Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$15.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2012
1. BAD DREAMS...great 80's slasher / killer flick. Richard Lynch makes a good villian. We really enjoyed this film, I can recall seeing it on VHS back in the day. Very refreshing and nice plot twist, too. The supporting characters help this movie along and add a sense of slight comedic value and maybe a slight campiness that you just don't see done effectively in movies today.
2. VISITING HOURS....Michael Ironside is a fantastic villian! This really is a good companion to Bad Dreams as they are both "hospital" related. Lee Grant is a nice strong female lead as well. You really find yourself rooting for the victims...the plot is nicely paced and no 'dead' (pardon the pun) spots.
Definitely worth picking up this set.
For fans of 80's flicks before or at the start of the more over the top gore and violence. I (personally) enjoyed Visiting Hours more out of the two but they are both fun!
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
Bad Dreams had some clever ideas and a realistic psychological ending that impressed me; I had not seen this gem until now. Hippie girl realizes that the Charles Manson-like cult leader (played by always sinsiter, always creepy Richard Lynch) in hoping to capitalize on his psychotic fantasies of a freaky commune in the after-life by setting everyone on fire; by accident, hippie girl survives the community suicide and wakes from a coma years later, only to be haunted by psychotic episodes of silky-sick Lynch, an incompetent police detective and an overzealous psychiatrist obsessed with the use of psycho-hallucenagenic drugs. What's real? What's not? What's Memorex? A fun, smart film. Charles Manson vs Sigmeund Freud in hippie girl's head.

Visiting Hours I saw this one when I was in high school. Michael Ironside (Scanners, V-The Final Battle and Starship Troopers) does creepy skullduggery like very few and he doesn't disappoint here, either. Linda Purl is the sexiest nurse ever captured on celluloid and made me apprecriate women in uniforms with ponytails like no other (wowzers!). William Shatner (on loan from T. J. Hooker and Star Trek II) does a subdued role in that crazy baby blue suit that would have made Murray Hamilton beam. Not necessarily a typical 80's slasher as much as a bloodier homage to Alfred Hitchcock and Dario Argento. Ironside becomes equally obsessed with two strong-willed womenfolk that challenge his sexual insecurities, but its the death mask of photos taken of his victims in his bedroom closet that creeps me out, and inspired the infamous one-sheet of the baleful skull over blackened hospital.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
I actually owned the original 2006 release, but sold this to get the set with Bad Dreams included also. Picture and sound are great on both. Don't pay a fortune for the 2006 release of visiting hours, when you can get this set for way cheaper. Glad to get this copy and have extra money in my pocket for doing so, plus a free movie in the deal
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
I've always wanted to see Visiting Hours based on the awesome commercials I saw as a kid with the lights in the hospital windows turning off until the ones left on resemble a skull! However, I figured when I finally saw it, it would be just another quickie slasher flick from the 80s. I was so wrong! It kept me on the edge of my seat, and veteran performers Lee Grant and William Shatner do a pretty good job. Michael Ironside, as always, is a sleazy sicko and he really shows off his stuff in Visiting Hours. There are surpising jolts and a few unexpected twists to a film that, sadly, got forgotten with other 80s slasher dreck.
Bad Dreams, often unfairly referred to as a ripoff of the Nightmare On Elm Street series, showcases another great cast. Bruce Abbott (usually overshadowed by Jeffery Comb's Herbert West in the Re-Animator movies) really shines as a psychiatrist with a heart. E.G. Daily, one of my favorite people of all time, plays one of the tormented patients and, sadly, has very little screen time. Richard Lynch is notably creepy as the evil cult leader, both looking normal and in that horrific burn makeup. The extras on Visiting Hours are pretty slight (a few TV spots,photos) but Bad Dreams has featurettes, interviews, and more, including the original ending. All in all, this is a great double feature and an awesome part of my horror collection. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
Bad dreams is a childhood favorite of mine with dream (warrior) girl Jennifer Rubin looking all stressed out, bats*** crazy & all cute & s*** she is awesome. It also has a really cool villain that has a calm & peaceful cult leader vibe but really is like the frickin anti christ, sooo creepy when they show him all burnt up calling out to his love child to join him in death. many will not regard this as an 80s classic but its pretty close. Visiting hours is not as fun and has a real sadistic sicko vibe to it but is well done & scary as s***. It has a giallo / grindhouse flavor to it & full of suspense. Can't wait to get the blu & much love to scream factory for putting out some classics. ( Halloween II & III The Fog The Howling Ninja III Vincent Price Vampire lovers Cat people Witchboard Sleepaway camp)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
Having already seen BAD DREAMS I wasn't keen on picking up this Blu-ray set from Scream Factory / Shout! Factory. But after listening to the ScreamCast Podcast episode about this release I didn't hesitate to order. First, BAD DREAMS is a very good underrated horror movie with an excellent turn from Richard Lynch. I haven't seen VISITING HOURS but the hilarious discussion on the podcast made me very curious to check it out. The decent price point sealed the deal. Overall this was a great buy for $13 and highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Shout Factory provides another great release for horror fans in a 2 for 1 deal. The first film is a supernatural "Nightmare on Elm Street 3" meets Jonestown supernatural horror flick starring some of the best character actors in the business. The second is a well thought out early 80's slasher that takes place in an LA hospital with a strange feminist twist and Captain James T Kirk himself along for the ride. As usual, Shout Factory lacks the disc with interesting extras, making the price a bargain
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2015
Scream Factory is at it again with the release of two 80’s “hospital of horror” gems: 1981’s feminist slasher Visiting Hours and 1988’s supernatural shocker Bad Dreams. Both films being Fox releases, they arrive bundled on a single dual-layer Blu-ray disc courtesy of the current masters of resurrecting the bloody magic of yesteryear, Scream Factory.

Starring A Nightmare on Elm Street 3’s Jennifer Rubin and Puppet Master III’s Richard Lynch, Bad Dreams follows a girl (Rubin) who survived a mass suicide (by fire!) orchestrated by the leader of a cult (Lynch). After waking up in the hospital, she and her fellow patients are terrorized, apparently by the ghost of said cult leader. Suffice it to say there are casualties as Lynch works to reclaim the girl that got away.

Lee Grant (Damien: Omen II) and Linda Purl (TV’s True Blood) are terrorized by misogynistic psycho Michael Ironside (Scanners) in Visiting Hours. TV personality Deborah Ballin’s (Grant) crusade against domestic violence provokes the wrath of woman-hating killer Colt Hawker (Ironside), prompting him to break into her home and attack her. Ballin survives, however, and is sent to County General Hospital. Unfortunately for Ballin, her attack- and her location- are widely publicized, and Hawker comes to finish the job. When finding Ballin proves difficult, Hawker turns his attention to young nurse Sheila Munroe (Purl), who has befriended Ballin. While Ballin’s utterly-useless lover/boss (William Shatner) tries to calm her, she and Sheila ultimately find themselves in mortal danger, struggling to protect each other from the vicious killer.

VIDEO: Both films deliver strong transfers. While Bad Dreams is a bit prettier to look at, Visiting Hours’ visual appeal is handicapped by its drab, sterile hospital setting. The scenes featuring Purl and Ironside’s characters outside of the hospital fare the best, but by no means is either transfer a slouch. Film grain is visible but never intrusive, though certain scenes in Visiting Hours make the actors look either sunburned or embarrassed, particularly Purl’s first scene.

AUDIO: Bad Dreams gets the better treatment here, delivering a 5.1 DTS-HD soundtrack as well as the original mono. Visiting Hours is limited to a (lossless) mono track, but both films sound perfectly good.

EXTRAS: While this reviewer is usually not particularly concerned with extras, I must say I am pleased with the offering here, especially for a double feature. Bad Dreams once again gets the better deal, getting a director’s commentary, two featurettes, behind-the-scenes footage, a lengthy alternate ending, and a traier. Visiting Hours gets a decent helping of extras as well, however. Three interviews, with writer Brian Taggert (Poltergeist III), producer Pierre David, and co-star Lenore Zann (Happy Birthday to Me), as well as TV spots, a radio spot, and a still gallery. Each film gets enough material to warrant one of Scream Factory’s beloved Collector’s Editions (Visiting Hours alone has more material than the Collector’s Edition of the Jamie Lee Curtis slasher Terror Train), but instead, we get two for the price of one.

Overall, this is an excellent Blu-ray release from Scream Factory. If you enjoy either of these films, it is well worth the roughly $20 price tag.

–Joshua Dean
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
This set is a great way to get the movie "Bad Dreams" for a low price. This is a great thriller/horror "ghost" story from the 80's that, while still bloody in places, actually relied on writing and plot, instead of sex and gore, to tell its story.
It is about a young woman, Cynthia (played by the lovely Jennifer Rubin), who survives the mass suicide of the hippie cult she was a part of, and awakens from a coma 13 years later, only to be haunted by the ghost of its psychopathic leader, Franklin Harris (a very creepy Richard Lynch).

"Visiting Hours", on the other hand, was fairly boring. Michael Ironside plays a serial killer out to kill a feminist activist played by Lee Grant. The problem is, Lee Grant's character is just not very likable, so it's hard to feel concerned about her. Her nurse, played by Linda Purl, is a far more sympathetic character and, considering her survival is not garuanteed, her part in the story offers a lot more suspence than that of Lee Grant (of whom it is clear she will eventually gain the upper hand and triumph in the end). This one is simply not worth the time and effort put into watching it and, for me, ended up being little more than a bonus disk to be discarded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
I bought this movi for Bad Dreams a movie I remembered a little from my childhood. I remember a cult that set itself on fire and one member survived. It maybe she is being hunted by the dead or is it worst.
Visting Hours is worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.