Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Useful
If you need a scroll motif, there isn't a better variety to be found in any single source. Torn-paper scrolls, currency panels, neoclassical banners. The odd illustration that could be useful in its own right, a la the wonderful *Treasury of Book Ornament and Decoration* (ISBN 0486251675).
Published on February 27, 2001 by --E

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not ideal
the other Dover Pictorial Archive came with discs, which made it easy to import into my computer for design projects.
due to the outstanding price i can understand why a disc was not included, so i was ready to scan the images i liked, but the paper they used for the book is low quality, the printing inks bleed and the true lines were lost, the images are some what...
Published 8 months ago by robert drawbaugh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Useful, February 27, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
If you need a scroll motif, there isn't a better variety to be found in any single source. Torn-paper scrolls, currency panels, neoclassical banners. The odd illustration that could be useful in its own right, a la the wonderful *Treasury of Book Ornament and Decoration* (ISBN 0486251675).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not ideal, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
the other Dover Pictorial Archive came with discs, which made it easy to import into my computer for design projects.
due to the outstanding price i can understand why a disc was not included, so i was ready to scan the images i liked, but the paper they used for the book is low quality, the printing inks bleed and the true lines were lost, the images are some what blotchy. The book are great if your ready to rebuild the images in vector, but the images as is will not match up with the crisp edges of the fonts you use while designing. over all i'm happy because they were priced so low and i always re-build Dover work in illustrator, but if your looking to cut and past scanned images into photoshop, the Dover are will look soft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference resource, November 26, 2012
By 
Duncan Shields (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
As an artist, I'm called on from time to time to design banners. I saw this book in a tattoo shop and after leafing through it, I decided I had to have it. It's a fantastic book that covers a VERY wide range of banners. Very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Tattoo Ideas, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
I bought these for use in the tattoo shop I work at. They're full of excellent ideas to get people away from tacky flash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for illustrators, January 10, 2013
By 
Patches (Pittsburgh PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Not much to say. The scrollwork in this book spans many styles and dates. It's very handy for quick reference if you're doing say, a tattoo design or t-shirt artwork. Many beautiful, unique and inspiring scrolls in here. A great buy for any artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Banners, ribbons,and scrolls, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Excellent reference, in use regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
great reference, lots of pics, clear and diverse, a great tool for any artist book shelf or library dover always comes through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for tattoo ideas, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Some what limited for artists still offers good ideas for graphic design and research. If you design with photoshop you can scan in the pages. I trace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bannners, Ribbons, and Scrolls, December 11, 2013
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
Oodles of beautiful designs...another great Dover art book. These books make it easy to create all kinds wonderful projects from scrapbooking to hand painting on canvas or other media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) (Paperback)
loads of good ideas for design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive)
Banners, Ribbons and Scrolls (Dover Pictorial Archive) by Carol Belanger Grafton (Paperback - May 1, 1983)
$10.95 $3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.