Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bad Words
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 2014
I thought this movie was hilarious! I didn't go in with high expectations. I mean, really how far can you take a storyline about a 40 something year old entering a spelling bee? I was greatly surprised at the depth of the story and was laughing the entire movie. For someone that acts completely unlikable, you really start to accept the main character and realize his motives.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
Guy (Jason Bateman) is forty years old and an underachieving genius. We discover his mother moved around a lot to escape evictions. As Jason has never finished the eighth grade, he is eligible to enter the Golden Quill spelling contest to the dismay of the kids, parents and the organization. He has an on-line sponsor reporter (Kathryn Hahn) follow him around attempting to get a story, but even she doesn't know why he is doing this.

Guy is rude to just about everyone, especially his fellow contestants with whom he plays mind games. He makes friends with a ten year kid of Indian heritage (Rohan Chand) and indulges him in vices. The reason why he entered the contest was a bit lame, but we needed something for the film.

This is another fun quirky unique indie. It has foul language, ethnic insults, bad sex scenes and 10 seconds of nudity...and it was all fun. Worth watching 4 1/2 stars
123123 comments|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
If you've never heard the name Jason Bateman, then you most likely haven't seen any good comedies from the past ten years. He's more than established himself as one of the funniest dudes on the planet, and has proven that with his many wisecracking and witty characters. But his great acting isn't the only thing he showcases with his new movie "Bad Words", which also serves as his directorial debut, and an impressive one at that.

The story centers around Guy Trilby (Bateman), a middle-aged nobody who finds a loophole in a children's spelling bee and is determined to win. Despite facing much uproar from his competitors parents, he wins his regionals, and moves on to the national competition. Meeting a hilarious Indian boy named Chaitanya along the way, we follow Guy's outrageous attempt to take the grand prize.

Sharply funny and extremely well-acted, I couldn't get enough of this great comedy. Rated R for language and sexual content, "Bad Words" will have you laughing a considerable amount of times and will leave you with a huge smile on your face. It is now playing in select theaters and coming soon to DVD.
2525 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
Dark Comedy fans rejoice! Jason Bateman's directorial debut is not only great, but one of the best dark comedies to be released in a long time!

The plot revolves around Guy Trillby (Bateman) a Middle School dropout who after finding a loophole in the rules, enters himself in a school spelling bee not only to win, but also to extract revenge. While it sounds like a simple plot, there's a little more to it than the synopsis would lead you to believe. Part of what makes the plot so intriguing is not only the sheer absurdity of it, but also Guy's reasoning behind what he is doing is left a mystery and isn't revealed till later in the film.

While Jason Bateman is a great actor, he has been type-casted as the straight man in almost everything he has starred in. That isn't the case here. In what is probably the best performance of his career, Bateman has abandoned his typical role to play the foul-mouthed, narcissistic, and psychotic lead character and does so perfectly. It's not only great to see him play this role because he does it so well, but because it shows that he isn't a one-note actor. Rohan Chand who plays a fellow spelling bee contestant who friends Guy also does a fantastic job and is one of the best child actors I've seen in a film in quite sometime.

Now if you find vulgar humor and profanity offensive, stay away from this film! This is a comedy, but a rather dark one that's in the vein of something along the lines of Bad Santa. While the humor is very vulgar and mean spirited, the film is absolutely hilarious! It never gets quite as raunchy as one might expect, but that doesn't make it any less hilarious. Much of the humor comes from watching Guy find ways to advance through the competition at the expense of his competitors. As terrible as I felt for it, I laughed almost uncontrollably throughout most of these scenes.

But the most surprising thing about Bad Words may be that behind all of it's dark humor and mean spiritness, it's actually a very heartwarming and feel-good movie and has a pretty good message about letting go of the past.

The only real complaint I have the film is that it's very predictable. After Guy's motives are revealed, you can tell exactly where the film is going and it becomes very clear what the outcome of everything is going to be. Despite this, it doesn't take away any of the laughs the film has to offer.

If you can get past it's predictability and vulgarity, Bad Words is one of the best comedies to be released in a long time! It's nice to see a comedy that isn't afraid to puss the envelope a bit and at the end of it still manage to be heartwarming. Bateman has proved that he is both a talented filmmaker in-front of and behind the camera and I'm looking forward to seeing what he does next!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2015
Jason Bateman is a genius! Not only does he give a knock-out, outrageous, and deliciously wicked performance but he also directed this dark comedy. The writing is whip-smart and completely original. I feel like Bateman should've received more praise for "Bad Words". Kathryn Hahn (I love her) is also hilarious in this film as a reporter. I just love the whole "Don't look at me!" bit she does. Rohan Chand who plays Bateman's spelling bee rival (and friend), Chaitanya is so freaking adorable and hysterical as well. Bateman and Chand's chemistry is real and playful. You can tell they had fun making this movie. I hope Bateman continues to direct but I must say, his acting really blew me away here. He's so funny. His comedic timing is scary good. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE "Bad Words". I highly recommend it. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
Jason Bateman never fails to disappoint. His humor is outrageously hilarious. I always loved him in everything he did. He is one of the most under rated actor. The one liners in this movie were so deadpan and on point. He is a comedic genius in my eyes. Also he is very easy on the eyes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
I watched this film during a nagging bout of insomnia. Words of any kind cannot describe the uniqueness of this OUTRAGEOUSLY funny film that had me laughing SOOOO loudly that I do believe that I woke up my next door neighbor AND my downstair neighbor at 4:00 am.

Actually, I am sure I did wake them up BECAUSE since that morning they both happened to make a point of asking me, "Hey Beans, what was so freaking funny?"

:-D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 22, 2014
First off, to all the 1 star reviewer who complain that there was foul language in this movie....HELLO!!!!

It's called "BAD WORDS". What were you expecting? A viewing of even 10 seconds of any trailer for this movie would have made it very clear what was going to happen in this movie.

That business aside.....this movie was hilarious! Jason Bateman's funniest role in a while. He is an unlikable jackass the entire movie. But the people who hate him are so ugly about it you start rooting for Bateman. Also, it's just a movie so it's not like he's a real horrible person you are supporting.

I had to pause the film several times because I was missing lines due to all the laughter. Well worth 2 hours of your time.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Jason Bateman is his predictable self...dry and funny. Story was of course ridiculous, but in a believable sort of way. Tilby's reason for doing what he does isn't obvious until the end and underlying the "offensive" humor is a story of a personal struggle and friendship, which shows that behind the man with a sardonic M.O. and questionable tactics is good person. The little kid is adorable as is the relationship he develops with Tilby.

Just as funny are the 1 and 2 star reviews so check them out...some people really need to lighten up, which is kind of ironic in the context of this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2015
Oh god this movie was so funny. Jason Bateman was perfect in it. The writing was fantastic as was the acting. It's a (mostly) feel good movie and I laughed out loud repeatedly. Warning: do not watch this if you don't want to see a grown man swear at a 10 year old kid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.