Customer Reviews


283 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final season with Tony Doyle's "Brian Quigley" franchise character.
The Episodes:
1: Two Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
2: Hello and Farewell
3: Catch of the Day Episode
4: Moving Out
5: Eureka Episode
6: Behind Bars Episode
7: Brendan's Crossing Episode
8: A Few More Dollars
9: The Outsiders Episode
10: With a Song in My Heart Episode
11: Love Labors Episode
12: The Wedding...
Published on February 9, 2007 by brian komyathy

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Being a big fan of the Ballykissangel series, I own and have watched all the previous. And unfortunately each series has gotten progessively more disappointing with this one actually not watchable. Its slow, boring, and has officailly Jumped the Shark. I'd pass this over and stick to the first three in the series.
Published on March 8, 2007 by Phillip Nino


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final season with Tony Doyle's "Brian Quigley" franchise character., February 9, 2007
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
The Episodes:
1: Two Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
2: Hello and Farewell
3: Catch of the Day Episode
4: Moving Out
5: Eureka Episode
6: Behind Bars Episode
7: Brendan's Crossing Episode
8: A Few More Dollars
9: The Outsiders Episode
10: With a Song in My Heart Episode
11: Love Labors Episode
12: The Wedding

Welcome back to Ireland and your favorite townsfolk in BallyKissangel---well, actually, all of them are not on board for season 5, but enough of them are for this season to be an enjoyable one nevertheless. Father Aidan's return, in my opinion, is crucial herein. After 3 years of Father Peter Clifford, it's welcoming to have the same local priest around for a second year running. The priest is, generally speaking, the central focus of this drama set---and filmed---in Ireland; in Avoca, in case you're in the Dublin area. It's not too far away for a glass of stout in Fitzgerald's Bar if you're driving south. Interestingly too, Don Wycherley, who plays Father Aiden is Tina Kellegher's (Niamh) real-life brother-in-law, providing an extra dose of natural emotion in this warm-hearted program.

Change is represented by the arrival of a new police Guard to town, and the character is a winning one---a woman this time, going by the name of Frankie, but she's attractive and capable in the role; but also rather more of a "tough guy" than Guard Egan (though also likable) ever was during the first 4 years. Ambrose Egan's widow, the aforementioned Niamh (who can be seen in the fine Irish drama by the title of "The Hanging Gale" with the fabulous Michael Kitchen starring), is the star of this season. Tony Doyle, who plays her father Brian Quigley remains the character around whom the show really revolves; or his schemes, doings, etc. are responsible for many happenings in this series, as per the norm with previous seasons of BallyK.

And also returning, fortunately, are the characters of Sean Dillon, and Orla. So there isn't much to complain about regarding season 5 (well, of course, there are some things, but not worth harping on here as they aren't that troublesome). I wish the same could be said about season 6, but unfortunately, that's when a slew of characters leave the show. So, enjoy this season all the more! Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 8, 2007
By 
Phillip Nino (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
Being a big fan of the Ballykissangel series, I own and have watched all the previous. And unfortunately each series has gotten progessively more disappointing with this one actually not watchable. Its slow, boring, and has officailly Jumped the Shark. I'd pass this over and stick to the first three in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've known these people my whole life, October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
I have to start by saying that Ballykissangel is a television series filmed in Ireland and the entire 6 years are available on DVD. This review is about Series 5, although I must include references to each of the years of the Series. The people that you will meet in the fictional town of Ballykissangel will make you laugh, cry, get mad, feel sorry for, and love. Their lives intertwine throughout the entire 6 years with a core of characters who are featured for the entire series. There are some major characters that leave and little vignettes with new and fleeting characters that only last one episode, but it needs to be this way to shake up things a bit. The show centers around a bar and a priest at the Catholic church in town. When you have finished watching all 6 years of this series, you will feel like you have known these people your whole life. And like a really good book, you won't want it to end. Series 5 specifically introduces some new characters to the show who end up playing major parts. You will enjoy all the ups and downs of their lives. I highly recommend Ballykissangel, but be sure to watch it beginning with Series 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballyk bright and beautiful, February 16, 2007
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
If this series only included disc 1 and 3 it would have been enough for the true Ballyk fans. The new actress (Frankie) is the downside for this series, she lacks the Ballyk spirit. Romance between Niamh and Sean is as gut wretching as that between Asumpta and Peter. This series is filled with light and beauty of the surrounding hills and farms seen from a hot air balloon, series 4 was dark and foreboding, this counteracts that. Liam and Donal, Brian, Father Max, Brenden and Shaboan are the same and hopefully remain the same in series 6 (which if anyone knows when it will be released please post it). We miss Aman,and Kathleen has two personalities in this series which a true fan will welcome. Can't wait for series 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ballykissangel chemistry, February 28, 2014
The average four star rating for the initial two - three episodes was justified. From season four each episode sooner or later focused on Quigley's daughter. That characters main dynamic was to pout like a two year old no matter what the issue was. Could only take so much of that, left the series half way through episode five!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Miss the Original Characters, January 16, 2014
I loved Seasons 1-3. Then slowly characters started to die or disappear. As I have arrived at Seasons 5 and 6 the quality of the earlier stories is dwindling and I miss the original characters from the previous seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish there were more episodes, December 14, 2013
By 
snshn "snshn" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
I love this entire series although the first four seasons were my favorites. I wouldn't miss any episodes of this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Irish Village and it's people, June 1, 2009
By 
ED78 (Fayetteville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
This is a fun series. I purchased season one through five. You'll love these characters and want for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The final season with Tony Doyle's "Brian Quigley" franchise character., June 23, 2011
The Episodes:
1: Two Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
2: Hello and Farewell
3: Catch of the Day Episode
4: Moving Out
5: Eureka Episode
6: Behind Bars Episode
7: Brendan's Crossing Episode
8: A Few More Dollars
9: The Outsiders Episode
10: With a Song in My Heart Episode
11: Love Labors Episode
12: The Wedding

Welcome back to Ireland and your favorite townsfolk in BallyKissangel---well, actually, all of them are not on board for season 5, but enough of them are for this season to be an enjoyable one nevertheless. Father Aidan's return, in my opinion, is crucial herein. After 3 years of Father Peter Clifford, it's welcoming to have the same local priest around for a second year running. The priest is, generally speaking, the central focus of this drama set---and filmed---in Ireland; in Avoca, in case you're in the Dublin area. It's not too far away for a glass of stout in Fitzgerald's Bar if you're driving south. Interestingly too, Don Wycherley, who plays Father Aiden is Tina Kellegher's (Niamh) real-life brother-in-law, providing an extra dose of natural emotion in this warm-hearted program.

Change is represented by the arrival of a new police Guard to town, and the character is a winning one---a woman this time, going by the name of Frankie, but she's attractive and capable in the role; but also rather more of a "tough guy" than Guard Egan (though also likable) ever was during the first 4 years. Ambrose Egan's widow, the aforementioned Niamh (who can be seen in the fine Irish drama by the title of "The Hanging Gale" with the fabulous Michael Kitchen starring), is the star of this season. Tony Doyle, who plays her father Brian Quigley remains the character around whom the show really revolves; or his schemes, doings, etc. are responsible for many happenings in this series, as per the norm with previous seasons of BallyK.

And also returning, fortunately, are the characters of Sean Dillon, and Orla. So there isn't much to complain about regarding season 5 (well, of course, there are some things, but not worth harping on here as they aren't that troublesome). I wish the same could be said about season 6, but unfortunately, that's when a slew of characters leave the show. So, enjoy this season all the more! Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Bally-K, June 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five (DVD)
I didn't think I'd ever enjoy this series after Assumpta "died"
and Peter walked away, but the new characters are also delightful
and the continuations of their personal stories engaging. The
comic scenes interspersed with the dramatic ones keep the fast pace
alive. I would recommend this 5th season to anyone who has fallen
in love with this small village of Bally-K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five
Ballykissangel - Complete Series Five by Tony Doyle (DVD - 2007)
$39.98 $20.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.