Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious
Simple, easy to follow, and delicious recipes. The Chef is also very charming with a very interesting personality and stories to tell. Highly recommended for the home cook (especially if you want to be exposed to new/exciting cuisines and recipes).
Published 14 months ago by Amir Rozen

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Untested recipes...beware!
I made 3 dishes from this cookbook, all of which had major measurement problems (google the Boston Globe review for more info, I'm not the only one). I was so excited to make the Hamin, but the 5 tablespoons of salt printed in the recipe made the dish absolutely inedible. I don't know how the chef could put her reputation on the line by not even testing/checking the...
Published 8 months ago by C. Steiner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Untested recipes...beware!, March 17, 2014
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
I made 3 dishes from this cookbook, all of which had major measurement problems (google the Boston Globe review for more info, I'm not the only one). I was so excited to make the Hamin, but the 5 tablespoons of salt printed in the recipe made the dish absolutely inedible. I don't know how the chef could put her reputation on the line by not even testing/checking the recipes. Buy "Jerusalem" instead, the recipes in that book are flawless. I want my money back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Salt bomb!!! Beautiful images, but very confused by the use of multiple tablespoons of salt in one meal., March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
There is no doubt that this book is beautiful and has a high print production value. 5 stars to that.

Unfortunately, I think the restaurant chef should stick to the large restaurant proportions. Her recipes are silly for a home cook.

We've made two recipes from this book and will not be making a third. If you follow the recipes to a T - beyond your own judgement - you will regret it.

The Turkey Meat Balls with Okra specifically is bafflingly salty. It asked for 4 tablespoons of salt. It was completely inedible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
Simple, easy to follow, and delicious recipes. The Chef is also very charming with a very interesting personality and stories to tell. Highly recommended for the home cook (especially if you want to be exposed to new/exciting cuisines and recipes).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, simple, but unique & delicious!, September 16, 2013
By 
Kim Michelle "KmL" (Brentwood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
Rarely do I flip through a restaurateur's cookbook and mark more than 5 recipes to make. On first read of Balaboosta, I had marked 25, and stopped at one point because it truly was getting to be "every single recipe." They're simple recipes for the most part, but unique flavors and origin and very accessible to the home cook. The recipes are grouped appropriately into occasions for recipes, and the stories that go along with each one are charming and exactly what your best friend would say to you in the kitchen as well. I'm so pleased with this cookbook and haven't stopped telling all of my friends about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Kosher, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
Despite the Yiddish title, buyers should be aware that at least several of the recipes call for food that is tref... mussels, shrimp, octopus, etc. However, many if not most of the recipes are vegetarian,and while I have not read through every recipe, there does not appear to be any mixing of meat and dairy. Otherwise, the book is beautiful, very well constructed, and with many attractive photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, simple recipes, September 16, 2013
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
I bought this book in a book release at the Author's restaurant in NYC.
I have visited her few restaurants and always loved her food.
Knowing now, I can learn from her inspiration and cook similar tasty meals to my family, is wonderful!
The recipes are hearty, easy and delicious.
The stories, are a great bonus that you tend to forget, its a cook book after all.
I am looking forward to trying many of these great recipes.

D NYC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so healthy.., April 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
While most recipes are vegetarian and look healthy at first, the amounts of salt and fat that a lot of the recipes ask for is just insane. The author herself states that she never uses measurements and just goes by feeling, so it comes to no surprise that most the measurements are rather vague and useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Book, September 23, 2013
By 
ARIE AIDLER (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
everything you'll need to know about the Israeli kitchen is in this book.
All of the basic and well known israeli dishes are in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing flavor!, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
I had the pleasure of attending a cooking demo that Einat did in Boston and the herbed meat kebabs (that I make with ground Turkey) have been a staple in the dinner rotation ever since. I was so excited that her cookbook finally came out and am greatly enjoying the amazing flavors this cookbook has to offer! The pictures and stories are also very entertaining. Between the wide range of desserts, drinks, appetizers and entrees, this cookbook is an excellent resource for playing with middle eastern ingredients. Although there are a few seafood recipes, the rest of the cookbook more than makes up for it even if you keep kosher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean Foodie, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balaboosta (Hardcover)
Love Mediterranean cuisine and had a lot of fabulous vegetable recipes with varying degree of difficulty. Great photos and loved how she personalized her life throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Balaboosta
Balaboosta by Einat Admony (Hardcover - September 3, 2013)
$29.95 $20.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.