Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best starter radio on the market for a tight budget
See the UV-89, BF-F8, BF-F9, GT-3, slightly more updated versions of this. Baofengs are great starter radios if you are on a budget, or want one radio in every room of your house.

Anyone familiar with the UV-5R will feel at home with this radio. It is about 1 inch taller than the UV-5R, but about the same on the other dimensions. Everyone still has the same...
Published 11 months ago by Z. Ragsdale

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning Warning !!
I've ordered eight UV-82L in two different fulfillment Amazon sellers, 4 radios shipped by Save-N-Shop" and "4 radios shipped by Mudder". The firsts 4 radios shipped by Save-N-Shop (good shopping experience), the last 4 radio shipped bye Mudder (bad experience). Read more ...

As an Amateur Radio that I am (HI8RG "HI3RG before"), the difference between the...
Published 7 months ago by Rgonzalez


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best starter radio on the market for a tight budget, December 17, 2013
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
See the UV-89, BF-F8, BF-F9, GT-3, slightly more updated versions of this. Baofengs are great starter radios if you are on a budget, or want one radio in every room of your house.

Anyone familiar with the UV-5R will feel at home with this radio. It is about 1 inch taller than the UV-5R, but about the same on the other dimensions. Everyone still has the same complaints about low modulation with this radio as its predecessor, but if you speak loudly right into the mic it helps. Like its predecessor, this radio has 128 memory banks and 7 characters for channel names.

Upgrades from the UV-5R include a brighter flashlight with a narrower throw from a parabolic mirror. Also, the radio plays a short beep when a carrier drops to let you know that the frequency is idle. Reception may be slightly more sensitive, but transmission seems the same as the old UV-5R. This isn't stellar but great for the price. This radio features a separate A and B transmit button, which helps from getting confused and transmitting on the wrong VFO. The volume knob has more resistance to turning than the UV-5R which gives it a more finished feel. Buttons are quite a bit larger, and easier to press with large fingers. There are two transmit buttons on this version for transmitting on either A or B. Overall, this radio is very similar to the UV-5R but a more sturdy build.

Baofengs are all very difficult to program on the radio alone. Buy a cable and get programming software. RT Systems has the best cable and software, but it costs more than the radio itself. If you don't want to spend the money for RT, use Chirp and a cheap cable.

Tip to avoid frustration: There is no memory/VFO button on this radio. To switch between VFO and memory modes, turn the radio on with MENU button depressed. This is not in the instruction manual, and is different from prior Baofeng versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Baofeng takes some getting used to., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
Okay so the Chinese have their own approach to manufacturing. Throw away the earbud and the antenna and buy a quality antenna and the kenwood earbud mic if you need one. Programming software works well once you switch the language to English from Chinese. Be aware...you can not program the offset into the memory. You must program the transmit and receive frequencies and save them separately which is why the software makes programming so much easier and faster. Over all the radio does what it's supposed to do. However I am aware that the 82L and the 82 are identical electronically and use the same firmware. True or not I can't absolutely say but use your own judgement. Buy the programming cable with the non-counterfeit prolific chipset and the programming software...you'll save yourself a lot of time and headaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied with mine, October 23, 2013
.
I prefer it to my UV5R. It's my GoTo handheld.

Programming drivers and software can be found at:
[...]

There's a complete feature comparison to the UV5R at:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This $40 Radio Looks and Works Like $300, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I bought this UV-82L and the Baofeng UV-5R+. They both perform flawlessly. You can't go wrong for the money. They operate pretty much the same, but of the two, the UV-82L has the more hand-friendly and aesthetically pleasing form factor. In short, it looks and feels more like a tool than a toy. For $40, you're not getting a Yaesu or Kenwood with APRS and GPS expandability, you're just getting a programmable 128 channel UHF/VHF transceiver. But you're not paying $500 either. Delivery was prompt. Order the programming cable. Download CHIRP, as the programming app supplied is clumsy and the documentation is poorly translated. As always, remember you are breaking US law if you transmit on this radio without a valid Amateur Radio license.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems tough and virsatile, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
You can program/tune in to fire; EMS; Police; Marine; marine forecast; FRS/GMRS; MURS; Federal; Mountain Rescue; Buss service, the list goes on. Of course the legalities are for you to research and bear. It is a comfort to take on outdoor activities just in case, and listen in on frequencies you not allowed to transmit on.
I am not sure what other radios are out there and what features they may have but for the price I doubt you can go wrong. Unless you are a HAM (crazy enthusiast) then you may want to spend a few hundred, I can't see why though. I programed this by hand following some instructions on youtube but it may be better to program it using the optional computer cord. I plan to use the cord to name my channels, eg. FRS1; Marine16 etc. It seems so much better than the ones I got issued as a rescuer or at the PD. It is small, light, seems durable and the battery also seems to last long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I returned it because it had a defect, but for the little while I had it, it worked okay and seemed pretty nice, especially for the price. It came with an earpiece with it's own dual PTT button and mic. The charger turns green when the battery is done charging - I don't know how intelligent it is, but at least it gives you some indicator that it's done. I don't know if it goes to trickle charge when it's done, the instructions do not say. FYI, to switch between frequency mode and channel mode turn the radio on while holding the menu button down, I personally didn't mind doing this even though it's a little inconvenient compared to having a separate button to do this. I would say this is a better model than the "5R" except for the fact that there are less accessories available for this model. Maybe BaoFeng or others will manufacturer accessories for this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fails Spurious Emission test, stock antenna is trash, earpiece mike good - hard to go wrong, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
First
1. First a word about the uv-82L battery, Some advertise it as a it is the same as the 82. The 82L battery is really 7.4V/1800mAh.
2. Tested 2M and 70cm at ARRL 2014 Hamvention booth this weekend and 2nd order harmonic level is -52.44dBm and -49dBm for 2 and 70 respectively. The ARRL testers told me BaoFeng usually fails the FCC test (but by only 0.36 dBm).
3. Measured output is 5W and 4W on 2 and 70 respectively - good news
4. Programming issues. I purchased RT-Systems programming software at the show (great software and cable) - found the BaoFeng menu channel display does not display the actual values for offsets after being programmed (was told when using the BaoFeng's menu to review the channel values, the values default and don't display the correct programmed values - but that is not entirely true. Most menu displayed values were valid but some (like offset and ToneSq) were not displayed correctly. Bottom line is use caution if programming the BaoFeng without the software - use the software and don't use the BaoFeng memu to program the channel memory. Using the menu to program the freq values seems ok.
5. The included stub antenna had a hard time picking up the DARA repeater even at the show. When changed antennas to the Nagoya NA-771 signal level greatly improved.
6. Supplied ear piece mike combination is very nice; I specially like the ability to select the A/B freq from the mike. Oh the A/B switch is not a band switch; it is a freq switch. The A/B allows toggeling between 2 freqs.
7. The FM radio is decent and when a Ham freq being monitored becomes active, the FM radio drops out and the Ham freq is active again. Nice.
8. On the receiver, I noticed a little inter-mod at the Hamvention (a lot of signals nearby). Wish sensitivity was better, but not bad.
9. Battery charger was reported to have problems - mine did not. The battery charger worked perfect, just make sure battery is seated properly.
10 Extra functions like scan for CTCSS being used, Hi/Lo power, Wide/Narrow FM, VOX, and even flashlight are included.

In summation: All in all for $50 including earpiece and battery charger you can't go wrong, just buy a better antenna and use programming software 73s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning Warning !!, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
I've ordered eight UV-82L in two different fulfillment Amazon sellers, 4 radios shipped by Save-N-Shop" and "4 radios shipped by Mudder". The firsts 4 radios shipped by Save-N-Shop (good shopping experience), the last 4 radio shipped bye Mudder (bad experience). Read more ...

As an Amateur Radio that I am (HI8RG "HI3RG before"), the difference between the radios UV-82 and the UV-82L is the battery (L for Long battery). Be very careful which seller you choose to buy. The last 4 radios delivery by Mudder arrived with 2,800 mAH batteries instead of 3,000 mAH and only one of the four radios with the correct AC/DC adapter for North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great radio, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
If you liked the UV5R, this one will make you like them more. The programming is a little tricky manually, but using the software makes it a dream. And not having to change the bands prior to transmitting on the other frequency is a much nicer added feature in this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice radio with good sound, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black) (Electronics)
It gets good audio reports and has a full 5 watts over the UV-5r's 4 watt max.
The charger stand is a little flimsy but works ok.
Some thing to be aware of............
The UV-82L is just a re-labeled UV-82 requested by the vendor.
Also the battery is only an 1800 ma battery not 3800ma. It was mis-labeled as a 3800ma battery by the vendor who resells it to jack up the price.
According to Baofeng there is no difference in the 2 radios and they do not make a 3800ma battery for this radio.

All things aside, I have been using the radio for more than a week now and I am really pleased with it.
I cant wait to get a 12v car adapter and a real 3400 ma battery for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BaoFeng UV-82L Two Way Radio (Black)
$105.00 $36.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.