Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an UPBEAT Historical book!!
A charming and beautifully illustrated book about an incredibly brave no-nonsense, "NEVER take No for an Answer" woman who ran for president in the late 19th century (even though women could not vote at the time) and received a surprising amount of votes.

As a child, Belva believed she could move mountains. As an adult, she met and conquered equally formidable...
Published on April 17, 2009 by Ace

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presidential Election History
I always thought that Geraldine Ferraro was the first female vice presidential candidate in our nation's history.

She was not.

I knew about the presidential candidacies of Margaret Chase Smith, Shirley Chisholm and Bella Abzug but I had never heard of Belva Lockwood.

This colorful picture book biography will be a timely addition for U.S...
Published on October 29, 2008 by LonestarReader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an UPBEAT Historical book!!, April 17, 2009
By 
Ace (East Coast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A charming and beautifully illustrated book about an incredibly brave no-nonsense, "NEVER take No for an Answer" woman who ran for president in the late 19th century (even though women could not vote at the time) and received a surprising amount of votes.

As a child, Belva believed she could move mountains. As an adult, she met and conquered equally formidable obstacles.

She was not the FIRST woman to run for the presidency -- Victoria Woodhull was, in 1872 -- but unlike Victoria, who dropped out of the race, Belva made it all the way to the ballot box garnering more than 4,000 votes (remembere these were MEN voting, as women still did not have the vote back then).

Belva received support as well as censure, but she never let anything discourage her! She proved to be as formidable as those mountains (literal and figurative) that she faced all through her life and her career.

The beautifully rendered illustrations are lively, colorful, and tell a story of their own. (And I LOVE the way that cute little cat keeps popping up through the pages and through the ages.)

This is a book that should be required reading in all elementary schools.

Well done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an inspiring story of a pioneer for women's rights, March 4, 2011
By 
M. Tanenbaum (Claremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency (Hardcover)
Hilary Rodham Clinton, of course, was not the first woman to run for president. But did you know that way back in 1884, years before women won the right to vote, a daring woman ran for president, and even received thousands of votes?

Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency, by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen, illustrated by Courtney A. Martin (Abrams, 2008), tells this remarkable story in an easy-to-follow picture book format, which can be enjoyed by all ages.

After working as a teacher and starting a suffrage group, Belva Lockwood decided she wanted to be a lawyer at age 39. But no law school would admit a woman in those days, except the newly formed National University law school. Belva enrolled there with fourteen other women, but was one of only two who finished the courses, since the women were made to feel uncomfortable by the male students. But when she finished, the school refused to give her a diploma, and she had to petition President Ulysses S. Grant, who was also president of the law school, in order to receive it.

Belva was a woman who accomplished many "firsts." She was the first woman to practice law in federal court and the first woman to argue a case before the U.S. Supreme Court. She was an activist for women's rights who tried unsuccessfully to get the Republican Party to put women's suffrage on its official platform. In frustration at being ignored, she realized that there was no legal basis preventing women from running from office, even though they couldn't vote. And in 1884, she was nominated by the Equal Rights Party of the United States. She selected another woman, Marietta Stow, as her running mate, and began campaigning across the country, working hard to raise money and organize supporters.

Although she was ridiculed by the press and even by many of her fellow suffragettes, Belva persisted. And indeed, she won 4,711 votes, cast in nine different states, despite the fact that some vote counters threw away ballots with her name on them, not believing anyone would vote for a woman. This made her the first woman to run for president who actually got people to vote for her--and men, since they were the only ones voting at the time. [An earlier female presidential candidate, Victoria Woodhull, ran in 1872, but had to drop out before the election due to lack of funds.]

Belva was certainly ahead of her time, believing that some day a woman would occupy the White House as president and proving that women had the determination and courage to campaign for the position.

The book includes an author's note, glossary of terms, a useful timeline of women's suffrage in the United States, and a selected bibliography.

Bardhan-Quallen offers us an inspiring story of a true pioneer in women's rights, one that would be a terrific story to share with young girls today. The book is handsomely illustrated as well, with attractive two-page spreads that give a monumental quality to Belva's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This picture book biography celebrates her life and little-known achievements, November 16, 2008
In 1884 men were the only people allowed to vote in national elections. One Belva Lockwood took the bold step of running for president to thwart the voting inequality - and received votes. She fought for equal treatment for women, went to law school, and even argued cases before the Supreme Court: this picture book biography celebrates her life and little-known achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Women's History month, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency (Hardcover)
Great book for Women's History month. Until I met the author I had no idea a woman had run for president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I bought several for gifts, June 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have given this book to my grandchildren, my friend's grandchildren and even kept one for myself to read to any children who happen to come over and want a story read to them. It is beautifully illustrated, written so that the story itself is very interesting (even to the adult who is reading it) and it is steeped in history, now who can hate that? " Ballots for Belva" rates more than 5 stars as far as I'm concerned, it gives children a piece of history that is not taught in any schools and it does it in a beautifully fun way. I highly recommend "Ballots for Belva" the story is true, you can research "Belva Lockwood" on the internet, she was an interesting person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Presidential Election History, October 29, 2008
I always thought that Geraldine Ferraro was the first female vice presidential candidate in our nation's history.

She was not.

I knew about the presidential candidacies of Margaret Chase Smith, Shirley Chisholm and Bella Abzug but I had never heard of Belva Lockwood.

This colorful picture book biography will be a timely addition for U.S. election units as this election year has seen the presidential candidacies of Hillary Clinton and the vice presidential run of Sarah Palin.

Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen tells the fascinating story of Belva Lockwood who earned one of the first law diplomas ever awarded to a woman. Even though she had completed all the course work at the National University Law School, it refused to give her a diploma until she wrote to President U.S. Grant to demand her due.

She was the first woman to practice law in the federal court and the first to argue a case before the U. S. Supreme Court. She was nominated for President by the Equal Right Pary of the United States in 1884, while women still did not have the right to vote. Interestingly, some of the strongest opposition to her run for president came from women of the National Woman Suffrage Association. Ballot fraud probably denied Lockwood a substantial number of votes. She is officially credited with over 4,000 votes. Grover Cleveland's slim, winning vote margin in New York state was probably due to votes for Belva being counted for him.

A short glossary of election terms follows an informative author's note on Lockwood's remarkable achievements. A time line of women's suffrage in the United States is also included.

This is an interesting and engaging read about a little known corner of presidential election history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars childrens book, February 7, 2013
By 
vicki h brown (LA MESA, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency (Hardcover)
Bought it for my college age daughter and didn't realize it was a children's book. Very short summary of her run for presidency. Have to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency
Ballots for Belva: The True Story of a Woman's Race for the Presidency by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen (Hardcover - September 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $2.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.