Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONLY AND EXCLUSIVELY For The Martial Arts Action Movie Junkie!!!
If you're looking for a film that is well-rounded in martial-arts action, humor and plot, you need to look elsewhere. The acting is mediocre at best, the story is absurd and the humor completely fails in delivery except for a couple of sight gags that may or may not bring a weak chuckle. Of course, this is to be expected and almost a standard in most low budget action...
Published on October 20, 2010 by AZDEVIL

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars (2.5 STARS) Silly Action Comedy with One Redeeming Quality -- Martial Arts Action
Four British backpackers in Thailand, heavily in debt to a gangster due to gambling, plan to kidnap a billionaire Mr. Dawson's only daughter Irene in order to pay back the money in seven days. Of course, things go ridiculously wrong when Mr. Dawson is not an ordinary businessman. He sends out two well-trained henchmen to find the kidnappers. Martial arts fights...
Published on October 30, 2010 by Tsuyoshi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONLY AND EXCLUSIVELY For The Martial Arts Action Movie Junkie!!!, October 20, 2010
By 
AZDEVIL (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you're looking for a film that is well-rounded in martial-arts action, humor and plot, you need to look elsewhere. The acting is mediocre at best, the story is absurd and the humor completely fails in delivery except for a couple of sight gags that may or may not bring a weak chuckle. Of course, this is to be expected and almost a standard in most low budget action films. BUT THE ACTION IS 100% AWESOME!!! Nothing but top notch fight choreography, brutal bone-crunching hits and jaw dropping free-running executed to perfection for the sole purpose of entertaining the most hardcore of martial-arts movie fans!!! Let's face it, if you're a hardcore action fan like me, you don't watch action flix for the plot. Most stories in these films are a generated excuse to break the protagonists and antagonists into a flurry of fists and kicks. The question is how to come up with the best fight or action scene to top the last one.
If you're the critical action fanatic looking for the next masterpiece, keep looking. Now, if you're part of the hardcore fans, this movie was tailor made for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, Very Good Martial Arts Movie, October 10, 2010
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
I can't comment on this DVD specifically , having watched the British DVD release of Bangkok Adrenaline earlier this year...

It's been a long time since the first trailer appeared on the internet for Bangkok Adrenaline. So I was really pleased to get an opportunity to finally see this film. Bangkok Adrenaline features the young exciting British talent Daniel O'Neill (a former member of the Jackie Chan stunt team), who thrills with his amazing moves electrifying the screen. He free runs with agility, grace and energy, then performs unbelievable gymnastic like moves and his sheer speed , skill, kicks, punches, elbows and knees his opposition to defeat.

The action doesn't have the same kind of bone breaking brutality of Tony Jaa. Yet I found it immensely satisfying.

Between the plentiful action involved in the film there are some good and very funny scenes that kept me entertained but I won't elaborate so I don't spoil anything .

The acting is passable if nothing special from the main cast but some of the actors are pretty bad in the smaller roles. However, if you're thinking of watching this film you won't be watching it for the acting and drama. Like me your here for the action, the martial-arts and the thrills contained within. On that basis Bangkok Adrenaline is a roaring success of a movie and one I would definitely recommend watching.

Oh yeah this is an English language movie as it was filmed to be.

Easily one of the best new martial-arts films out this year!

7.5 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You're not very smart, are you?", May 17, 2013
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
This film had been on my to-watch list for the longest time before I was finally persuaded towards a rental by the recommendation of a pal. I'm happy to say that I'll be thanking him for his suggestion, because "Bangkok Adrenaline" is quite an entertaining movie. I don't gravitate towards martial arts comedies much, even the biggest and best of them, but this one ends up being an exception. It obviously isn't everyone's cup of tea, but despite a rocky start, this freshman outing of director Raimund Huber (Kill Em All) certainly makes my day through the power of its offbeat storyline and its trainload of action.

The story: four friends vacationing in Bangkok find themselves thick in gambling debt to a mafia boss. With one week to repay their massive balance, they initiate a plan to kidnap and ransom the daughter of local millionaire (Geoffrey Giuliano, The Scorpion King 3: Battle for Redemption), but are ill-prepared when their plot intersects with a fiendish plan of the man's own...

I wasn't sure I was going to like this movie as much as I eventually did - at least not within the first thirty minutes or so. The lead characters aren't very well defined and much of what they do outside of action scenes is either vaguely cruel or pretty stupid. However, somehow they ended up growing on me, probably as a natural result of me getting comfortable with the comedic tone of the film and because they end up becoming heroes, albeit by accident. The acting isn't great - particular dramatic offenders include Priya Suandokemai as the kidnapee, Lex de Groot (Kingdom of War) as one of the lead henchmen, and director Huber himself as one of the main four - but the unpredictable and occasionally clever writing helps make up for any performance deficiencies. The dramatic twist in the middle of the film genuinely surprised me, and it was at this (at the very latest) that I began warming up to the picture.

And even if you don't like the story, so what - the action scenes will make this worthwhile viewing for just about any cinematic adrenaline junkie. These aren't the best fight scenes ever filmed, but they're high above average. At worst, the chase scenes feel a bit like they're aping Ong-Bak and the fight choreography features a few too many facetious acrobatics, but in the end the action direction comes together for a very exciting and likeable package. I particularly enjoyed a two-against-many fight in an empty warehouse which featured some fun double-team choreography, as well as an encounter in a tight walkway wherein the performers were still somehow able to pull off some great XMA moves. More than anything, this movie is a spectacular showcase for longtime Hong Kong stuntman and first-time star Daniel O'Neil (Vampire Effect), who disappointingly seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth after the film's release. Come back, Dan! - we need more folks like you in these movies!

As proven by his later feature, director Huber definitely has a knack for this sort of flick, and the world of DTV martial arts films will definitely be a better place if this weirdo can keep on getting projects, even if they take a few minutes to get used to. It may be the forgiving martial arts enthusiast who gives this one a better score than me, but I can think of few folks who won't be able to get into this one's adrenaline ride. Give a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get It For The Action Only, February 8, 2011
By 
SeanLau99 (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
Bangkok Adrenaline is loaded with outstanding fight scenes and that's why Martial Arts junkies should buy this. The acting is a joke because most of the cast speaks horrible English and stumbles through lines. The comedy is poorly timed and executed and it's hard to like the four leads because they are just jerks. However, when three of them get into brawls (one of them can't fight a lick), you forget about their annoying slacker personalities. The main star, Daniel O Neill blends Muay Thai, Parkour, Capoeira, and other styles together flawlessly. He is truly amazing to watch. You might not care for his character but you have to respect his skills. He definitely deserves to appear in his own direct to dvd sagas. The story is lame as the four British anti-heroes decide to kidnap a rich guy's daughter for ransom in order to pay a huge gambling debt to a gangster while vacationing in Bangkok. The young lady's father is also a criminal and that's where the mayhem begins. So, forget about the acting, comedy and wack story. Concentrate on the action and this works. Once again, Bangkok Adrenaline is a must for Martial Arts fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars (2.5 STARS) Silly Action Comedy with One Redeeming Quality -- Martial Arts Action, October 30, 2010
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
Four British backpackers in Thailand, heavily in debt to a gangster due to gambling, plan to kidnap a billionaire Mr. Dawson's only daughter Irene in order to pay back the money in seven days. Of course, things go ridiculously wrong when Mr. Dawson is not an ordinary businessman. He sends out two well-trained henchmen to find the kidnappers. Martial arts fights ensue.

Actually, the thrilling martial arts sequences are the reason you should see this Thai action film (language in English and Thai). The story is predicable at best, with improbable twists and turns (where did they get sleeping gas?); special effects (including a fake explosion) look so cheap; acting is amateurish and the jokes are lame and corny.

Still the film's action scenes deliver the goods. Most (if not all) of the younger actors can do stunts for real, jumping and kicking without relying on editing, and among them the most impressive is Daniel O'Neill as Dan, one of the four travelers in trouble. If those four kidnappers are terribly annoying, nice actions almost make up for that.

The film itself is light-hearted, never taking itself seriously. Maybe it is not as intense or bone-crunching as Tony Jaa films, but still entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great action and adventure!, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is an awesome film filled with plenty of action and adventure! I love this movie it was great! Want to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ...when the fast-forward button is your friend..., April 26, 2012
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
Four European friends have come to Thailand for fun and frolic. Four suddenly desperate friends who, after gambling the night away, now find themselves heavily in hock to a local mobster and given just one week to come up with one million baht. These four friends are so clueless they decide to abduct a billionaire's foul-tempered teenaged daughter (Priya Suandokemai) for the ransom money. But what happens when the father decides that he wants his daughter dead and so deploys his brutal henchmen? Now all manner of random martial arts-wielding Asian thugs are gunning for these four tourists. It doesn't exactly go down like in RUTHLESS PEOPLE.

Thai action cinema isn't exactly redolent with rich, nuanced storytelling, and you have got some seriously askewed expectations if you're anticipating highbrow fare here. BANGKOK ADRENALINE falls in line with the bottom line trend. The plot stinks and meanders and tends to spring tedious plot twists on you. The dialogue is awful. The occasional stabs at humor fall flat. There's only one reason to recommend this film, and that's the cast - no, wait, the cast is mostly unlikable and comical (but not in a good way). No, the fight scenes are what you come to the show for, especially those showcasing the remarkable and highly acrobatic goon-smiting prowess of Daniel O'Neill ("Dan"). His co-star Gwion Jacob Miles ("Mike") also demonstrates capable fighting skills, but he's not as dynamic as O'Neill. Feel free to hate on the irritating other two friends, the obnoxious dreadlocked Raimund Huber ("John") and the dim-witted giant Conan Stevens ("conan"). The kidnapped girl's father, by the way, is perfectly wretched in his delivery of lines. Thankfully, the girl herself, Priya Suandokemai, is full of vinegar and is easy on the old eyeballs. But you may also roll them eyeballs when the unnecessary romance develops. In the flash over substance department, expect an abundance of wasteful (and impractical) spins and rotations performed by O'Neill and Miles before they dropkick a villain. All this aerial twirling looks cool at first but gets old after a while. More enjoyable are O'Neill's occasional bursts of parkour. I hope to see more of this guy in martial arts cinema. He's got the looks, the legit fighting creds, and sort of knows his way around a line. So, right there, he's one up on Van Damme and Seagal. It's like Daniel O'Neill is the second coming of Gary Daniels.

The DVD's bonus stuff:

- An extensive Behind-the-Scenes featurette (00:56:34 minutes, no English sub-titles)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Good Dollar Rental, November 13, 2010
By 
Carl Danby (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
If I rented "Bangkok Adrenaline" for a dollar, I would say I got my money's worth. True, some of the fighting is entertaining.... mostly, the acrobatic antics of the kid who does parkour are the high points of the movie... but the story languishes, and the copious humor is sophomoric. PS: If you care, the girl does NOT dress like she dresses on the DVD cover. Pick up District B13 or the original Ong Bak instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KIDNAPPING TO MAKE MONEY SOUNDS EASY, RIGHT?, July 18, 2012
This review is from: Bangkok Adrenaline (DVD)
There are tons of movies made around the world, some great, some mediocre and some down right terrible. But the fact of the matter is that most fall into the center category, not quite good but not as bad as some big budget films out there. Such is the case with this film.

Four backpacking friends land in Bangkok and hit the town. Between dance joints and bars their funds run a little low so one has a plan to make back what they've spent: get into a high stakes poker game! All goes well at first but then they lose what money they have left...as well as money they don't have. The stereotypical Thailand gang boss tells them he breaks a finger for every 1,000 batt they owe. But since they owe 1,000,000 he's going to run out of fingers before he gets paid. He gives them one week to come up with the funds.

Taking menial jobs here and there, everything from professional wrestler to male stripper, the group doesn't seem to have a chance of making the money. That's when one of them comes up with the idea of kidnapping a wealthy American's daughter and holding her for ransom. The kidnapping goes fine and of course the young woman is a mouthy whiner that they're anxious to get rid of but her father keeps telling them that he can't come up with the funds they want. They negotiate for a smaller sum and head out to collect.

The best laid plans saying kicks in here. Rather than send the money the American, a crook if there ever was one, sends out his bodyguards who bring along a gang that seems trained in martial arts. Good thing our 4 semi-heroes are great fighters. They battle back and forth and eventually escape.

Along the way the group discovers that the American has no intentions of paying them anything at all. As a matter of fact he wants the girl dead. So much for fatherly love. Now instead of holding her ransom they try to help her along with the bodyguards who have no idea how conniving their boss really is.

The film has so many loopholes in the plot that to try and list them would result in a review longer than what I've written so far. The idea that these idiots come up with is not only far fetched but downright stupid. But that's not what folks who look at movies like this care about. They're interested in the fight sequences and honestly there are some great ones on display here. Where Jackie Chan and his team brought fast paced frenetic energy to fight sequences in the past, films being made in Indonesia and Thailand are upping the ante creating some classic fight scenes and catching them on film.

No, the movie isn't the greatest thing ever made but it's not the worst either. Anyone interested in this title will do so just to watch the fight sequences. To rent it for any other reason is to end in disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bangkok Adrenaline [Blu-ray]
Bangkok Adrenaline [Blu-ray] by Raimund Huber (Blu-ray - 2010)
$17.97 $12.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.