Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (179)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freak Shows & Oddballs That'll Touch Your Heart
Bagdad Cafe is an odd film, and I mean that as a compliment. The characters are all greatly flawed individuals who, as the film starts, are largely unhappy. CCH Pounder plays Brenda who owns the cafe. This woman could scare the hide off a cat with that shrill voice that drives her husband off to park in the desert and observe her with binoculars for the rest of the...
Published on June 23, 2002 by Lee Armstrong

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard too dislike
As odd as it this film is, it's hard too dismiss it or dislike it. The story is so unique. I've never really seen another film quite like it. Good performances all around. This is one of those films that isn't really for everyone. But even if you watch it and it turns out it's far from one of your favorites... Well, I doubt you'll regret it. This film is too vibrant, one...
Published on August 11, 2002 by Erik Pack


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freak Shows & Oddballs That'll Touch Your Heart, June 23, 2002
By 
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Bagdad Cafe is an odd film, and I mean that as a compliment. The characters are all greatly flawed individuals who, as the film starts, are largely unhappy. CCH Pounder plays Brenda who owns the cafe. This woman could scare the hide off a cat with that shrill voice that drives her husband off to park in the desert and observe her with binoculars for the rest of the film. Jasmin, the Bavarian German who likes her coffee strong, is fat and seems to change clothes regularly despite having a suitcase supposedly filled only with men's clothes. She is not the typical Hollywood star, but she comes to win our hearts. Jack Palance as Rudy Cox, the set painter from Hollywood, lives in a trailer and sees the world through rose colored glasses. His costumes are pure Santa Monica Boulevard chic. He charms us as he falls in love. The sequence of paintings he does as Jasmin gets progressively less dressed is hysterical. The other characters are also unique. Brenda's son who also has a son, a baby, wants nothing more than to play piano all day. The daughter dresses in trendy teenage garb and seems to repeatedly run off with anything with two legs and pants. Debbie, the tatoo artist, seems like an S&M freak, and eventually leaves because "there is too much harmony."
The thing I love about this film is that most all of the characters change. Jasmin's unfolding is glorious. The themes in the movie of racial misunderstanding and harmony are also interesting. Jasmin has never seen blacks and pictures herself in tribal Africa being roasted for dinner. She's amazed at how light the palms of Brenda's daughter's hand is, a simple detail but beautiful in its innocent sense of wonder. The DVD version doesn't add a tremendous amount of extras such as bonus material, but the movie itself is the reward. If you like upbeat films somewhat off the beaten track, seek out this cinematic gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DESERT RATS GET ACTUALIZED!, July 24, 2001
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Filmed not too far from here in the town of Baghdad in the Mojave Desert, Percy Adlon's BAGHDAD CAFE has charmed just about everyone who has stumbled across this literally off-the-beaten track 1987 gem that's now available for the first time in a bare-bones widescreen DVD transfer.
The story is deceptively simple. Marianne Sägebrecht is a German tourist who leaves -- and is subsequently abandoned by -- her husband(?) in the California desert. In the middle of nowhere, she makes her way to the run-down, failing, Baghadad Cafe and Motel run by C.C.H. Pounder (ER's Dr. Hicks). The rotund Sägebrecht quickly becomes a part of the eccentric family under Pounders tough-talking rule. Not only that, her presence is the catalyst that transforms the forgotten roadside stop into a bustling business and a life-altering experience for all present. Jack Palance is extraordinary as an ex-Hollywood set designer and artist who sees Sägebrecht's true beauty and becomes obsessed about capturing it on canvas. What he sees Sägebrecht becomes and in the process impacts those she touches. This wonderful film is about loving and accepting and believing and discovering and being. The original music by Bob Telson includes the haunting "Calling You" sung by Javetta Steele. This is one for the digital library. Highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet and suprising tale, November 18, 2001
By 
Max235to1 (Waterford MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Possibly one of my favorite films ever made, this story of a german housewife, that leaves her husband in the Mojave Desert, end up suprising me constantly. Why?
The lead actress Marianne Sagebrecht performance as Jasmine is so full of poetry and subtle nuances in the body language that most actors often forget to use. Many times she is in a scene where she is not saying much but she doesn't have to because her lines are in the way she moves and the expressions on her face. The story is about a sleepy two building town where despair is turned on its heel by the arrival of this stranger. It's about two very different people who become friends despite the tragedys they both are facing and its about the magic we all carry inside of us to transform other around us by being our most beautiful selves. This film was followed by a television series that failed to capture what this story easily told in 90 minutes. It also has a very haunting song called "calling you" that once heard will more than likely stay in the back of your mind. Its a gem and definitely belongs in the collection of anyone who really loves what great film making is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't expain the attraction � just see it, July 30, 2001
By 
"pasnat54" (Pasadena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
I found Bagdad Cafe on DVD three days ago and have watched it twice since, each time with a big smile on my face. It's difficult to explain why this movie is so haunting; if you try to tell a friend "You've got to see this movie because...", you'd be stuck for a definable reason. It's a very gentle character study of two women, different as can be, who come to understand and even like each other. They are both frustrated with their current positions in life. Jasmin (Marianne Sagebrecht), the stranded German tourist, is willing to start repairing her life, even in this bleak desert setting. Brenda (CCH Pounder) has led such a hard-knocks life that she can't understand or accept anyone trying to help her. There's a wonderful supporting cast surrounding them, but the heart of this movie is the way the two women learn to be friends. You're either going to love this movie or be totally bewildered by what I (and other reviewers) see in it.
This movie was shot in Newberry Springs, near Barstow; the restaurant is still there (originally called Sidewinder Cafe, now renamed the Bagdad Cafe, of course). This is the favorite movie of one of my sister's friend who lives in Brazil. When this friend's daughter Paula visited recently, we stopped by the Bagdad Cafe on the way to Vegas; Paula's mom shed tears of delight when she saw pictures of her daugher making a pilgrimage to this high desert Mecca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Film Made by GERMANY, December 13, 2005
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Marianne Sagebrecht made a brilliant movie debut in the German film "Zuckerbaby (Sugarbaby)" (please release this soon on DVD). Bagdad Café is her American film debut. The creative team is also from "Sugarbaby", Percy and Eleonore Adlon).

Jasmine (Sagebrecht) and her husband are on a cross country trip. They are at a rest stop in the Mohave desert when they have a fight. Jasmine takes the suitcase from the trunk and walks off. Jasmine hitches a ride and which stops at the Bagdad Café and Motel.

Brenda (CCH Pounder), the hotel owner/manager, doesn't know what to make out of Jasmine. But Jasmine has the money, so Brenda rents her one of the rooms. Everyone gets along with Jamine's easy going nature, except Brenda. Eventually, even Brenda succumbs to Jasmine's charm.

This is a film about tolerance. Everyone in this film has intolerance and finds that the person beneath is more important.

Sagebrecht gives another brilliant performance. Her character grows during the course of the film.

CCH Pounder is the one of those great actresses that never gets the attention that she deserves. She gives Brenda many layers. Brenda's life has been far from easy and therefore, she is suspicious of everyone. Therefore, it takes a great actress to convincingly change from suspicious to accepting of Jasmine.

This is the best of independent film making.

DVD EXTRAS: None
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite movie of all time, December 9, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is just perfect. It deserves all the oscars in the world. After watching this movie, you feel good about life....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, September 10, 2003
By 
S. Jones (MOTUEKA, NELSON New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Reviewed and summed up well by others, I'll just add that from a truck enthusiast's perspective, this movie contains bonus footage and sounds of a tidy Barstow Cat-powered peterbilt and GM-powered 4070 International, plus background shots of various highway rigs and freight trains.
A wonderful movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends anyone would want..., October 19, 2004
By 
M. DALTON (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
Everybody has said just about all there is to say about this little gem. A quirky little film that revels in its' own quirkiness. Marianne Sagebrecht is an absolute joy & watching her underplay & yet invite sympathy is a pleasure one doesn't receive very often in cinema anymore. Watch CCH Pounder slow melt to the "magic". Both performances are revelatory. It's full of magical characters who aren't going anywhere & you know what? I wouldn't want them to. They're perfect right where they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those rare gems that lurk unsung in the catalogues., May 22, 2001
By 
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
A very German tourist tourist is abandoned by her travelling companion in the middle of the desert with just her luggage and a thermos of very strong coffee.She makes her way to the kind of roadside motel that seems to hover on the brink of self destruction ,peopled by an eclectic cast of characters of whom Jack Palance as an artist who brings our tourist out of herself and the foul-tempered owner played by CCH Pounder trying to cope with the failing business and her off the wall family are outstanding.As the tourist Marianne Sagebrecht is just sufficiently alien to force each person with whom she comes in contact to re evaluate their own sense of themselves as they try to understand her values.They even have trouble understanding her coffee. This is a movie about people living with people .It is warm,funny,understanding and generates that magic so rarely seen in current Hollywood offerings that gives one a real sense of loss when the credits roll.This review is based on a letterbox laser disc .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Few words...., August 28, 2003
This review is from: Bagdad Cafe (DVD)
I guess when I was about 11 I was asked to learn a song called "Calling you"....A hard job but I did like my voice sounded while I was interpreting that song. I could hardly understand the lyrics but I could feel the whole thing was great. I heard this song was in the O.S.T of a movie called "Bagdad Cafè". I had to see it. I needed to see it. It was hard to find the VHS at the time for in Italy good movies and good music are not really appreciated. Whatever. It moved me. I cried. I learned something about life in general from that movie. Silly me... tonight I watched again this movie...on an unknown tv channel....and i cried again.
I have no many words to say. I don't want to run the risk to be more silly than this. It's quite enough. And, you know what? There's no need to say too many words. You gotta see it to understand why so many people loved it. and still love it.
The best words to describe it are these "A desert road from Vegas to nowhere/ someplace better than where you've been/ a coffee machine that needs some fixing/ in a little cafè just around the bend/ a hot dry wind blows right through me/ the baby's crying and I can't sleep/ but I can feel a change is coming/ coming closer/ sweet release....I am calling you / Can't you hear me / I am calling you"
Love Sarah Micòl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bagdad Cafe
Bagdad Cafe by Percy Adlon (DVD - 2013)
$9.99 $7.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.