Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last season. A pleasant surprise.
I had no plans to watch season 6 after the end of season 5. I was very tired of the antics of Donnal and Liam which seemed to be more and more of each program. I also cringed every time Uncle Minto made an appearance. I knew that many of the characters were just going to disappear without any kind of acknowledgement and felt that the wedding at the end of Season 5...
Published on May 16, 2010 by Frank Jellison

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad end to a wonderful show
I am currently viewing Season 6 of Ballykissangel after having watched the first 5 seasons on DVD over the past few months. Although there were many changes to the cast throughout the 5 seasons, there always seemed to be a central core that kept it glued together. Indeed it was this constant that made BallyK what it was--surely one of the best TV shows on either side of...
Published on September 28, 2009 by cat lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad end to a wonderful show, September 28, 2009
By 
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
I am currently viewing Season 6 of Ballykissangel after having watched the first 5 seasons on DVD over the past few months. Although there were many changes to the cast throughout the 5 seasons, there always seemed to be a central core that kept it glued together. Indeed it was this constant that made BallyK what it was--surely one of the best TV shows on either side of the pond. I really enjoyed spending my evenings with these wonderful folks from a country and culture far from my own. From reading the reviews here I see that the actor who played Brian Quigly passed away shortly after season 5 concluded. I didn't know that as it was never mentioned in Season 6. I thought that like the others who left before him, he merely went on to other pursuits (more money, etc.) The show also failed to note the passing during season 5 of the wonderful Birdy Sweeny who played the farmer Eamonn. I came to love that old geiser. It would have been nice to give him a nod when he passed.
I am so disappointed with the writing and newer characters this season. If it weren't for Liam and Donal I would think it was a different show. Not just that the characters are different, but the writing seems to have lost the spark that made this show special. Even a new, handsome Aussie priest couldn't help it. That's probably why there are only 8 episodes to Season 6. Like an old, sick horse, someone did the humane thing and put it out of it's misery.
I belatedly mourn the passing of Tony Doyle and Birdy Sweeny and the death of a great piece of television history. But I am so grateful I found it and was able to enjoy it's wonderful 5 year run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BallyK tries to move on after Tony Doyle's passing., June 4, 2007
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
What sort of person are you? Do you relish variety or prefer the TV shows, musical artists, actresses you like to be recognizably the same over their runs, careers? The answer to that will determine whether you relish the changes introduced for series six of Ballykissangel, as the following exit the show: Sean Dillon (Lorcan Cranitch), Emma Dillon (Kate McEnery), Father Aidan O'Connell (Don Wycherley), Orla O'Connell (Victoria Smurfit), Danny Byrne (Colin Farrell), and Brian Quigley (Tony Doyle) who, arguably, was the franchise character and driving force of the entire show. Mr. Doyle passed away in January of 2000, just after the last episode of the fifth year of BallyK was broadcast (in December of 1999). There were no more episodes of BallyK until the spring of 2001 at which time series six (the first of 8 episodes) began to be broadcast. Item one of this final year thus was explaining the absence of Brian Quigley, dealing with that and then trying to move on without this central character. Of course, it's still BallyK and a welcoming program to watch, but at one and the same time, not the same anymore without the fulcrum (raison d'être even), of the whole program.

Series Six Episodes

Episode One - God.com
Brian Quigley goes missing & there's a new online confessional.

Episode Two - Drink
Father Vincent, the new parish priest buys Fitzgerald's Pub AND gets caught for drink driving!

Episode Three - The Cat and Daddy G
Grainne Dooley receives a goat for her birthday and the residents of Ballyk go to the races.

Episode Four - Spirit Proof
Talk of Ghosts and fishing problems, meanwhile Kathleen learns to drive.

Episode Five - Paul Dooley Sleeps with the Fishes
A stranger in town turns out to be from Avril's past. And the famous Fitzgerald's Bar might be in for a name change.

Episode Six - In a Jam
Vincent is in charge of this year's parish fête and something appears to be bothering Siobhan.

Episode Seven - Getting Better all the Time
An old friend of Vincent's arrives in Ballykissangel and Liam and Donal have to decide what to do with Quigley's money.

Episode Eight - Smoke Signals
Father Mac confronts Vincent when he finds out that Lyn and Barry are married.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last season. A pleasant surprise., May 16, 2010
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
I had no plans to watch season 6 after the end of season 5. I was very tired of the antics of Donnal and Liam which seemed to be more and more of each program. I also cringed every time Uncle Minto made an appearance. I knew that many of the characters were just going to disappear without any kind of acknowledgement and felt that the wedding at the end of Season 5 would make good break with the series.

In the end I'm very happy that I decided to watch season 6 as I enjoyed it very much. The new curate, Father Vincent is a great character. Unlike his predecessors , Peter and Aidan, he is not intimidated by Father Mac and won't be bullied by the older priest. He even stands up to the bishop who is far worse that Father Mac. Father Vincent has his shortcomings, which makes him believable, but he is a good central character for the show.

They did a good job of giving the Brian Quigley character a sendoff, in spite of the death of actor Tony Doyle. This was an improvement over the way the Eamonn character was quickly written out of the show when actor Birdy Sweeney passed away.

Some new characters, especially Avril, are interesting and add to the series. On the other had, Louie, who speaks with an unintelligible accent, even Brendan can't understand him, is very annoying.

There is no "final episode" which happens in many other series. Former cast members do not make one final appearance nor do dead characters appear in people's dreams. The last scene, which takes place in Fitzgerald's, was a perfect way to end the series. It was as if there are more stories to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but incomplete, December 18, 2007
By 
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
Thought the writers did a great job dealing with the changes. I was suprised when I came to the end of disc 2 however, that there seemed to be no real ending. It just trails off and leaves you wondering what happens to father mac and other characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so good, May 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
If you are a fan of Bally-K, like myself, skip this series. There were people i didnt even know or knew how they arrived at Bally-K. The priest was "off" too.
Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Darker side of Bally K, April 13, 2008
By 
C. J. Calbick (Lincoln City,Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
I love this series,but this Series 6 has taken a deeper look into life in Bally K. Some new characters showed up with no explanation of their reason to be in town. One of the things I really liked was being able to follow characters through the series. I am sorry to see the demise of Ballykissangel,but I will remember it as an intimate peek into the life of a small Irish town,and it's folks. Wonderful cast members,and totally believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Season Six...Big Disappointment, August 18, 2013
By 
Scottie Lover (Stanhope, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
Being Irish, and loving all things Irish, I have enjoyed watching Ballykissangel. While watching the beginning of Season Six, I shook my head..."what did I miss in the final show of Season Five?...Who are "these" people AND what happened to the characters from previous seasons???" There was no explanation...it was as if I was watching an entirely different program...so-o-o disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another treasured series bites the dust, May 2, 2013
By 
Jim (San Diego) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
Would be interesting to know if the same BBC execs who had a hand in canceling Mulberry decided to tinker with the highly popular Ballykissangel. Throwing too many new characters into the mix makes it difficult to get to know them all, especially with little or no background. An absence of respect for actors/characters no longer with the show by just ignoring their disappearance (with the exception of the clever treatment of the loss of Brian Quigley/Tony Doyle) also rankles. Which did they think would attract younger viewers, an Australian surfer priest, or the new opening credits fresh from the cutting room floor of some 1960's American sitcom? Since such changes along with subpar writing and the annoying Dooley tots seemed to permanently sink the series, perhaps it's fortunate the rumored scripts for a seventh series never saw the light of day. Buy this sixth series if you just have to see the last programs, but you'll get little enjoyment and no closure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what's not to love about the Bally Kiss Angel series?!, February 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
By the sixth or seventh series you realize they are phasing out all of the characters that were so endearing... and yet you find you can't help but liking the new ones just as much. While some may find it's not how they want to see the clergy portrayed - perhaps it is because they are just so HUMAN - flawed and fantastic all rolled into one. Isn't that a commentary on all of us? Fr. MacAnally gives every single curate he has a hard time and is a complete pill - but each of them seems to give kindness back to him in their own way. Maybe that's a life lesson. But I will always miss Assumpta ... If you haven't seen BKA from the very beginning, DO IT! And even Brian Quigley manages to do one last graceful gesture to his village fools, Donnal and Liam. Again, what a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The should've stopped at series 5, June 17, 2014
By 
Laura (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six (DVD)
Season 6 is a total dissapointment. The characters (many of whom just appeared with no explanation) are mostly shallow and totally unlikable. Season 5 would've been a perfect place to end the show, especially after the sudden death of Tony Doyle (Quigley). The show just wasn't the same without him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six
Ballykissangel - Complete Series Six by Tina Kellegher (DVD - 2007)
$29.98 $12.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.