Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Thorough
I enjoyed this book very much, especially all the information on breeding and morphs. If I had this book before, my poor python wouldn't have gotten burned on the heat source in his enclosure.

The best book for the price that I've seen.
Published on April 3, 2006 by Melody Englund

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok beginners guide
The book is a very basic beginners guide. Most of the information that was in this book was found online so I wasnt impressed at all with the content.
Published on September 12, 2010 by Isdageek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic and Thorough, April 3, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much, especially all the information on breeding and morphs. If I had this book before, my poor python wouldn't have gotten burned on the heat source in his enclosure.

The best book for the price that I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok beginners guide, September 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
The book is a very basic beginners guide. Most of the information that was in this book was found online so I wasnt impressed at all with the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bare Minimum, June 12, 2008
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
It has been argued that there is free and more fresh information on the web.
Well, that's exactly true. But the point of this book is to provide the amateur with a handy, basic, simplified guide to homing this pet. The basics of these herps hasn't changed. This to-the-point reference with good color photos only costs a couple bucks-well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, December 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son for his new ball python. It's got good information but it's more directed on how to handle imported balls. No info on the anatomy of the snake but lots of info on disease/parasite control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're getting a ball python, you need this book, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an excellent reference for someone who's getting their first ball python. It has information on selection, feeding, general care and husbandry, troubleshooting, and a lot of information on color morphs and the associated genetics. I enjoyed the book a lot, and learned a few things from it (even though I've been keeping and occasionally breeding snakes since the early '90's). No ball python owner should be without this book.

Actually, all the books in this series and by this author are excellent. If you find a book on your animal by Philippe De Vosjoli, you absolutely can't go wrong dropping the coin to get it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Info, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
Here is my rating of the Ball Python Manual by Philippe De Vosjoli and Roger Klingenberg.

Pros:
-Made by professionals
-Very colorful pictures
-Covers every topic

Cons:
-Barely has stuff about captivity raised Ball Pythons
(^^See that, not that many cons!)

Summary:
This Ball python manual is very accurate and has lots of good info. This book should go to a beginner because it has good details and tips. I've seen other Ball Python books, but this focuses on more imported Pythons than on captivity.
overall, i will give this book 5 stars. this book also came a day early!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
Informative and helpful with information for the new and experienced ball python keeper. A good book to keep on hand just for general reference information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very basic information, but not bad at all!, September 13, 2014
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
The shipping– my package seemed to get lost in the mail after quite some time, however after shooting the sender an email, they quickly rectified this and sent me a replacement that arrived very quickly. :)

The book itself– If you're looking for some very basic information on ball pythons or you have a younger kid that is interested in learning about them a bit, go right ahead and purchase this. This is not at all a particularly in depth book on the subject, and is quite short, although it does provide some interesting tidbits and isn't a bad read. It's a nice and reasonably priced little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars save your cash.. get on line, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
this is mostly a book on if you have taken a ball python out of the wild. This is a very basic beginner's guide and although prior to the internet this may have been a great book with information.. these days.. you're better off saving your cash and checking out websites..
book has breeding information and how to .. on color matches and mixing..but if you're just raising a pet.. not breeding.. that whole huge section..waste of time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good source, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) (Paperback)
This book mainly thinks you are getting your ball python from the wild. I don't find it very helpful as I am getting a captive born baby. I imagine there are better guides and I will be hunting for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library)
The Ball Python Manual (Herpetocultural Library) by Philippe De Vosjoli (Paperback - November 1, 2004)
$8.95 $8.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.