more space between each of the musical instruments, but this was slight.

All-in-all, my preference is for the Steve Hoffman mastering. Your mileage may vary.

Now if only Steve could get his hands on Thick As A Brick (the whole thing this time) and some of the Zeppelin catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD while you can, February 24, 2006
By 
D. Snively (Valrico, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Buy this CD while you can. It will never sound this good again. Obviously, if you are checking out this item you already know the songs as the majority of this album has been played on classic rock radio for years.

You're curious if sounds good. This CD was done by the same people who released DCC discs during the 1990's. The sound is incredible, it sounds like you are in the same room with the band. Steve Hoffman did a great job with this CD. We can only hope they will release the entire Bad Company catalog.

Also, check how much the CDs they released by Jethro Tull (Aqualung, Original Masters) or Paul McCartney are going for on ebay and you will know this CD will be selling for over $50.00 due to the limited production. Buy it while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made a Big Impact on Me, December 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
The first time I ever saw this album cover, I was totally taken aback. It was 1974, and I was in 6th grade. I sat next to a girl whose brother was a prisoner of war in Vietnam, and she had an 8 track tape by a rock group by the name of Bad Company. The all black album cover, with its white lettering, really caught my attention. In fact, I was even a little bit intimidated by the name and the austere look of the tape. Over the years, I've come to admire the starkness of this album cover. Give Bad Company credit, they did it long before AC/DC came up with "Back in Black." As you can probably guess, the music has the same hard edge to it.
When you buy this album, you get five well-known Bad Company hits: "Can't Get Enough," "Rock Steady," "Ready For Love," "Bad Company," and "Movin' On." That should be motive enough to buy it, as I'll usually purchase an album even if it just has two or three good songs on it. I have both the original CD, as well as the remastered one. I actually prefer the original, because it seems a little darker to me. The remastering seems to have taken just a little tiny bit of the bite out of it.
I've been a drummer for many years; let me tell you about the drumming on this album. I sat down and listened critically to all three of my Bad Company CDs, taking notes on the playing so I can improve my own abilities. This album has some very tasteful rock drumming on it. Simon Kirke does a fine job of keeping a solid rhythm, but yet also keeping it innovative. He adds some nice touches, but he doesn't overdo things. The drumming on "Straight Shooter" (1974) is a notch below this, as Kirke seems content to just keep a good solid rhythm, but without the variety. The same goes for "The Best of Bad Company Live...What You Hear Is What You Get" (1993). As far as this album goes, let's also give some credit to Simon Kirke for co-authoring the title track "Bad Company" along with Paul Rodgers. Kirke is not just a drummer, he's also a songwriter!
I like "Straight Shooter," but I differ with those who say that it is Bad Company's best work. In my opinion, this is the definitive Bad Company album. It is loaded with big hits and it has a great album cover. There is one word that sums up this album to me: IMPACT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Fidelity, June 14, 2007
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
First of all, I love this album. If you have the original plain Jane version then this Audio Fidelity version will definitely sound better but it is different. It wasn't the night and day difference I thought it was going to be but it is truly a better experience. The first thing I noticed was that the drums had better imaging and presence and the bass lines were much more defined, less "muddy" than on the original release. This is a much more forward presentation of the album than before and as another reviewer mentioned it sounded like a live recording in that you can hear the band members talking before each song and the sound stage of the recording has more presence. Guitar strings have more weight, snare drum is more snappy, cymbals are more crisp with a little more decay. The only thing I noticed as a negative was that there was a lot of original tape hiss from the master tapes that you would think they could have removed. Once the songs start you can't really hear the hiss but it was noticeable. The hiss was not on all songs. A great comparison if you have the original version is track 8, Seagull. If you are buying this CD for the first time then definitely buy this mastering and especially if your audio system can resolve the extra detail. I almost forgot to mention that I was only listening to the "standard" non HDCD layer of this disc. A lot of the other positive reviews were commenting on the HDCD encoding of this disc. I love HDCD recordings. My Tom Petty Playback box set is in HDCD and wow what a difference it makes. The current system I was listening to this recording on was a Marantz SA8001 SACD/CD player, Marantz PM7001 Integrated Amp, Richard Gray Pro 400 Power Conditioner, Audio Quest Type 8 speaker cable, and Diamondback analog interconnects. If you are looking for a $1000 SACD/CD player then be sure to check out the Marantz. Very detailed and sweat sounding after is warms up. Hope this review helps you buy this album (or not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Company's "Debut" Has Just Gotten Even Better!, May 17, 2007
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Back in the old days when albums just a little over 30 minutes long would still sell, Bad Company made an album that's become a classic rock staple and beloved by millions around the world. Now we get a very well designed mini lp replica sleeve version which not only very faithfully recreates the original lp in great detail but also has been very well remastered for an excellent sounding cd making it truly worthwhile to upgrade to this version and you'll want to chuck the other versions you have into the nearest bin. The sound quality is like night and day when I compared this to my previous unremastered cd which I have since sold to a used cd store. You also get all the lyrics in both English and Japanese in a 12-page booklet.

Although this album represents a debut for Bad Company the band name but it really isn't a debut for the band members which really are the remnants of Free and so this album sounds like an extension of that band but is still better quality overall than say "Fire and Water" but you could be forgiven if you mistook this band for Free. That aside, the songs here are good for the most part. "Ready For Love" is the strongest and most interesting track musically while I've read someone once who wrote that if you gave a room full of monkeys enough time, they'd compose "Can't Get Enough" but I guess that's the beauty of the track in that it's so damn simple but effective.

Overall, I just can't help but compare it with the other great rock bands around at that time and I can think of a quite a few with much stronger albums than this; "Not Fragile" by BTO comes quickly to mind and even Heart's "Little Queen" has got more interesting musical ideas but I guess timing is everything and the cool album cover helps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding remaster, March 12, 2006
By 
Panaracer (Horseheads, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
This is well worth getting over the regular release. The stereo presence and snap of the drums is unbelievable on a regular system. Booklet is nice. I wish all CDs were this good. Nice job Steve Hoffman!!

This will be collector's item soon, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Company
Bad Company by Bad Company (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.