Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VITA BELLUM EST
With that said, The New College-Latin and English Dictionary, is by far the most comprehensive Latin dictionary I have put my hands on. In comparison to the Cassell Dictionaries, The New College Dictionary offers a simple layout packed with as much information as its 663 pgs. can handle.
I first began using this particular dictionary the beginner of my third year of...
Published on November 12, 2003 by Daveda J. Campbell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy but unreliable
This dictionary is good for beginners, but more advanced Latinists must turn elsewhere. Though it covers most basic words, some common words like the verb 'minor' are curiously absent. Those seeking the meanings of hapax legomena, many post-classical and technical words, any but the commonest proper names, or etymologies, must resort to a comprehensive reference like...
Published on July 23, 2008 by Christopher H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VITA BELLUM EST, November 12, 2003
By 
Daveda J. Campbell "tcmanifesto" (Friendswood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
With that said, The New College-Latin and English Dictionary, is by far the most comprehensive Latin dictionary I have put my hands on. In comparison to the Cassell Dictionaries, The New College Dictionary offers a simple layout packed with as much information as its 663 pgs. can handle.
I first began using this particular dictionary the beginner of my third year of latin, with logical grammatical paradigms and a 70,000 word dictionary it is hard to exploit a flaw in this dictionary. Athough it is hard to give an indepth review on a dictionary, the only reassurance I can provide is that this dictionary will definately not disappoint a Latin scholar who is looking to translate classical or middle age Latin as a scholar or hobbyist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best collegiate Latin Dictionary, March 22, 2003
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I purchased several Latin dictionaries prior to this one and this is by far the best. Other Latin dictionaries were almost Byzantine in the way they presented their information. This dictionary is straight forward and includeds instruction on conjugations and declensions. It also lists the four principle parts for every verb! Who could ask for more? No more wondering whether or not mitto conjugates as a regular verb. It has helped me to excel in my Latin 1001 and I plan on using it throughout my studies as a Latin minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Summary of Latin Grammar with Good Exception Lists, May 10, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am not quite sure where to begin comparing this to the amount words in the dictionary, as I could never begin comparing it to the mammoth Oxford Latin Dictionary, but it is definitely one of the most comprehensive "pocket" Latin dictionaries on the market. I did notice several careless mistakes in spelling definitions (!), but nothing that someone who is knowledgeable enough of the English language to be using the dictionary would not catch. Overall? VG
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better portable dictionaries, February 17, 2000
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is my favorite paperback dictionary for stuffing in my backpack to use for translating Latin. Although it gives definitions, it does not provide specific references to the ancient texts like the Oxford Latin Dictionary, Lewis-Short Latin Dictionary, and Cassell's Latin Dictionary does. Its primary strength lies in that it does provide a huge amount of the Latin idioms used with each word. So if you're going to be translating or learning Ciceronian/late Roman Republic Latin, with his at times overwhelming use of idioms, this is a good dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home without it, June 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an excellent small dictionary. I use it constantly, and rarely fail to find a word in it whether I'm dealing with ancient or medieval texts. I own a number of Latin dictionaries both large and small, and I always start any word search by looking in this one. Some of the spelling conventions take some time to get used to (most notably, there are many entries under 'j' that I would have expected to find under 'i'), but after using it for awhile I have become accustomed to its quirks. The grammar tables in the front are logically structured and easy to read--very useful in those amnesiac moments when all of your declensions run together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best darn Latin dictionary on the market, December 17, 2005
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just wanted to add another vote of confidence for this marvelous dictionary. I got through 4 years of college Latin with it, and almost never failed to find the word I was looking for. I particularly appreciate the idiomatic expressions highlighted in bold typeface, to make it easy to skim down the definition to find the one you're looking for. Its only downfall is that, as a paperback, it begins to get a bit well-thumbed, leading the serious Latinist to think, a little wistfully, that it would be nice if it came in a hardbound edition. But for a mere six bucks, you can easily afford to buy a replacement. Personally, I own two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Compact Translating Dictionary Out There, April 1, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "mfbua7" (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great dictionary for Latin translation. It contains copious idiomatic definitions that are not found in the other dictionaries of its type. It also points one in the right direction if only one priciple part of a verb is known or if spelling variations exist. Furthermore, the grammatical charts at the beginning of the dictionary are invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, January 11, 2007
By 
CMB (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Our daughter's Latin tutor, a Classics scholar, recommended this Latin dictionary. It is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy but unreliable, July 23, 2008
By 
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
This dictionary is good for beginners, but more advanced Latinists must turn elsewhere. Though it covers most basic words, some common words like the verb 'minor' are curiously absent. Those seeking the meanings of hapax legomena, many post-classical and technical words, any but the commonest proper names, or etymologies, must resort to a comprehensive reference like Lewis and Short or the Oxford Latin Dictionary. The most telling flaw of this dictionary is that it does not mark hidden quantity: this is irrelevant for scansion, certainly, but is important for correct accentuation and pronunciation of vowel lengths, for those of us who actually care about speaking Latin properly. Plus, the text is riddled with typos (including one in a page header). The accidence charts at the beginning are accurate and fairly thorough, and may be useful for novices.

Considering its low price, this dictionary is worth a buy for the beginning Latinist, but should not be relied on past the intermediate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
extremely helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bantam New College Latin & English Dictionary (The Bantam New College Dictionary Series)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.