Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and genuinely useful old cocktail guide
Bar La Florida in 1935. Daiquiris and Ernest Hemingway. Florida as an exotic destination and the gateway to the even more exotic Cuba. It's both a period piece and a set of recipes that we can recreate today in imitation of 1935 Florida. Tropical drinks from a stylish age. I especially like its version of the Mojito in its popular phase the first time around.
Published on October 6, 2009 by Michael A. Duvernois

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good thing it was only $2
This is a good quality scan of a classic cocktail book with a number of interesting drink recipes I haven't seen elsewhere. I'd call it a steal at $2, if it weren't for 2 problems:

1. Whoever scanned this scanned it sideways, so all the pages are rotated 90 degrees

2. Because of this, each "page" is actually the top half or bottom half of another...
Published 9 months ago by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and genuinely useful old cocktail guide, October 6, 2009
This review is from: Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint (Paperback)
Bar La Florida in 1935. Daiquiris and Ernest Hemingway. Florida as an exotic destination and the gateway to the even more exotic Cuba. It's both a period piece and a set of recipes that we can recreate today in imitation of 1935 Florida. Tropical drinks from a stylish age. I especially like its version of the Mojito in its popular phase the first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good thing it was only $2, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good quality scan of a classic cocktail book with a number of interesting drink recipes I haven't seen elsewhere. I'd call it a steal at $2, if it weren't for 2 problems:

1. Whoever scanned this scanned it sideways, so all the pages are rotated 90 degrees

2. Because of this, each "page" is actually the top half or bottom half of another page

This is just blatant incompetence. Did no one bother to check before they sent it to Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is unreadable, December 31, 2013
By 
The Kindle edition is unreadable (Kindle HDX)5. No matter which way you orient the Kindle, the text is sideways. The original text has been scanned two pages per Kindle page. In landscape mode you get two sideways pages. In portrait mode you get the top halves or the bottom halves of two pages rotated sideways. I can't comment on the content because I can't read small print at right angles to the Kindle's orientation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Printing, March 16, 2012
By 
DMM (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint (Paperback)
I was disappointed to see that "reprint" literally meant a bad xerox copy of the original book with a poortly scanned cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, pages are dark though, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint (Paperback)
I like the book. However, I wasn't expecting the pages to be so dark. To be fair the book was advertised as a reproduction and the pages are readable. Guess I was just hoping for more colorful inside pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What they drank in 1935, August 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint (Paperback)
This is a printed photocopy of a 1935 cocktail menu that gives you an idea of what the popular drinks of the time were, and includes the Daiquiris that the bar was known for. The photocopy looks good, though the pages appear quite dark as the original was not on white paper. The menu is 70 pages long, including the original ads, and the recipes are both in Spanish and English. It includes loads of interesting drinks, with particularly a lot of sour drinks and many grapefruit based cocktails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT… everything as I expected!!!, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint (Paperback)
GREAT… everything as I expected!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint
Bar La Florida Cocktails 1935 Reprint by Ross Bolton (Paperback - August 18, 2008)
$8.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.