Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back at the revolutionary oeuvre of an anonymous vandal
[Published in MIT's The Tech] - You know the dull wall of Building E38 (pink, cream, whatever) that runs between MIT Press and Cosi? The other day somebody had the audacity (dare I say, the good heart) to spray-paint two machine guns with barrels curved together in the shape of a heart. When I saw this act of vandalism, I smiled and nodded. For I have learned to...
Published on October 12, 2012 by Roberto Perez-Franco

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars shallow observations and snarky comments
Received this book as a gift and took months to even open it. Banksy's work speaks strongly for itself and this author has little of value to add to the dialogue. Save yourself some money and view Banksy's work on his own website - [...] - and respect the artist and his process. Get off the couch and explore the walls of whichever city you happen to be in. Think a...
Published 6 months ago by R. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back at the revolutionary oeuvre of an anonymous vandal, October 12, 2012
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
[Published in MIT's The Tech] - You know the dull wall of Building E38 (pink, cream, whatever) that runs between MIT Press and Cosi? The other day somebody had the audacity (dare I say, the good heart) to spray-paint two machine guns with barrels curved together in the shape of a heart. When I saw this act of vandalism, I smiled and nodded. For I have learned to appreciate this kind of art. Street art. And it's thanks to Banksy.

Maybe you don't know who Banksy is. Most people don't. This is a shame, for he is one of the most memorable visual artists of his generation. I call him an artist, but he prefers to be called a vandal. He's also a provocateur, a thinker, a poet, and Zen master of sorts.

In a new book on the elusive artist, Banksy: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat, Patrick Potter describes Banksy as "an anonymous street artist from Bristol who rose to international fame in the late 1990s and the present day chiefly by illegally spray painting stencil designs across the major cities of the U.K. and North America." It's not street art if it isn't illegal, we are reminded, along with a quote from Banksy: "Crime against property is no real crime."

At this point, Banksy is anonymous by choice. Not only his choice, mind you, but the stubborn denial of his followers and fans: "Our myths are far more important to us than some **** with a real life." Banksy will live forever anonymously, writes Potter, "and that is as it should be. Even if he came tomorrow and revealed herself. We still wouldn't have it." Plus, anonymity is kind of handy; if you're going to play Zorro, you better damn well wear the mask.

As an artist, Banksy has tackled some of the most controversial topics of the day. In 2008 Banksy went to New Orleans, to "draw attention to the slow recovery of the city and criticise the perceived lack of political will to put money into the clean up." And his "summer project" on Israel's Wall has been called "one of the most pertinent artistic and political commentaries in recent memory" by a supporter of the Palestinian cause. Given these risky moves, anonymity is not the only layer of protection Banksy uses. Another one is replication. As Potter points out, "In his early days it seems likely that Banksy was one guy, these days there are reasons enough to suspect that there might be more than one artist working under the cypher."

If you are not familiar with Banksy -- not the man, but the style, the school of thought, the revolutionary brand -- I recommend you take a look. A fast and fun way to become acquainted is to watch his Oscar-nominated documentary, Exit Through the Gift Shop, which Potter accurately describes as "a disorienting hall of mirrors, fun to watch but ultimately leaving you with the feeling you'd been conned but you still weren't sure exactly how."

Another way is to grab a copy of Banksy: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat, and look back at the mesmerizing images of the protester throwing a bouquet of flowers, the girl whose heart-shaped balloon is blown away by the wind, and the ubiquitous Banksy rats. For if you contemplate them, as if a Zen koan, you will understand who Banksy is. As said by Banksy himself, "there's nothing more dangerous than someone who wants to make the world a better place."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but "Wall and Piece" is better., January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book but honestly I was a bit dissapointed.

I had purchased this and "Wall and Piece" and greatly prefer "Wall and piece" to this book. Its an enjoyable book and the photographs of Banksy's work is clear and amazing. However it seems that not all of the art work is by Banksy. I believe they included other work by street artists that were "inspired" by Banksy. So at times it difficult to tell what is Banksy and whats not.

This book also had much more writting in it then I thought which was nice. However it was written by a third party group and not Banksy (like he does in "wall and piece").

All in all I did like this book. It will be good to add to my collection. But if your looking for one single amazing book about Banksy and he's work. Your better off getting "Wall and Piece" by banksy himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banksy: You are an Acceptable Level of Threar, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
I bought this book and Banksy's "Wall and Peace" at the same time, and prefer the other because of Banksy's witticisms and writing, although this book provides a great deal of visual information about the current world of street art. As a visual arts teacher I use both books as demonstrations of communication with line and message.
'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the king of the street art, September 8, 2014
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
If you are the Banksy fan I am, you will love this book. Pictures of his work dominate this book and that is exactly what you want to see. The rebel inside the mysterious street artist or whatever you want to call him is evident on every page.
What really adds to the rebel spirit is the text provided by Gary Shove and Patrick Potter. The minimal text is biting, cynical, dark-edged with great wit – just like the art it accompanies. In addition to Shove and Potter writing, there are a few quotes from the man himself – “There are four basic human needs; Food, Sleep, Sex, and Revenge.” There are some photos of the King Robbo vs. Banksy feud via wall battles. Overall, I loved the photos and the text of the most controversial artist of our day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
This is a great book, I really love it!
All Banksy books are awesome.
I you are a Banksy fan this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
the book is great! and I got it on time!
I'm really satisfied with my purchase! really recommend it, awesome book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
The texts are really clever. Even though it's not an 'official' Banksy book, it's indeed very worthy of the artist's statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality and content, May 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
This fun book sits on our coffee table proudly. i bought a print of his and now we have them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banksy the Bada$$, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
A great book detailing newer works of Banksy with stories behind the art when possible. A must have for any Banksy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat (Hardcover)
Learned many new things about Banksy and saw some great pieces. Overall, it was a great purchase and i am greatly satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat
Banksy.: You Are an Acceptable Level of Threat by Banksy (Hardcover - August 15, 2012)
Used & New from: $38.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.