Start reading Banished: The Blackheart Legacy: Book One on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
This title is not currently available for purchase
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Banished: The Blackheart Legacy: Book One [Kindle Edition]

Liz de Jager
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Pricing information not available.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Book Description

Kit is proud to be a Blackhart, now she's living with her unorthodox cousins and sharing their strange lives. Especially since their home-schooling includes spells, fighting enemy fae and using ancient weapons.

But it's not until she rescues a rather handsome fae prince, fighting for his life on the edge of Blackhart Manor, that her training really kicks in. With her family away on various missions, Kit must protect Prince Thorn, rely on new friends and use her own unfamiliar magic to stay ahead of Thorn's enemies.

As things go from bad to apocalyptic, fae battle fae in a war that threatens to spill into the human world. Then Kit pits herself against the Elder Gods themselves - it's that or lose everyone she's learnt to love.



Product Details

  • File Size: 1026 KB
  • Print Length: 401 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1447247655
  • Publisher: Tor (February 27, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HPYMQJM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #763,497 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
(5)
4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blackhart Legacy book 1 March 1, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
I feel it's only fair to mention in my review that I have known Liz for about 4 years now and consider her a friend, as much as I've tried not to let that effect my review I do think it's something I should be open and honest about. Now I've got that little disclaimer out of the way let me tell you all the reasons that Banished is a must read novel for urban fantasy fans!

Kit Blackhart has only recently become aware of her family's calling to protect humanity from the monsters that prey on us. She didn't grow up with the majority of her family and it was only when her grandmother was murdered by the fae that Kit discovered that monsters were real and that she was born to fight them. Sent to live with her uncle and cousins Kit has had a steep learning curve to deal with. Not only is she still discovering all the different fae species she also has to learn how to use her magical abilities as well as train with various weapons so she can defeat them. Recovering at home after her first solo mission Kit is disappointed not to be included in the latest battle her family are facing but she soon finds herself in over her head when a fae prince is attacked just outside their property. With her family out of contact Kit is in a difficult position, does she put herself in danger to save prince Thorn and is there anyone she can trust to help her?

I found Kit was a really likeable heroine, she has been thrown in at the deep end and doesn't have as much training as the rest of her family but what she lacks in knowledge she makes up for in guts and determination. I love the fact that she isn't perfect, she makes mistakes and doesn't always have the answers she needs but she never stops trying and fighting for what she believes in.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars teen girls eat your heart out February 28, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Ok, I kind of felt like I snuck into the girl's locker room at high school on this one. Complete with PG girl love tension, bad hair drama and the forbidden and eternal love angle. Was well written and at the end of the day that is what matters. Really really written for a teenage girl fantasy audience though complete with all the semi Barbie accoutrements. I guess I did not read the reviews well.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fans of Urban Fantasy August 9, 2014
Format:Paperback
This book is much better than most urban fantasy involving fae. It is fast paced, and packed with plenty of action. The monsters/creatures that Kit faces in this book are extremely imaginative and are described to the reader with great attention to detail. I would have enjoyed the book a bit more if the main characters were better developed, but in all fairness the character development was actually pretty typical for a novel as fast paced as this one.

There are some dark elements to this novel, including monstrous creatures reminiscent of H.P. Lovecraft, and plenty of violence, but overall I would still describe it as a fun read. There are more lighthearted elements than dark ones, so the novel's tone still ends up being upbeat.

I also found a few scenes and phrases in the book to be a bit awkward and cliched, but the story's sense of rapid adventure made sure that these sections did not stand out too much.

I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone who loves urban fantasy, and doesn't mind an undercurrent of a love story. I am certainly planning on reading more books in this series in the future.

I would have given this book 3.5 stars if it was possible, but I rounded up.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasant surprise! July 15, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Bought the book on impulse. Was browsing around in store and saw the title. I didn't know it at the time but I was getting lucky ;P
Wasn't expecting much in the way of a read, but boy was I wrong! Great story, strong characters, interesting world. Definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this book! November 21, 2014
Format:Paperback
Banished is a fast-paced fantasy which combined with a feisty heroine, enchanting Faerie prince and a believable Faerie world makes it a book not to be missed.

The sprinklings of betrayal and treachery just lift it to further heights like the hundreds and thousands on a cupcake!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category