Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Throwing Some Coins into, January 14, 2012
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
An excellent first book from this author that clips along at a nice pace and is full of adventure for readers in the YA category. One feels for both protagonists; the young Niall, and his banshee 'friend' Sathra, and the reader is never quite sure until the final pages as to the outcome.

The author has a fine use of English, especially when characters are moving from scene to scene - action and location being never muddied but always clear and descriptive.

A very good first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read., January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Sathra is a twelve year old banshee who is in the wrong century. To return to her own time, she has to sacrifice a twelve year old human boy. Unfortunately for her, the 21st century is a strange time with strange new ideas and customs. Her one hope may be a boy named Niall who wants to be her friend.

I loved that Sathra stayed true to her banshee self throughout the story, and I was greatly amused by her attempts to find a sacrifice and regain her powers. Lovejoy has written an entertaining story that is a great way to spend the afternoon. I'm looking forward to reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best new book/author for 2012., January 14, 2012
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Well done, a must for the quick, and adventuristic. A shining first achievement, from the most promising author Robin Lovejoy. Excellent characters, fun, and fantastic. Greatly woven wit, twisting the enchanting, and entertaining to the very end. Highly recommended. This year reward yourself with this fine read, or give a Kindle to someone you love, and enhance it with the "Banshee in the Well". You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read For Young Adults!, May 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Banshee In The Well is a very enjoyable read that takes the reader on a journey of what it's like to innocently befriend someone who's not what they claim to be!

I would definitely recommend this book to any YA I know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out from the Well!, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
The whimsical ways of magic propels young Sathra into twenty-first century. In the present she befriends young Niall - a twelve-year-old boy who helps rescue her from his family's well. The interaction between the teens is well written for the age category the story was designed for. Though it took me awhile to like Niall, his boyish ways slowly grew on me. I was immediately drawn to Sathra and enjoyed her attempts at adapting to her new environment. Friend or foe? Dryad or Banshee? We watch Sathra and Niall interact and wonder if Niall's endearing nature will be enough to derail Sathra's personal agenda. Banshee in the Well had a smooth flow with an enjoyable ending. I recommend reading this story to all the little ones in our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic and fun first novel, February 19, 2012
By 
Kindle Customer (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderful way to start your career as a writer. This story tells of a young boy who finds a girl in the well on his farm. The girl turns out to be a 13th century banshee who needs to find a way to get her magic back and return from our time to hers. The relationship between the two main characters is really well written as is the way Sathra, the banshee sees modern things which she has obviously never seen before. The story has paintballers, treasure hunters and a rock band (with a Simon Cowell type character who is only in the background) and goes from scene to scene fluently.
I have worked with young people in a library enviroment so I feel confident enough to say they would lap this up but so would adults.
All said, this being a first novel is quite astounding. The author writes with a style and confidence that others can only wish for. I look forward to reading more from Robin Lovejoy and heartily reccomend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great young adult read...fast and fun., February 16, 2012
By 
Beth Muscat (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
This young adult book is one that anyone of any age could read and enjoy, but it's truly meant for the young teen population.

Niall is by himself in the house when he hears something so loud that he has to go out to investigate. Inside the abandoned and locked well in the yard is a girl. He wonders how she got in there.

Sathra is a girl from the thirteenth century, who created a spell but the spell went wrong. Instead of going to a different place, she went to a different time.

Niall hides her away in the barn, but she really needs to get back to her own time. She finds out that Niall is twelve, the same age as herself. She needs Niall to get back to her own time, except, he doesn't know that his death is the way to get her back. She is a Banshee, not the dryad that she tells him she is.

Although I thought maybe Niall and Sathra would form some kind of friendship, her Banshee background forbids that. She does come to care a little for Niall, but when push comes to shove, she needs him to get back to her own time. She tries to use other twelve year old boys, but it just never seems to work out.

She must lure the boy to the ring of the Thirteen Dancers, a bunch of rocks that are placed in a circle. But, the boy must enter the ring willingly. Then she could kill him and regain her magical powers to get herself back to the 13 century.

I can't give away the ending, but let's just say, I think there will be subsequent books about Sathra.

It was a fun and fast read, and I give this book 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Written, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Many reviewers will be singing Robin Lovejoy's praise after reading this vibrantly entertaining story, and I'm very happy to be one of them. This wonderful children's novel has leapt straight into my top three for 2012. It's a most impressive debut from a promising young author whose imaginative verve knows no bounds. The book is highly readable with likeable and memorable characters who develop throughout the story. The style is fluent, the plot tight and fast-flowing. Highly original, this story gets fives stars plus from me. Make no mistake, "Banshee in the Well" is the one to watch this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Passion for Writing, January 22, 2012
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Robin Lovejoy's debut novel is a lot of fun, with young and interesting characters that remind me of the stories I enjoyed during my YA novel days. Her passion for this story shows in every page, forcing the reader to turn page after page until the story comes to a close. It's the kind of story that makes you ponder the possibilities of fantasy in contemporary society, and it does it with class. Keep and eye on Lovejoy. She's an up and comer, who should be followed closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Banshee in the Well (Kindle Edition)
Banshee in the Well is a well written novel/novella (not sure which) and is good fun. The two main characters are both likable and amusing. Robin Lovejoy has learnt how to write a 'page-turner.' I read the book on my kindle in one evening. Well worth buying if you enjoy this genre. I look forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Banshee in the Well
Banshee in the Well by Robin Lovejoy
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.