Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Habits
Bad Habits by Jenny McCarthy is a candid account of Jenny's relationship with religion. She was raised as a Catholic and actually wanted to be a nun when she grew up. She wanted Jesus like girls now want Justin Beiber, and she shares all of it with us in this hilarious account of her life as a Catholic.

Bad Habits is a sinfully funny read. I started reading it...
Published 22 months ago by Sheri Newton

versus
54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible.
Mildly funny. Blames Catholicism for her neurotic phobias which last well into adulthood. Has her facts wrong...the Immaculate Conception is not the Virgin birth, it's the belief that Mary was born without Original Sin. Glad I have
it on the Kindle, I don't want to share it.
Published 20 months ago by Vern Marie Rolbiecki


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible., December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mildly funny. Blames Catholicism for her neurotic phobias which last well into adulthood. Has her facts wrong...the Immaculate Conception is not the Virgin birth, it's the belief that Mary was born without Original Sin. Glad I have
it on the Kindle, I don't want to share it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jenny goes to a lot of effort to make something out of nothing, November 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like Jenny. She is funny and entertaining when you see her on talk shows. Her "deal" is works hard at being funny and quirky. A bit too much maybe. The book was a real stretch in my opinion to make more money. Really ridiculous. Tried so many chapters to try to get into it but it was all so silly. Waste of money. This has to be the only book I have ever given a 1. That says a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Usually she is funny BUT ..., December 12, 2012
.... this book is SOOOO boring! I wish I could get my money AND my time wasted reading this c.... back.
Would not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Church of Jenny McCarthy---pathetic!, December 11, 2012
This is really just sad. Jenny,I don't think the Catholic Church is making you feel guilty,I think YOU ARE THE ONE making yourself feel guilty.Why else would you go out on such a crusade to bad mouth and bash a religon that a great deal of the world practices and is at peace with? (Bill Maher anyone?)

Masturbation and sex. Yeah,Jenny everyone has done it,is doing it and will continue to do it. Everyone knows this and has known it;but thanks YET AGAIN for pointing this out. I'm glad to see that at least you have your priorities straight and won't let any one thing dictate your life.

"The guy in the big white hat".... okay,let's demonize Pope John Paul II,but see nothing wrong with Hugh Hefner. Something tells me that a single World Youth Day has more people in attendance than all of your book signings and "movie" premieres put together.

"Jesus was my Justin Beiber.He is hawt!" Way to advocate "coexistance and tolerance." Disrespect and sexualize a spiritual figure held sacred by millions... Hey Jen,try that type of disrespect toward Ala and Muhamuad. You would soon find your air head severed from your plastic body.

This sounds really cliche,but I am going to start praying for this woman--not because of her "lust" or "sex sin" to which she is so hung up over,but rather the constant blasphemy and sacrilege. This is all under the guise of "funny" but it is just hateful and malicous. To be percise; it is evil.

Oh and another misconception that Jenny tosses out about the Catholic faith (she does that ALOT in her last book Love,Lust and Faking it--see review) The subject of euthinasia is not as extreme as she makes it to be; 1.) I am a practicing Catholic and have had PRIESTS (note the plural form of the word) tell me that IT IS NOT A SIN TO PUT AN ANIMAL DOWN WHEN IT IS SUFFERING/DYING. Again,Jenny read up on Vatican II or study the Caticisim of the Catholic church before you start ranting about how horrible the faith is. As for euthinasia with a human being;if the person cannot live without life support,you can let that person pass.If the person is terminal,you are only obligated to give that person food/water but you ARE NOT required to keep giving them medicine to keep them alive longer.

The Catholic Church has been around for 2000+ years and there are still people converting to the faith--especially the world over.The Catholic Church has survived Nazisim and Communisim--I'm sure it can survive the attatcks of a dysfunctional,angry girl whose main purpose was to be eye candy ( autisim activist... pfffft! ) The question is will the church of Jenny McCarthy still be around 2000 years from now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding?, April 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a waste on time, paper and thought process. I found it insulting to my religion, my upbringing and my spirit/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Good, October 20, 2012
Usually love Jenny but not this time. Sadly she falls far from the mark. I'm sorry your childhood sucked but it should cost me $15 to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some things never change, December 31, 2013
And some get even worse. Jenny McCarthy gets worse as time wears on. Her brand of humor was maybe funny when she was a 20 something porn kitten with no kids. Now, as a mother with a kid who is on/off autistic, she's anything but funny. So why am I surprised that she chose to bash the Catholic church to get attention and make some money? Nothing like a bit of blasphemy to build your bank account. Anything that is wrong in her life is 100% because of the choices she's made. Not because she grew up in a strong faith that is practiced by millions all around the world. God can only offer you the gift, it's up to you to accept it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trying to be funny, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I chose to read it because I too was raised a Catholic. It was funny to a point, but in bad taste many times. I didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars YAWN...., October 10, 2012
By 
Rocky's Mom (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
More storytelling from Jenny McCarthy. I am a couple of years younger than Jenny...grew up on the South Side of Chicago...went to the same high school as Jenny. Growing up Catholic on the South Side in the 1980s and 1990s is NOTHING like she describes. If you are going to fabricate and embellish something, at least make sure that it is funny.

She has been trying to milk the Catholic schoolgirl stereotype for almost twenty years. Get over it. Move along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont bother, January 31, 2013
By 
Really boring waste of time, self indulgent, shallow, pitifully blaming the church for anything she can. I was hoping this woman had depth, but nope. Honestly, I couldn't finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering Catholic
Bad Habits: Confessions of a Recovering Catholic by Jenny McCarthy (Hardcover - October 2, 2012)
$26.99 $10.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.