Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book about baseball stadiums
"An outstanding illustrated presentation of all the current major league parks combined with a look at stadiums in the past, this book includes complete histories and fascinating anecdotes about each park."

For anyone who is heavily into baseball (or specifically interested in stadiums design), this is an absolute treasure of a book -- an impressive, profusely...
Published on November 25, 2007 by Night Owl

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How Many Mistakes Are There?
I received this book as a Christmas present (in 2007), as I am an avid baseball fan. And, since I grew up in St. Louis, the Cardinals have always been my team.

Naturally, I looked at the writeups of the St. Louis ballparks first and was extremely disappointed at what I read on page 400, which was, "During the 1960s, they (the St. Louis Cardinals)had three...
Published on December 28, 2007 by J. Raithel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How Many Mistakes Are There?, December 28, 2007
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
I received this book as a Christmas present (in 2007), as I am an avid baseball fan. And, since I grew up in St. Louis, the Cardinals have always been my team.

Naturally, I looked at the writeups of the St. Louis ballparks first and was extremely disappointed at what I read on page 400, which was, "During the 1960s, they (the St. Louis Cardinals)had three World Series teams -- 1964, 1967, and 1968, beating the Yankees, beating the Red Sox, and losing to the Twins in the three series."

Any Cardinal fan knows that the Cardinals lost to the Detroit Tigers in 1968, not the Twins. Major, major error.

Then the text continues, "They returned to the World Series three times in the 1980s, beating the Brewers in 1982, losing to the Royals in 1985, and losing to the Twins again in 1987." This statement is accurate except for the word "again" since the Cardinals did not lose to them in 1968.

Continuing on the same page is, "So popular and influential a figure was Musial that a statue in his honor was unveiled outside the Busch Stadium in 1968, three years before he entered the Hall of Fame." This statement implies that Musial was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1971, when, in fact, he was inducted in 1969 (his first year of eligibility.)

Needless to say, after I found these errors on the same page after only reading about five pages in the book, I wonder just how many other errors there are throughout the book. And, I hope the above mentioned errors are corrected before any subsequent publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pictures Great, Writing Terrible, January 16, 2008
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
The photos in this book are wonderful. Visually, it's a treat. I saw many photographs I've never seen before, both of some historic parks, as well as some interesting shots of today's modern parks.

That being said, however...

I sure hope the people who edited this book lost their jobs. I was shocked to see the number of very obvious spelling errors found within the pages of this. Aside from that, but there are just some very blatently wrong facts within the book.

This published in 2007. In the little 'stadium bio' for Comerica Park, under the listing of how many times the MLB All Star Game has been played in the stadium, it mentions that the game is SCHEDULED for 2005. Granted, I believe this book was first published prior to 2007, but if you're going to update and re-publish something, it sould be expected to go ahead and update something like that too.

If you're looking for a book that's nice to look at, go ahead and buy this. If you're looking for a book that's a good read, I might consider passing this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book about baseball stadiums, November 25, 2007
By 
Night Owl (Boston, Mass.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
"An outstanding illustrated presentation of all the current major league parks combined with a look at stadiums in the past, this book includes complete histories and fascinating anecdotes about each park."

For anyone who is heavily into baseball (or specifically interested in stadiums design), this is an absolute treasure of a book -- an impressive, profusely illustrated, exquisite tome of 448 glossy pages.

It contains a wealth of information about 42 best known baseball ballparks in the U.S., listed alphabetically by city name (starting with Albequergue, ending with Washington D.C.).

Additionally, the first 70 pages contain general information about the major leagues, history of baseball, what matters in ballpark design, recent trends, etc.

Published in England, this book is a "stunner", a real pleasure to hold in your hands. With breath-taking superb photographps on every page, it's "candy for the eyes", and accompnied by equally attractive and interesting written content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
Nicely illustrated book about the ballparks in Major League Baseball (and a few Minor League Parks). A few typping or editing errors, but over all a great book with beautiful pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BALLPARKS BOOK, July 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
THIS IS AN UPDATED COLORFUL HEAVY TABLETOP BOOK. EVEN IF YOUR NOT A FAN, THIS IS VERY INTERESTING TO THUMB THROUGH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with great photos, December 28, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
Another fabulous book on the history of baseball stadiums. I was over-the-moon pleased with this item. This is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the pictures!, October 6, 2008
By 
Lowell Prescott (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
This book, first published in 2007 (with a night game picture of Turner Field on the cover), combines and corrects two earlier volumes by the same publisher: Ballparks: A Panoramic History (2004) and Historic Ballparks: A Panoramic Vision (2006).

The biggest change is physical. The earlier books were each very large (17" x 12"), and this one is considerably smaller (12" x 8.5"). That makes for exactly half the page size of the originals, meaning the photos are much smaller, eliminating part of the attraction of the originals. The text is updated as well, correcting some of the errors from the earlier version, but also introducing some new ones.

Because of the size difference, the earlier volumes are preferred. But this still can be enjoyed for the wonderful ballpark photography. For more detailed (and accurate) information on the parks themselves, there are much better resources available, such as Green Cathedrals: The Ultimate Celebration of All Major League Ballparks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, July 16, 2008
This review is from: Ballparks: Yesterday and Today (Hardcover)
Great book, as an avid baseball fan, and a person who appreciates the grand old stadiums, this book has many wonderful photos. The book though is trying to cover more than just major league stadiums, however, I thought it should included all the minor league stadiums and not just a few from in the past too. Overall though, this book has many great photos and interesting articles. Definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ballparks: Yesterday and Today
Ballparks: Yesterday and Today by Marc Sandalow (Hardcover - August 25, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.