Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BAD COMPANY (supergroup/super album)
Bad Company (1974) is the self-titled debut album from the British rock n' roll supergroup that included vocalist Paul Rodgers (Free), guitarist Mick Ralphs (Mott The Hoople), bassist Boz Burrelll (King Crimson) and drummer Simon Kirke (Free). It was the first album ever to be released on Led Zeppelin's Swan Song record label, and was a smashing critical and commercial...
Published on May 13, 2009 by ol' nuff n' den sum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for your '70s classic rock collection. Or not.
A must-have for the two big hits. Never had this on LP, cassette, or CD before. Finally picked this up from Amazon for a fair price. Good sound quality.
Not crazy about the other 6 songs, even though 3 (Rock Steady, Ready for Love, and Movin' On) also got a lot of airplay. When he sings about his love getting a "little too heavy" I have always pictured...
Published 3 months ago by Craig


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Hoffman got it right again, August 27, 2006
By 
CB (Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
This is a sweet recording. It made me cry the first time I put in this remastered version. I hope Hoffman decides to remaster "Run With The Pack".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you never heard it like this before, March 18, 2006
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Bad Company's first and best album. I still remember hearing the original British LP playing in a little record shop in Houston Texas, before it was released in the USA. I was transfixed, and bought the store copy. This disc has seen a couple of releases on CD, but neither sounded as good as that original British vinyl. Audio Fidelity, however, hit a home run with this release. Over a year was spent just locating the original master tapes, which were then lovingly transfered and remastered by Steve Hoffman, one of the best mastering engineers in the business. THIS DISC SOUNDS INCREDIBLE.

If you're a Bad Company fan, this gold disc is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST SIMPLY SUPERB!!!, March 4, 2006
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
AUDIO FIDELITY JUST DOES IT AGAIN WHEN IT COMES TO GIVING THE AUDIOPHILE WHAT HE WANTS,A GREAT TRUE LISTENING EXPERIENCE!!MR. STEVE HOFFMAN,ONCE AGAIN,DOES A TRULY BEAUTIFUL REMASTERING ON THIS BAD COMPANY CLASSIC.MR. HOFFMAN IS AN ASSET TO THE SCIENCE OF REMASTERING.IF YOU WANT THE BEST SOUND EXPERIENCE IN AUDIO REPRODUCTION,BUY AUDIO FIDELITY!!IT IS WORTH IT.ALSO BUY THE AUDIO FIDELITY-DEEP PURPLE "WHO DO WE THINK WE ARE"-24 KT.GOLD CD.THE SONICS ARE JUST SUPERB!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rock Steady" for Over 30 Years!!!, September 17, 2007
By 
Gloria J. Green (Southeastern Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
This album/cd has rocked steady for me since the mid 70's. I have worn out an album, a couple or three cassettes and now have 2 cds. One I keep in the jeep and one in the house. This is one of the BEST EVER CDs put out by any band. It's as good today as it was over 30 years ago. Listened to this in my Army days. It doesn't get any better than that, (except maybe Led Zeppelin). I am a major Led Zeppelin fan also. "Bad Company" has such a unique style of music, it will flow through the ages.

"BAD CO by Bad Company"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars their first and Best album!, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Company (MP3 Music)
I got hooked on Bad Company with this first album in 1975! an excellent example of vintage 70's rock. i highly recommend this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, May 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Company (MP3 Music)
There's no other way to put it simply awesome! The whole experience was simple and easy to follow, Great Job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ease your worried mind..., February 18, 2009
By 
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
The first record by Bad Company will always remain a favorite of mine as it appealed to the macho and romantic side of hard blues rock like no other band of its day and for no other reason than the phenomenon known as Paul Rodgers. The man was literally God on the microphone and if he lost a little of the primal rawness he had with Free, he seemed to gain more in tone as his voice matured. He will always be my favorite classic rock singer, period. On the Bad Co. debut he had some seriously qualified collaborators including his former Free sidekick Simon Kirke, bassist Boz Burrell and curiously Mick Ralphs from glam rock titans Mott the Hoople. The chemistry that these four had while short-lived, produced one undisputed legendary debut along with many other staples of classic rock radio (the 2nd LP is almost as good). For the present LP, lead single "Can't Get Enough "was an instant classic along with "Movin' On", the title track (which the band got from a Jeff Bridges western) and "Ready for Love" (originally a Mott the Hoople song with Mick Ralphs on lead vocals!). My two favorites and quite possibly two of the most important songs in my life are "Rock Steady" which is a masterpiece of declaring sexual prowess and "Seagull" which brings tears to my eyes in its simplicity and beauty. Again it's Rodgers who makes these latter two songs work for me, I've wanted to sing both of these songs to an all female audience since I was fifteen years old! Don't buy '10 from 6' or at least don't buy it instead of `Bad Co.' or you won't get either of those tunes! Black Crowes fans need this disc to see where that band got their best ideas...it's scary! Close my eyes...and I let myself go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth 10 stars!, September 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
Bad Company's very first album is one of the best rock albums EVER!!! Played it so many times I had to replace it a few times on both vinyl & cassette and now I have it on cd and it sounds better than ever. Every single tune is a gem and these guys really knew how to rock and roll! If you don't already own this, get it soon and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Company, December 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
ESSENTIAL ALBUM!!! This is Bad Company's finest effort, by far! It's an incredible debut album by a supergroup; Paul Rodgers (vocals, guitar, piano) & Simon Kirke (drums), both from Free, Mick Ralphs (lead guitar) from Mott the Hoople & Boz Burrell (bass) from King Crimson. So it shouldn't be a surprise that the album reached #1 on the charts. It's also hard to believe that there were only two singles released from this classic album, "Can't Get Enough" which peaked at #5 & "Movin' On" made it to #19 (and this last song isn't anywhere near the best from here).

The album opens with "Can't Get Enough", a classic. "Rock Steady" comes next & was another instant classic. It's hard to believe that this wasn't a hit. "Ready for Love" follows & once again we have a classic song that wasn't released as a single. These are the three best songs on the album & might be three of the best songs Bad Company ever did. "Ready for Love" was written by Mick Ralphs while he was still with Mott the Hoople. The lead singer for Mott, Ian Hunter, nixed it saying it didn't sound like a song that they would record. Hunter was probably right about that but he missed & misjudged on that decision. Then comes the ballad "Don' Let Me Down", a modest song at best. Then comes the irrepressible "Bad Company", another song that could have been a hit. "The Way I Choose" is the weakest song on the album & the only misstep here. "Movin' On" is next. The album closes with "Seagull". It's really a Paul Rodgers solo effort, he's the only person on the song.

Unfortunately, Bad Company would plummet fast from these heights. Oh, they still sold plenty of records but the quality would never be this good again. Paul Rodgers, though, has certainly been one of rock's greatest vocalists, capable of doing different things. It's just a shame that this talented group wouldn't ever release an album anywhere near this good again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gold magic, February 15, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bad Company (Audio CD)
bad co hasnt sounded this good since i put the orginal album on my turntable.If you like audio perfection than this is it.I Can only hope they remaster straight shooter until then enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Company
Bad Company by Bad Company
Buy MP3 Album$7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.